We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Quality”
Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
Ranked #1,551 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
1 review
“Fair Quality”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in my room for just one night - and for the brief stay the room was sufficient. The quality of the rooms is not very high - but the location is next to a police station so I felt very safe here



Room Tip: Decent value hotel overall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    80
    99
    50
    31
See reviews for
32
114
58
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This was the cheapest hotel we could find near the center and now we know there's a reason. First of all this is not an hotel, look more like an hotel before reconstruction. There's no elevator. Our room was little, with dirty walls, dirty curtains, the toilet is losing the paint and there are ants around. Out of the window there's a wall. The radiator drop water on the carpet. The service is rude, at 10-11am the cleaning lady knock at your door insisting in cleaning the room or she will not come back. The wifi works sometimes and if you ask why they will tell you that Internet is only in the reception (false). It's around 1.5km from the center however the area around is not the best, very dirty, many homeless sleeping around, strange groups of not so recommend guys hangs out around there. Near le gare du nord and est, that should be a pro but not during night, can be dangerous. Thinking better now I would spend a little more and find something in the Latin Quarter or more near the center, even just 500 metres South than this hotel is really a much better area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarcoinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel every week for 8 months during the course of an 9 month contract in Paris. The primary reason, at this price level I couldn't find another hotel so conveniently located that offered more. In the first month I stayed at other hotels in near Place de Republic and Montmartre, they were more expensive and the cleanliness and comfort of the stay sub standard by comparison. I could have afforded to stay in a hotel IBIS every night, but didn't see the need to spend upwards of Eur 100. At the Liberty I found the staff on the front desk to be extremely professional, personable and always willing to help, the rooms are clean (I always went for a double with en-suite) and quiet, the beds are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was just right (in some Paris Hotels the breakfast is Eur 30 for a coffee and a croissant!). The Chateau D'eau area is not the best area of Paris, it is not the Ile St. Louis..however, it is safe; one review I read on Tripadvisor prior to my stay indicated the opposite - I found this to be unlikely. At this price I fully endorse the Hotel Liberty, I think it is hard to beat. Note : In the winter you may find this to be the hottest hotel in Paris, I had to enlist some help to turn the heating down on more than one occasion. I have stayed at Hyatt, Marriott and other hotels, however, if you are in Paris and want to spend the money on other things then this Hotel is no frills but without giving up too much.

Room Tip: Ask staff on the desk for a quiet room on the 2nd floor. Quieter rooms on the front are at 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertP2198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We chose it because it was centrally located (a short walk from Gare de l'Est) and relatively inexpensive. The room was tiny, the bathroom shower stalk was loose, the shower curtain was inadequate, the dustbin was broken, etc: I have stayed in budget Paris hotels before and they were not this bad. On the first day a friendly young lady at the reception printed out a map of the area and marked a gluten-free restaurant on it. On the next day, when I asked if I could print a boarding card, the man at the reception refused in quite a dismissive way, and told me to go to an internet place about 100 m away (those guys were friendly and helpful). Breakfast is minimal, and non-existent if you're gluten-free. If you just want a place to crash for the night, go ahead and stay here, but if you are looking for a bit of comfort, this was by far the worst place we stayed at in Europe (out of seven, but the rest admittedly were not in city centres).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Me and my Mom stayed here during our trip to Paris! rOOM WAS not big but very clean and cosy! They changed sheets almost everyday! The stuff was helpful-speak english very well! The area where is the hotel is very good-safe, there is a supermarket! Close to metro station! 15 min walk to Pompidou!
super value for money u pay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here for one night only. The location is good surrounded by lots of eating places within walking distance.
Overall reception is good, fast and efficient.
I booked a room for 3 persons, the room is standard, quite spacius with private bath. The smell of the room however, smell like bathroom because the bathroom cleaber smell goes out.
Bed are clean but the carpet is not, you can feel it on your foot when you step on it.
Net, it is worth for what you paid for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank rsuhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel De La Comete
#1,019 of 1,801 in Paris
281 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,411 of 1,801 in Paris
142 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,236 of 1,801 in Paris
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Nord et Champagne
Hotel Nord et Champagne
#1,492 of 1,801 in Paris
289 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,556 of 1,801 in Paris
74 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,270 of 1,801 in Paris
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Property: Hotel Liberty
Address: 16 rue de Nancy, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,551 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Liberty 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing