We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fun Hotel but not convenient to attractions”
Review of Mama Shelter Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mama Shelter Paris
Ranked #381 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Fun Hotel but not convenient to attractions”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a cool hotel, I liked the funky vibe and the restaurants they had here. I would definitely recommend it to my hipster friends and if you know your way around Paris. The hotel is unique and is neat. A pretty cool hotel for couples or young people with a pretty nice night life & good food in the restaurants.

Positives
1. Unique and cool! Never seen a hotel quiet this different.

2. The room was fairly large for a Paris hotel. It was not huge but it was not a closet either.

3. The bathroom was also good for a Paris hotel. Sizable enough to move around but not like a US hotel.

4. Clean hotel rooms & bathrooms.

5. Good fast internet.

6. Restaurant food was excellent. I tried the pizzeria & the regular restaurant, very Tasty.

7. The hotel is very tech forward and savvy.

8. Relatively affordable for Paris!

Negatives
1. Far away from the center of attractions in Paris. I do not recommend this if this is the 1st time you have been here. I have been to Paris and consider myself with a good knowledge on how to get around using the Metro so not a big deal for me.

2. Parents, as you are aware Paris and France are fairly open society and there are a # of adult movie selections that you will need to lock out. If you are an couple or adult this may be great for you. I am by no means conservative but I think if you have small children you should be aware. I hate to put this at a "negative" per say but the access to the selections are very easy. I just caution you if you are parents with small children/teenage children.

3. Dinner/brunch can be expensive. A family of 4 with a couple of drinks can easily spend $150-$200 EUR if you wanted. Stating that the quality of the food is excellent!!!!

I would stay here again in a heartbeat for business or pleasure. I would bring my wife here and i think we would have a great time. I give it a 4/5 for 1 reason, it is far away from the city center. The hotel is a lot of fun, has a great vibe and is HIP! If you are familiar with Paris 5/5 stars, you will be fine getting around. If you want to try something different, funky, neat and cool this is your place!

Room Tip: If you are American choose the larger rooms. It will be worth the extra $30 EUR and you will thank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    704
    184
    76
    52
See reviews for
148
661
107
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel: amazing design and wonderful location that's fair enough off the beaten track but still convenient enough to everything. If you are a fan of Philippe Starck design you'll likely enjoy this place - iMacs and gimp mask come as standard in the rooms.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stenkenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The fourth time we sleep in Mama chambre de Luxe.
Breakfast is delicious! They have te finest espresso.
Have lunch outside!
Rooms are clean and beds wonderfull.
Personal very helpfull.
Next time we go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Specialgast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If this is your first time visit to Paris, you might want to find a more conveniently located place. However, if you are a regular, Mama Shelter really is a fun and lively place to stay.
Rooms, as in most of Paris, are tiny though provide a lovely break from the classically furnished hotels elsewhere. The hotel bar is the main attraction, offering great atmosphere at any time of the week, good cocktails and decent plates. If you are lucky, you can catch a free concert to round off off your evening in style.
And why not turn around the hotel's somewhat distant location into a plus, by visiting the renowned and beautiful Père Lachaise Cemetery?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandFan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

So firstly, no, the hotel's not conveniently located but what it lacks in transport links (buses heading towards the Louvre do stop just outside the hotel - it's just the Metro's a tad difficult to get to) Mama Shelter more than makes up for in charisma and wit - if interiors can have such a thing.

From the reception with it's chalkboard ceiling, crammed with witty slogans and song lyrics in English and French, to the lifts decorated with interesting QI worthy facts, you're immediately enveloped in all things Mama Shelter. The industrial feel, black, low lighting craziness continues to the bedrooms. Superhero masks, covering industrial torches and an iMac mounted on the wall (with the facility to take and upload a selfie wearing said superhero masks...) made this feel a little voyeuristic, almost snuff movie-esq - but don't let that put you off!! It's quirky more than threatening and the rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable.

We dined at the restaurant on our last night and brand Mama was definitely felt there too - from the decor to the menu and service. Sadly didn't get to see the view from the terrace restaurant as you needed a reservation - will make sure we do that next time!

On the whole, Mama left a lasting positive impression and I'll be sure to check out the Lyon branch when we visit there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I always stay at Mama Shelter when visiting Paris. Rooms are always clean and beds comfortable. Not the best location in Paris but there us the bus and a metro station at 1n walk. It is the best place to experience Parisian lifestyle with nearby bakeries and bistrots.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Browsing luxury, boutique, glampy, campy, and unusual hotels online is a hobby. Rarely do I get to stay in one of my favs. Mama Shelter was the first time I got to do so, and I wasn't disappointed. The rooms are darker and smaller than I anticipated, but it was just right for me and my travel homie. We didn't even have a chance to use our apple tv or do much around the hotel, but the design was so titillating, that alone made the trip. The best spaces (as often happens in a hotel) were the restaurant and common spaces, so much to take in, great service and incredible food. As this was a little out of the way, it was actually one of the cheaper options for Paris lodging, so whenever we return, this will definitely be my choice!

Room Tip: Choose the room category with the most sq feet you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeyac510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#144 of 1,801 in Paris
310 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#158 of 1,801 in Paris
1,247 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#235 of 1,801 in Paris
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Henriette
#107 of 1,801 in Paris
573 reviews
Hotel Comete Paris
#35 of 1,801 in Paris
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Paris

Property: Mama Shelter Paris
Address: 109 rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#126 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Family Hotel in Paris
#359 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic Saint Blaise neighborhood located in the heart of authentic Paris with its flowerlined cafe terraces, its gardens and its air rebellion, Mama Shelter welcomes you. Sensual and elegant the 172 rooms are equipped with Apple iMacs 27", video on demand (free) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). They offer you a serene retreat after a long day in the city and an evening across the street at the mythic Parisian temple of international live music, La Fleche d'Or. Easy access to the Mama Shelter: in the heart of the 20th district, it is conveniently located 16 miles from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 12.5 Miles from Orly Airport. Otherwise, direct connection to the A3 Highway, or next to metro stations. Take a break in Mama Shelter and enjoy: Live Concerts, Cabaret Shows, DJs, Table Soccer, Boutique of Offbeat Products... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mama Shelter Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Shelter Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing