We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison Zen
Nearby Hotels
US$631
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$395
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$660
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$561
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Le Six
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Saint Germain(Paris)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
43
13
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
13
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Maison Zen is now in the hands of an enthusiastic couple, Stephan and Eajou. They were very communicative prior to our arrival assisting with very useful information about Paris and the Bastille area. Once there we had easy access to them by phone if need be.
We stayed in Studio P which was a compact yet well laid-out space for our 4 nights. The bus schedule assisted our travels throughout the city. The hand drawings of the vicinity with the various amenities were very helpful.
It really felt like being at home starting with taking off our shoes at the door and having our own little shelf to put them in. The spiral staircase is something to get used to in most of Europe and this was no exception. And a good reason to travel light.
We would definitely recommend My Open Paris to anyone wanting more than a hotel room - this was like 'living in Paris' for 4 nights for us.

Room Tip: My Open Paris web site shows all the rooms with photos and descriptions so it's easy to pick the one you'd like, and the availability of each.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleanorH391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Maison Zen was a great place to base a group of six (family members) during a long weekend in Paris.

- The email communication with Mme Perl (the proprietor) beforehand was prompt and friendly, and she gave detailed instructions on the location and access of the apartment.

-Once you are inside the courtyard there is a tranquil zen garden to welcome you, along with peace and quiet away from the main road. There is an access code, and the the gate and front door are locked, so the complex is secure.

-We stayed in the ground floor studio 1 apartment which was plentiful for four adults comprising of one bed and a sofa-bed. The apartment was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, and the shower was hot and powerful. Linens and towels were provided for all guests. The kitchen is stocked with basic cooking tools and appliances, enough to rustle together breakfast and meals. There was also a TV, dvd player, phone (free to landlines) and free wi-fi.
Two other family members stayed in the smaller studio 3, which is fine for 1-2 people, it doesn't have any kitchen space, apart from appliances. Also, the bathroom had a tub rather than a stand up shower.

-The location is ideal and convenient, it is moments away from The Bastille and Opera House, also Gare de Lyon (station) which is a RER station and the metro line 1 stopping at major tourist attractions. Notre Dame Cathedral is 15-20 minute stroll. There is a large supermarket next door and a handful of restaurants, shops and chemists nearby.

I highly recommend Maison Zen if you want to experience living in a city rather than staying at a hotel. The owner speaks English, but I recommend brushing up on basic French to help get around.

Room Tip: Studio one (ground floor) is great for a family or group of four adults.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Tranquil setting and spacious accommodations. We rented flat number 2 a one bedroom on the second floor. The first thing you notice about this property is the feeling of being secure behind a locked gate. Not just anyone can gain access to the property. The courtyard is stunning with a Koi pond and lovely landscaping. Remove your shoes on entering the house proper and leave them in cubby holes at the base of the stairs. It is a winding staircase to reach the upper floors but one studio is on the main floor. Great attention to detail for the traveler. Our flat had a spacious well stocked kitchen and a large bedroom by Paris standards. The toilet is in a different room from the shower/tub so that helps if a family is staying in this flat. The couch makes out in to a bed so a family of 3 or 4 could stay with enough elbow room. A washer/dryer combo is in the same room as the toilet. A drying rack is provided as well. We did our wash after dinner and let clothes air dry over night. It really cuts down on the amount clothing you need to pack when you have easy access to a washing machine. CNN and BBC channels available on the TV if you want to keep up with news in the USA or Great Britain.

There is always someone on property if you need assistance. Out the main entry and a few steps to your left there is a well stocked modern grocery store. We stocked up on the basics and it really helped stretch the food budget. There is a pharmacy a few doors down from the grocery store. Across a side street from the pharmacy is the most charming bakery. We tried a new treat every day. Fresh bread each day for around a $1.30. Yellow mail box across the street for mailing postcards. Taxi stand up the street and a bus stop. Metro station a short walk.


The only down side was we had a trouble with a strong internet signal. We uploaded photos at night to empty memory cards. The signal did not extend beyond the kitchen and worked best standing near the front window. Not likely an issue for most on vacation. Small complaint for such an amazing property. Highly recommend this lovely property.

Room Tip: Different prices and sizes of studios.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldhalloween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent 6 wonderful nights in a Maison Zen apartment in the Bastille district of Paris. We chose Studio 2, for which we paid roughly 150€/night.

We arrived at CDG early on Sunday morning and simply caught the Air France bus (#4) to Gare de Lyon. Maison Zen is on Rue de Lyon, a simple 5 minute walk from the bus stop outside the train station.

We were really, really pleased with our studio. It was on the second floor (no lift) and floor to ceiling windows opened out to Maison Zen's wonderfully tranquil courtyard, complete with fishpond and fountain.

The apartment opened into a large, well mainained kitchen combined with a large and comfortable dining/lounge space. There was a tv and dvd player (which we didn't use), dishwasher, two sinks and a full size fridge. Plates, cutlery, glasses and knives etc are provided.

The apartment has a separate WC which also housed a hand basin and a combined washer/dryer. The bedroom was spacious with a full size wardrobe and the QS bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a combined shower/tub and, whilst small, was big enough for our purposes. The water pressure was fantastic. There was no AC, but a portable unit was provided (we didn't need it, and we stayed in the middle of summer). Along with curtains, electronic shutters are fitted to all windows.

Maison Zen is centrally located but also shielded from street noise because of its secluded location in the heart of the apartment complex. We found we could get to anywhere we wanted to go with a minimum of fuss. The closest metros are Bastille and Gare de Lyon, each about 5 minutes' walk away. Busses also run along Rue de Lyon right outside, inlcluding a bus to Pere Lachaise. There are numerous boulangeries, cafes etc in the vicinity and a grocery store right next door.

Our favourite bar was Le Tarmac (a cafe) right on the corner of Rue de Lyon and you must eat at A la Biche au Bois, just around the corner from Le Tarmac. Fabulous food and great service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Maison Zen and would happily go back again. The only downsides are that the fre wifi is unpredictable and I can see there would be the potential for noise if you were unlucky enough to encounter thoughtless fellow travellers.

But, all in all, Maison Zen is great value for money and a peaceful haven we really enjoyed coming back to after our busy days. We also enjoyed petting the two resident huskies, both of whom loll about in the courtyard enjoying the comings and goings of the guests.

Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

MZ is quiet and delivers what is promised. The quiet, individually decorated room made up for the location. Though there are other hotels nearby, this is not a tourist zone. Lovely view of courtyard out window. Major train hub just steps away, taxis available there too. Brush up on your french before your trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sea-Vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews