We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great leisurely lunch post the 12 to 2 lunch rush” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Vendome

Le Petit Vendome
Ranked #734 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$44
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Opera / Bourse
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great leisurely lunch post the 12 to 2 lunch rush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We tried to get in on the evening round 1930 and couldn't be fitted in so popped back round 1330 for lunch the next day. We waited about 10 min for the opportunity of an outdoor table and the waitress helped us get a table eventually by asking people nicely but firmly to vacate the 2 tables they were on (after all they had finished quite a while ago and were only 3).
The waitress was in and out, so busy with all tables however we were happy to enjoy the sun and our starter to share with a glass of wine. The menu is great to experience typical French cuisine. The saucisson platter is really good, large and very attractively priced. We happily chatted away with neighbours at table and the owner recommended us wine. A very nice atmosphere. The waitress who attended us was new only started a week prior and was really friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    122
    22
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant with local flare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We heard about this place from a friend, and decided to try it. It was around 1pm in the middle of a Monday afternoon, so it was a noisy, Parisian restaurant. Very busy with the most amazing atmosphere. We weren't greeted at the door right away, but perhaps it's like family here.. you just find yourself a seat where you can! I thought it was perfect! I smiled as soon as I walked in. We must have looked like we had no idea what to do, so one of the waitresses came by and we asked if we should just find a seat. She waved us through with a smile. We got to our table and sat down. Immediately another waitress came by and asked if we wanted anything to drink. We tried our best to speak the language and we laughed at our attempts, the waitress included. It was a very comfortable atmosphere and the waitress helped us with our French a little as well! We ordered wine and Chevre Chaud salad. It was the best salad I have ever eaten! The food, wine and service was excellent, and the prices were quite reasonable. If you are looking for an authentic experience, that is off the beaten path a little, and has some character, have your lunch at Le Petit Vendome!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ImmaSuperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Uncool.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had read about this charming place in a blog with great reviews. We were dressed appropriately, we politely greeted the host/waiter in our best high school french (we try to do our best in respecting the host country we are visiting). We were promptly seated, then watched existing customers receive excellent service as well new ones. This went on for about 15 minutes, until he came over and in a mimicking voice said "Hey guys, how are you doing?" a millisecond later before we could reply he went off to the next table. Exchanging glances with French customers, they seemed embarrassed by this passive aggressive waiter. Message was received loud and clear, so we quietly slipped out. Nothing needed to be said, his behavior spoke volumes for all present. We love Paris, were treated warmly by so many. This was our only negative experience in Paris. Message to owner of Le Petit Vendome: "When an employee is "short" with a customer, it leaves a bad taste for all present.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geralyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing baguette sandwich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you want a good baguette sandwich, stop by La Petit Vendome! We got a ham and cheese baguette with yummy butter. We kept on going back to grab a quick sandwich and eat on the go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Azad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worst service, ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

One star for the server we didn't get, who was friendly and helpful. Our waitress was the worst server we've ever had on either continent, and confirmed the horror stories other visitors had suffered at the hands of french waitstaff. This was our 4th visit to Paris, and the first time we encountered such unacceptable 'service', we were devastated that the stories we read and heard were true afterall.

Food was so-so. The foie gras was great, creamy and flavourful. The confit was rather dry but tasty enough. Avoid the sausage if you do not fancy gamy, barnyard mishmash of pork and who knows what else. The smell alone was offensive, ditto the taste. It's a dish that only the locals can appreciate, I believe. Would have commented on the salad if it was actually conveyed to the kitchen by our hostile and negligent waitress. The home fries that arrived in place of the salad were tasty, but a tad greasy. If we had just ordered the baguette sandwiches from the counter to go, we would have gotten excellent food and none of the horrible experience associated with the sit-down service.

A regretful waste of time and money. Not worth the trip unless you are just getting the sandwiches to go, or lucky enough to get the cheerful, friendly waitress who served the front part of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank msmew8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Vendome also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing