We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - great price for Central Paris”
Review of Le Chat qui Peche

Le Chat qui Peche
Ranked #6,857 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food - great price for Central Paris”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We fell upon this restaurant by accident. Me - being a skinflint - saw the "three courses for 12Euros" - my husband didn't want to go in - so we strolled around for another 20 mins and went back. We were not disappointed.

I had the 12 Euro menu, my hustand had the 18 Euro menu and you can also choose what you want anyway.

The french onion soup was to die for - it was excellent. The rest of the meal was good, very tasty and suitable for the budget price.

The restaurant itself is very quaint, the staff are lovely, and it was a very nice atmosphere., So nice that in fact 3 days ater we went back and had a fondue which was fab.

We love Paris and we have eaten in expensive restaurants and cheap ones (where you can find them) but I would say the quality of the food here is just as good as its higher priced competitors - I would definately put it on your list to try. I know we will certainly go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    89
    31
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“not worth the time”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

is actually owned and managed by the Greek restaurant across the lane....everything was just OK.... dozens of better places in the area (with a 5 minute walk)...had to send back onion soup was warm not hot and the rest was average...clean bathrooms and no English.... was fairly inexpensive... lunch was soup, a pork chop and fruit cup (small and cafeteria stye)....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dad-jicase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Best (French) onion soup in Paris”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is the place for an amazing onion soup in Paris! This quaint resto near Notre Dame, though it looks intimidating compared to other establishments in the Latin Quarter, boasts of French specialities at affordable prices. It even has "value meals" of which the cheapest is Eur 12 and would give you options for starter, mains, and dessert! Other establishments in the area has Eur 10 "value meals" but you don't get the They also have generous serving of bread.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wandering_dive_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, NL
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We had the 12euro prix fixe lunch
Three courses including onion soup, chicken leg and a dessert, all for 12euros and only a 5 minute walk from Notre Dame
The price changes to 14 euros at 2:30 which is still a bargain for this quality
Recommend it for lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UNTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So nice so cute so good”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Little resturant close good turistic menu good value,very clean...everything was good and tasty the tartiflette was amazing!!!the owner was kinda and very friendly!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aeroetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chat qui Peche also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Chat qui Peche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing