We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My real Paris home in dream”
Review of Maison Zen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Zen
Ranked #52 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Shanghai, China
1 review
“My real Paris home in dream”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My daughter and I spent three days in this wonderful design studio. It let us feel we live like local people. Everything inside the room is convenient and nice. Location is perfect,10 mins walk from Lyon train station,7 mins walk to metro Bastille. Carrefour is next door and lots of restaurants nearby.The street is safe which is very important. Enjo is nice and sweet. We hope to be back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
16
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

For many years its been my home away from home. Lots of changes make me realize how time does fly. My first visit, 8 yrs ago, offered no private phone, tv, or wifi. The price? Low. The charm? Oozing.
I miss those days.
Ok, back to reality. It now has two owners, and is also known as "My Open Paris". A link is provided on the Maison Zen website. The furnishings are updated and tasteful, complete with everything I didn't have in the early years. So, of course, the prices have risen as well. I have rented 6 times from M. Perl. Her beautiful artwork is displayed through out and it is still a zen center. Two happy dogs may great you in the lovely courtyard and if you're lucky you'll meet the housekeeper with a heart of gold. MZ is not for everyone. Know before you go that it's an independent, self catering kind of place. If you require a concierge, elavator, fluffy towels, etc; it's not for you. Sometimes there is noise, usually from other quests; and minor problems as noted by other reviews. None of these are a deal breaker for me, although the climbing prices may be. Still, a very special place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catd411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

What a place. We were recommended this by a friend and we are glad we listened. Enjo was so easy to deal with whilst booking, it was a breeze. All the little details were sent to us via email right down on how to get there from CDG airport. We arrived like we were locals. We booked studio E on the second or third floor. It was a little cramped but we managed. So clean and well appointed with a double bed. Self catering facilities were good with a microwave oven, hot plates and kettle. Cutlery and crockery. For supplies there is a supermarket next door. In fact everything you needed was handy. The bathroom was adequate if a little cramped. Clean and well appointed. Enjo greeted us and showed us to our apartment. Delightful lady. The time we were there it was very hot and humid and the only thing lacking was some sort of air movement and perhaps a fan in he room would overcome the problem. We spent five days in this lovely place. Close to Gare De Lyon, walking distance to the Bastille for the hop on hop off bus. Of you are going to Paris this should be on top of your list for accommodation.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Maison Zen is now in the hands of an enthusiastic couple, Stephan and Eajou. They were very communicative prior to our arrival assisting with very useful information about Paris and the Bastille area. Once there we had easy access to them by phone if need be.
We stayed in Studio P which was a compact yet well laid-out space for our 4 nights. The bus schedule assisted our travels throughout the city. The hand drawings of the vicinity with the various amenities were very helpful.
It really felt like being at home starting with taking off our shoes at the door and having our own little shelf to put them in. The spiral staircase is something to get used to in most of Europe and this was no exception. And a good reason to travel light.
We would definitely recommend My Open Paris to anyone wanting more than a hotel room - this was like 'living in Paris' for 4 nights for us.

Room Tip: My Open Paris web site shows all the rooms with photos and descriptions so it's easy to pick the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorH391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Maison Zen was a great place to base a group of six (family members) during a long weekend in Paris.

- The email communication with Mme Perl (the proprietor) beforehand was prompt and friendly, and she gave detailed instructions on the location and access of the apartment.

-Once you are inside the courtyard there is a tranquil zen garden to welcome you, along with peace and quiet away from the main road. There is an access code, and the the gate and front door are locked, so the complex is secure.

-We stayed in the ground floor studio 1 apartment which was plentiful for four adults comprising of one bed and a sofa-bed. The apartment was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, and the shower was hot and powerful. Linens and towels were provided for all guests. The kitchen is stocked with basic cooking tools and appliances, enough to rustle together breakfast and meals. There was also a TV, dvd player, phone (free to landlines) and free wi-fi.
Two other family members stayed in the smaller studio 3, which is fine for 1-2 people, it doesn't have any kitchen space, apart from appliances. Also, the bathroom had a tub rather than a stand up shower.

-The location is ideal and convenient, it is moments away from The Bastille and Opera House, also Gare de Lyon (station) which is a RER station and the metro line 1 stopping at major tourist attractions. Notre Dame Cathedral is 15-20 minute stroll. There is a large supermarket next door and a handful of restaurants, shops and chemists nearby.

I highly recommend Maison Zen if you want to experience living in a city rather than staying at a hotel. The owner speaks English, but I recommend brushing up on basic French to help get around.

Room Tip: Studio one (ground floor) is great for a family or group of four adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Tranquil setting and spacious accommodations. We rented flat number 2 a one bedroom on the second floor. The first thing you notice about this property is the feeling of being secure behind a locked gate. Not just anyone can gain access to the property. The courtyard is stunning with a Koi pond and lovely landscaping. Remove your shoes on entering the house proper and leave them in cubby holes at the base of the stairs. It is a winding staircase to reach the upper floors but one studio is on the main floor. Great attention to detail for the traveler. Our flat had a spacious well stocked kitchen and a large bedroom by Paris standards. The toilet is in a different room from the shower/tub so that helps if a family is staying in this flat. The couch makes out in to a bed so a family of 3 or 4 could stay with enough elbow room. A washer/dryer combo is in the same room as the toilet. A drying rack is provided as well. We did our wash after dinner and let clothes air dry over night. It really cuts down on the amount clothing you need to pack when you have easy access to a washing machine. CNN and BBC channels available on the TV if you want to keep up with news in the USA or Great Britain.

There is always someone on property if you need assistance. Out the main entry and a few steps to your left there is a well stocked modern grocery store. We stocked up on the basics and it really helped stretch the food budget. There is a pharmacy a few doors down from the grocery store. Across a side street from the pharmacy is the most charming bakery. We tried a new treat every day. Fresh bread each day for around a $1.30. Yellow mail box across the street for mailing postcards. Taxi stand up the street and a bus stop. Metro station a short walk.


The only down side was we had a trouble with a strong internet signal. We uploaded photos at night to empty memory cards. The signal did not extend beyond the kitchen and worked best standing near the front window. Not likely an issue for most on vacation. Small complaint for such an amazing property. Highly recommend this lovely property.

Room Tip: Different prices and sizes of studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldhalloween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent 6 wonderful nights in a Maison Zen apartment in the Bastille district of Paris. We chose Studio 2, for which we paid roughly 150€/night.

We arrived at CDG early on Sunday morning and simply caught the Air France bus (#4) to Gare de Lyon. Maison Zen is on Rue de Lyon, a simple 5 minute walk from the bus stop outside the train station.

We were really, really pleased with our studio. It was on the second floor (no lift) and floor to ceiling windows opened out to Maison Zen's wonderfully tranquil courtyard, complete with fishpond and fountain.

The apartment opened into a large, well mainained kitchen combined with a large and comfortable dining/lounge space. There was a tv and dvd player (which we didn't use), dishwasher, two sinks and a full size fridge. Plates, cutlery, glasses and knives etc are provided.

The apartment has a separate WC which also housed a hand basin and a combined washer/dryer. The bedroom was spacious with a full size wardrobe and the QS bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a combined shower/tub and, whilst small, was big enough for our purposes. The water pressure was fantastic. There was no AC, but a portable unit was provided (we didn't need it, and we stayed in the middle of summer). Along with curtains, electronic shutters are fitted to all windows.

Maison Zen is centrally located but also shielded from street noise because of its secluded location in the heart of the apartment complex. We found we could get to anywhere we wanted to go with a minimum of fuss. The closest metros are Bastille and Gare de Lyon, each about 5 minutes' walk away. Busses also run along Rue de Lyon right outside, inlcluding a bus to Pere Lachaise. There are numerous boulangeries, cafes etc in the vicinity and a grocery store right next door.

Our favourite bar was Le Tarmac (a cafe) right on the corner of Rue de Lyon and you must eat at A la Biche au Bois, just around the corner from Le Tarmac. Fabulous food and great service.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Maison Zen and would happily go back again. The only downsides are that the fre wifi is unpredictable and I can see there would be the potential for noise if you were unlucky enough to encounter thoughtless fellow travellers.

But, all in all, Maison Zen is great value for money and a peaceful haven we really enjoyed coming back to after our busy days. We also enjoyed petting the two resident huskies, both of whom loll about in the courtyard enjoying the comings and goings of the guests.

Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#323 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
#380 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Des Trois Gares
Hotel Des Trois Gares
#1,043 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Bastille / Oberkampf
Bastille de Launay Hotel
Bastille de Launay Hotel
#481 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Adagio Access Paris Bastille
Adagio Access Paris Bastille
#1,464 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Zen

Property: Maison Zen
Address: 35 rue de Lyon, 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Une belle maison, dans la cour avec un jardin. Très calme, les studios propres, récemment rénovés, propre. Centre de Paris, près de la Bastille, la Seine, Marais, Village Saint Paul. Votre chez vous pendant votre visite.Coin cousine, salle de bain, TV, téléphone, Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Zen Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing