We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and serene surroundings”
Review of Maison Zen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Zen
Ranked #58 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Tranquil setting and spacious accommodations. We rented flat number 2 a one bedroom on the second floor. The first thing you notice about this property is the feeling of being secure behind a locked gate. Not just anyone can gain access to the property. The courtyard is stunning with a Koi pond and lovely landscaping. Remove your shoes on entering the house proper and leave them in cubby holes at the base of the stairs. It is a winding staircase to reach the upper floors but one studio is on the main floor. Great attention to detail for the traveler. Our flat had a spacious well stocked kitchen and a large bedroom by Paris standards. The toilet is in a different room from the shower/tub so that helps if a family is staying in this flat. The couch makes out in to a bed so a family of 3 or 4 could stay with enough elbow room. A washer/dryer combo is in the same room as the toilet. A drying rack is provided as well. We did our wash after dinner and let clothes air dry over night. It really cuts down on the amount clothing you need to pack when you have easy access to a washing machine. CNN and BBC channels available on the TV if you want to keep up with news in the USA or Great Britain.

There is always someone on property if you need assistance. Out the main entry and a few steps to your left there is a well stocked modern grocery store. We stocked up on the basics and it really helped stretch the food budget. There is a pharmacy a few doors down from the grocery store. Across a side street from the pharmacy is the most charming bakery. We tried a new treat every day. Fresh bread each day for around a $1.30. Yellow mail box across the street for mailing postcards. Taxi stand up the street and a bus stop. Metro station a short walk.


The only down side was we had a trouble with a strong internet signal. We uploaded photos at night to empty memory cards. The signal did not extend beyond the kitchen and worked best standing near the front window. Not likely an issue for most on vacation. Small complaint for such an amazing property. Highly recommend this lovely property.

Room Tip: Different prices and sizes of studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldhalloween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent 6 wonderful nights in a Maison Zen apartment in the Bastille district of Paris. We chose Studio 2, for which we paid roughly 150€/night.

We arrived at CDG early on Sunday morning and simply caught the Air France bus (#4) to Gare de Lyon. Maison Zen is on Rue de Lyon, a simple 5 minute walk from the bus stop outside the train station.

We were really, really pleased with our studio. It was on the second floor (no lift) and floor to ceiling windows opened out to Maison Zen's wonderfully tranquil courtyard, complete with fishpond and fountain.

The apartment opened into a large, well mainained kitchen combined with a large and comfortable dining/lounge space. There was a tv and dvd player (which we didn't use), dishwasher, two sinks and a full size fridge. Plates, cutlery, glasses and knives etc are provided.

The apartment has a separate WC which also housed a hand basin and a combined washer/dryer. The bedroom was spacious with a full size wardrobe and the QS bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a combined shower/tub and, whilst small, was big enough for our purposes. The water pressure was fantastic. There was no AC, but a portable unit was provided (we didn't need it, and we stayed in the middle of summer). Along with curtains, electronic shutters are fitted to all windows.

Maison Zen is centrally located but also shielded from street noise because of its secluded location in the heart of the apartment complex. We found we could get to anywhere we wanted to go with a minimum of fuss. The closest metros are Bastille and Gare de Lyon, each about 5 minutes' walk away. Busses also run along Rue de Lyon right outside, inlcluding a bus to Pere Lachaise. There are numerous boulangeries, cafes etc in the vicinity and a grocery store right next door.

Our favourite bar was Le Tarmac (a cafe) right on the corner of Rue de Lyon and you must eat at A la Biche au Bois, just around the corner from Le Tarmac. Fabulous food and great service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Maison Zen and would happily go back again. The only downsides are that the fre wifi is unpredictable and I can see there would be the potential for noise if you were unlucky enough to encounter thoughtless fellow travellers.

But, all in all, Maison Zen is great value for money and a peaceful haven we really enjoyed coming back to after our busy days. We also enjoyed petting the two resident huskies, both of whom loll about in the courtyard enjoying the comings and goings of the guests.

Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

MZ is quiet and delivers what is promised. The quiet, individually decorated room made up for the location. Though there are other hotels nearby, this is not a tourist zone. Lovely view of courtyard out window. Major train hub just steps away, taxis available there too. Brush up on your french before your trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sea-Vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We (6 persons) rented two studios. It was our first time in Paris. When made our reservations, it was made clear to us that there was airconditioning. As we understand it, there are two persons who both run the rental on this bldg. One is with Ms. Perl, who happened to be our landlord. From Jan. when we selected this place as our home away from home, we made sure we understand the amenities that came with the various studios. When we got there, the first night there was no airconditioning and my sister who is a diabetic and her daughter were restless due to the fact that there was no airconditioning in their apt. In our apt.#4 it only had one fan in the living room/kitchen and none in the bedroom. On day two still no aircon and my sister asked for one. Ms. Perl delivered a portable aircon in their room which was so loud when turned on that my sister and her daughter were not able to rest until they turned it off. This went on for the four nights we were there. WE had to sleep with the windows open and the bugs came in and we all suffered from the bug bites. Not one word of explanation from Ms. Perl.
The day we arrived we were met, shown the rooms, given a brochure to read and left hurriedly by Ms. Perl because she had a "conference". We arrived around 7 pm. We were not given instructions on how to use the phone, the washer & dryer, to access the cable tv or how to go about catching the bus or the taxi or the train. On the day she brought the portable aircon that was loud, my sister asked her how to get to a certain place - she said our map was not good and that she would give us a better one. She never came back.
In the course of our stay, I called Ms. Perl three times for help, in none of those instances did she respond or even leave a msg. in our room phone. The bathtub in room 4 is so high it was difficult to get in to take a shower. Even with our mentioning the lack of airconditioning, Ms. Perl did nothing to correct the situation nor make an adjustment with our bill since the promised amenity was NOT provided. I saw no window airconditioner when we were there and yet the place is advertised as having aircon so I even asked my husband to look for an aircon that was connected centrally. In our family htere are four diabetics and we needed to have airconditioning in our rooms.
Maison Zen would have been great had there been someone to ask when you needed help.
You need either an experienced Parisian traveler or someone lucky enough to catch Ms. Perl. when she is NOT attending to her other businesses to BE SATISFIED with your stay at Maison Zen especially for the enormously high price she charges.

Room Tip: no lifts to any of the rooms, no window or central A/C, very quiet place with NO ONE TO ASK FOR HELP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank marlucab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My daughter and I loved apartment 4. Madame Perla made us feel welcome and we loved the beautiful surroundings. When we looked out of our window we new we were in Paris. What a Parisian experience! I hope to return next year. It is a great location with wonderful restaurants and a grocery right next door. If you do stay please look up our friends around the corner at the Mona Lisa. He makes the best cous cous and pizza in town.

Room Tip: We had apartment number 4 for the two of us and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our first visit to Paris and wanted somewhere we could relax at night and even make supper if we wanted. You enter from the street into a courtyard and then must ring at the green door to get into the Zen Maison courtyard and hotel. There is a lovely, little, well kept garden before entering the apartments. Ours was on the third floor, which was a bit painful in your barefeet carrying luggage. The apartment was small for 2 people but very clean and nicely decorated. It was close to Gare de Lyon where the meto is located or you could go in the opposite direction to the Bastile metro. The area has many restaurants and a good grocery store down the street. It was wonderful to come back to a quiet, peaceful place after a hectic touristy day in Paris. This is a perfect, safe and comfortable place for single women.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seijung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have been in Paris many times, however to stay at the Maison zen has made it a much more agreeable experience! It was an oasis, in the middle of such a big city, great location and energetically wonderful, with the practices just wonderful! I've met some great guests and had wonderful sharing!

Room Tip: I have found all of the rooms great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#19 of 1,802 in Paris
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Francais
#92 of 1,802 in Paris
2,027 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#87 of 1,802 in Paris
670 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#344 of 1,802 in Paris
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Zen

Address: 35 rue de Lyon, 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £89 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Une belle maison, dans la cour avec un jardin. Très calme, les studios propres, récemment rénovés, propre. Centre de Paris, près de la Bastille, la Seine, Marais, Village Saint Paul. Votre chez vous pendant votre visite.Coin cousine, salle de bain, TV, téléphone, Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Zen Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing