We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Open Paris - new name for same place”
Review of Maison Zen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Zen
Ranked #54 of 165 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My Open Paris - new name for same place”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Maison Zen is now in the hands of an enthusiastic couple, Stephan and Eajou. They were very communicative prior to our arrival assisting with very useful information about Paris and the Bastille area. Once there we had easy access to them by phone if need be.
We stayed in Studio P which was a compact yet well laid-out space for our 4 nights. The bus schedule assisted our travels throughout the city. The hand drawings of the vicinity with the various amenities were very helpful.
It really felt like being at home starting with taking off our shoes at the door and having our own little shelf to put them in. The spiral staircase is something to get used to in most of Europe and this was no exception. And a good reason to travel light.
We would definitely recommend My Open Paris to anyone wanting more than a hotel room - this was like 'living in Paris' for 4 nights for us.

Room Tip: My Open Paris web site shows all the rooms with photos and descriptions so it's easy to pick the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorH391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
16
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Maison Zen was a great place to base a group of six (family members) during a long weekend in Paris.

- The email communication with Mme Perl (the proprietor) beforehand was prompt and friendly, and she gave detailed instructions on the location and access of the apartment.

-Once you are inside the courtyard there is a tranquil zen garden to welcome you, along with peace and quiet away from the main road. There is an access code, and the the gate and front door are locked, so the complex is secure.

-We stayed in the ground floor studio 1 apartment which was plentiful for four adults comprising of one bed and a sofa-bed. The apartment was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, and the shower was hot and powerful. Linens and towels were provided for all guests. The kitchen is stocked with basic cooking tools and appliances, enough to rustle together breakfast and meals. There was also a TV, dvd player, phone (free to landlines) and free wi-fi.
Two other family members stayed in the smaller studio 3, which is fine for 1-2 people, it doesn't have any kitchen space, apart from appliances. Also, the bathroom had a tub rather than a stand up shower.

-The location is ideal and convenient, it is moments away from The Bastille and Opera House, also Gare de Lyon (station) which is a RER station and the metro line 1 stopping at major tourist attractions. Notre Dame Cathedral is 15-20 minute stroll. There is a large supermarket next door and a handful of restaurants, shops and chemists nearby.

I highly recommend Maison Zen if you want to experience living in a city rather than staying at a hotel. The owner speaks English, but I recommend brushing up on basic French to help get around.

Room Tip: Studio one (ground floor) is great for a family or group of four adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Tranquil setting and spacious accommodations. We rented flat number 2 a one bedroom on the second floor. The first thing you notice about this property is the feeling of being secure behind a locked gate. Not just anyone can gain access to the property. The courtyard is stunning with a Koi pond and lovely landscaping. Remove your shoes on entering the house proper and leave them in cubby holes at the base of the stairs. It is a winding staircase to reach the upper floors but one studio is on the main floor. Great attention to detail for the traveler. Our flat had a spacious well stocked kitchen and a large bedroom by Paris standards. The toilet is in a different room from the shower/tub so that helps if a family is staying in this flat. The couch makes out in to a bed so a family of 3 or 4 could stay with enough elbow room. A washer/dryer combo is in the same room as the toilet. A drying rack is provided as well. We did our wash after dinner and let clothes air dry over night. It really cuts down on the amount clothing you need to pack when you have easy access to a washing machine. CNN and BBC channels available on the TV if you want to keep up with news in the USA or Great Britain.

There is always someone on property if you need assistance. Out the main entry and a few steps to your left there is a well stocked modern grocery store. We stocked up on the basics and it really helped stretch the food budget. There is a pharmacy a few doors down from the grocery store. Across a side street from the pharmacy is the most charming bakery. We tried a new treat every day. Fresh bread each day for around a $1.30. Yellow mail box across the street for mailing postcards. Taxi stand up the street and a bus stop. Metro station a short walk.


The only down side was we had a trouble with a strong internet signal. We uploaded photos at night to empty memory cards. The signal did not extend beyond the kitchen and worked best standing near the front window. Not likely an issue for most on vacation. Small complaint for such an amazing property. Highly recommend this lovely property.

Room Tip: Different prices and sizes of studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldhalloween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent 6 wonderful nights in a Maison Zen apartment in the Bastille district of Paris. We chose Studio 2, for which we paid roughly 150€/night.

We arrived at CDG early on Sunday morning and simply caught the Air France bus (#4) to Gare de Lyon. Maison Zen is on Rue de Lyon, a simple 5 minute walk from the bus stop outside the train station.

We were really, really pleased with our studio. It was on the second floor (no lift) and floor to ceiling windows opened out to Maison Zen's wonderfully tranquil courtyard, complete with fishpond and fountain.

The apartment opened into a large, well mainained kitchen combined with a large and comfortable dining/lounge space. There was a tv and dvd player (which we didn't use), dishwasher, two sinks and a full size fridge. Plates, cutlery, glasses and knives etc are provided.

The apartment has a separate WC which also housed a hand basin and a combined washer/dryer. The bedroom was spacious with a full size wardrobe and the QS bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a combined shower/tub and, whilst small, was big enough for our purposes. The water pressure was fantastic. There was no AC, but a portable unit was provided (we didn't need it, and we stayed in the middle of summer). Along with curtains, electronic shutters are fitted to all windows.

Maison Zen is centrally located but also shielded from street noise because of its secluded location in the heart of the apartment complex. We found we could get to anywhere we wanted to go with a minimum of fuss. The closest metros are Bastille and Gare de Lyon, each about 5 minutes' walk away. Busses also run along Rue de Lyon right outside, inlcluding a bus to Pere Lachaise. There are numerous boulangeries, cafes etc in the vicinity and a grocery store right next door.

Our favourite bar was Le Tarmac (a cafe) right on the corner of Rue de Lyon and you must eat at A la Biche au Bois, just around the corner from Le Tarmac. Fabulous food and great service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Maison Zen and would happily go back again. The only downsides are that the fre wifi is unpredictable and I can see there would be the potential for noise if you were unlucky enough to encounter thoughtless fellow travellers.

But, all in all, Maison Zen is great value for money and a peaceful haven we really enjoyed coming back to after our busy days. We also enjoyed petting the two resident huskies, both of whom loll about in the courtyard enjoying the comings and goings of the guests.

Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

MZ is quiet and delivers what is promised. The quiet, individually decorated room made up for the location. Though there are other hotels nearby, this is not a tourist zone. Lovely view of courtyard out window. Major train hub just steps away, taxis available there too. Brush up on your french before your trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea-Vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We (6 persons) rented two studios. It was our first time in Paris. When made our reservations, it was made clear to us that there was airconditioning. As we understand it, there are two persons who both run the rental on this bldg. One is with Ms. Perl, who happened to be our landlord. From Jan. when we selected this place as our home away from home, we made sure we understand the amenities that came with the various studios. When we got there, the first night there was no airconditioning and my sister who is a diabetic and her daughter were restless due to the fact that there was no airconditioning in their apt. In our apt.#4 it only had one fan in the living room/kitchen and none in the bedroom. On day two still no aircon and my sister asked for one. Ms. Perl delivered a portable aircon in their room which was so loud when turned on that my sister and her daughter were not able to rest until they turned it off. This went on for the four nights we were there. WE had to sleep with the windows open and the bugs came in and we all suffered from the bug bites. Not one word of explanation from Ms. Perl.
The day we arrived we were met, shown the rooms, given a brochure to read and left hurriedly by Ms. Perl because she had a "conference". We arrived around 7 pm. We were not given instructions on how to use the phone, the washer & dryer, to access the cable tv or how to go about catching the bus or the taxi or the train. On the day she brought the portable aircon that was loud, my sister asked her how to get to a certain place - she said our map was not good and that she would give us a better one. She never came back.
In the course of our stay, I called Ms. Perl three times for help, in none of those instances did she respond or even leave a msg. in our room phone. The bathtub in room 4 is so high it was difficult to get in to take a shower. Even with our mentioning the lack of airconditioning, Ms. Perl did nothing to correct the situation nor make an adjustment with our bill since the promised amenity was NOT provided. I saw no window airconditioner when we were there and yet the place is advertised as having aircon so I even asked my husband to look for an aircon that was connected centrally. In our family htere are four diabetics and we needed to have airconditioning in our rooms.
Maison Zen would have been great had there been someone to ask when you needed help.
You need either an experienced Parisian traveler or someone lucky enough to catch Ms. Perl. when she is NOT attending to her other businesses to BE SATISFIED with your stay at Maison Zen especially for the enormously high price she charges.

Room Tip: no lifts to any of the rooms, no window or central A/C, very quiet place with NO ONE TO ASK FOR HELP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank marlucab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My daughter and I loved apartment 4. Madame Perla made us feel welcome and we loved the beautiful surroundings. When we looked out of our window we new we were in Paris. What a Parisian experience! I hope to return next year. It is a great location with wonderful restaurants and a grocery right next door. If you do stay please look up our friends around the corner at the Mona Lisa. He makes the best cous cous and pizza in town.

Room Tip: We had apartment number 4 for the two of us and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#1,368 of 1,802 in Paris
223 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#321 of 1,802 in Paris
381 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Des Trois Gares
Hotel Des Trois Gares
#1,073 of 1,802 in Paris
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Adagio Access Paris Bastille
Adagio Access Paris Bastille
#1,493 of 1,802 in Paris
188 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#1,489 of 1,802 in Paris
90 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Zen

Property: Maison Zen
Address: 35 rue de Lyon, 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 165 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Une belle maison, dans la cour avec un jardin. Très calme, les studios propres, récemment rénovés, propre. Centre de Paris, près de la Bastille, la Seine, Marais, Village Saint Paul. Votre chez vous pendant votre visite.Coin cousine, salle de bain, TV, téléphone, Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Zen Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing