We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerless, only go if you can get it very cheap”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Alsace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel d'Alsace
Ranked #1,705 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerless, only go if you can get it very cheap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Good location aside, not a great hotel. It's in desperate need of a lick of paint and some tlc. Also, the stairs are severe so don't bother if you have any mobility problems. On the plus side., it's two minutes walk from the train station and there are plenty cafes nearby

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    17
    20
    70
See reviews for
27
28
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

good location. uRoom was poor but expected that. I couldn't book for children and had to argue for 5 year old not to be charged as for adult. But I never experienced breakfast with bread only and beeing charged 40euro extra for that. My bill from 180 came to over 250. Better hotel next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rafal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I think staying in a modern prison would have been cleaner (and, quite frankly, safer).
The only positive thing I can say about this "hotel" is that it is close to Gare de l'Est station. LITERALLY everything else about it made me want to run as far away as I possibly could.
The area was totally sketchy; the "lobby" was a tiny, cramped space with a "dining room" (that MIGHT seat 10 people maximum) and stairs (NO ELEVATOR in this six-story building) branching off to either side, and it REEKED of bleach like they were doing laundry in the basement; the staircase was dark, rickety, and dirty; we were placed on the fourth floor, where the floor in the hallway was (I WISH I were joking) collapsing and supported with what sounded like wooden supports underneath it.
The room itself was stained from floor to ceiling with God only knows what; there was a mystery stain on the douvet under the thin blanket on the bed; the sliding bathroom door wouldn't close entirely and was paper-thin; we only received two bath towels when we had three people staying in the room, and one of them was ripped; and Internet connection is only available in the dining room. I always wear earplugs when sleeping in hotels, so I can't speak from experience, but the other two people I was traveling with said the noise from the street was horrible and neither of them got very much sleep.
We were booked for four nights, but obviously had to check out the next day due to the horrible conditions of this hotel. As we were checking out, another guest had to COME DOWN THE STAIRS to ask the guy at the front desk to TURN THE HOT WATER ON in his room!
I just can't understand how this place is still allowed to operate, and I strongly suspect that the positive reviews this hotel has received were written by its own employees. Do yourself a huge favor: AVOID THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pula, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

shabby hotel and rooms on the fifth floor without ascensore.Personale Terrible.
But I would like that the hotel is not in itself I've seen worse, but perhaps their clever method of payment.
A month before leaving 8/23/2012 I have taken (locked for two days from 08.21.2012) the deposit of 85euro, which had to be returned by a maximum of 4 weeks after the balance in full on the first day of stay, it's been almost two months and they continue to say that the problem is in my bank when my girlfriend works at the bank and assured me that they took the money and should therefore charging me again and there 'is nothing to sbloccare.Ovviamente between email (15 with easybook.it that acts as a mediator between the other because they do not respond by email) and phone calls in France at my own expense (with the classic response to call the next day that there 'was the manager) I lost both time and money.
The last response was that the hotel will return the money WHEN POSSIBLE!
So at least I hope this is read by many so as not to be deceived!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

As a cheap budget hotel you can't expect too much. Alsace is right next to a major train and metro station which makes it super easy to get around to all the touristy destinations of Paris. The neighborhood itself, however, is quite scary. I was scared quite a few times walking around here after dark. The rooms are clean enough and the maids come daily (and didn't steal anything yay!), but be aware that it is a long tiring walk straight up a curling staircase to get to any rooms. There is no elevator. Be prepared to be sweaty and panting by the time you reach your room. The rooms are small but comfortable. The bathroom is ok, but the sink doesn't drain at all, or it takes at least 10 hours to drain. A little annoying and gross when all the dirty water starts to pile up, but by the time you wake up in the morning it's mostly drained. The staff were very courteous and kind even though I didn't speak French. Wifi was free and easy to sign up, breakfast was 5€ so I never tried it. Overall, if you have very little money but want to see Paris, hotel D'Alsace is a decent place to stay. But if you want to stay safe and be completely surrounded by the glamour of Paris day and night and not see its dirty side, stay in the west end.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandraeelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We reached hotel by 10.00pm and the receiptionist wouldn't open the door! He just said "Go away, we are full"! This, when we had confirmed booking. We managed to talk him out and get into the Hotel only to find out that our room was in 4th Floor and the only way to go to the room is through a small spiral staircase. We had to carry our luggage all the 4 floors. The towels were not fresh and the room was dingy! The shower cubicle was dangling and it felt like it would collapse any second - completely rusted.

I will not stay in this hotel for a million dollars!

Room Tip: Don't make the mistake of staying in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harryvarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel is very difficult to find especially arriving at night...it's right next to a sex shop bringing lots of sketchy people. If you have any sort of luggage stay away...there is no elevator and the stairs are very narrow and difficult to walk up. To make matters worst they have an incompetent staff because right when we were about to fall asleep someone started unlocking our door!!! Luckily we were able to shoo the guy away...but obviously the staff had given him a key to our room. Good thing we were here to make sure our stuff was safe. Topping it all off the sheets and towels were all stained. We left as soon as we could the next morning with zero sleep. I would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Modern' Est
Modern' Est
#1,504 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little Regina
Hotel Little Regina
#1,083 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
#1,521 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,605 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
#697 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Alsace

Property: Hotel d'Alsace
Address: 85 boulevard de Strasbourg, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,705 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Alsace 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
85 Boulevard de Strasbourg 75010 Paris - Ideally located opposite the Gare de l'Est and a few steps from the Gare du Nord, the Canal Saint Martin and the Grands Boulevards , Hôtel d'Alsace Paris Gare de l'Est is a 3 -star hotel renovated in 2015 subtly mingling atmosphere typically Parisian , contemporary décor. This accommodation whose building dates from the early twentieth century offers a quiet and pleasant surroundings, while enjoying a lively area with many restaurants , bars and shops. Hotel d'Alsace Paris Gare de l'Est is also well served by public transport (metro lines 4, 5, 7 and RER B) and is the perfect location for business or leisure travelers coming from destinations served by Eurostar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Alsace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing