We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable but thin walls” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel
Ranked #799 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Surrey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Reasonable but thin walls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We booked this for a long weekend and I'll admit it was about the cheapest I could find in the general area of the Eiffel Tower etc so I wasn't expecting too much and when we're visiting a city we're not too bothered about the room as we've come to see the city, not the hotel, although in this case this hotel does have one secret that makes up for its minor transgressions, but you'll have to read to the end to find out what!

We didn't pay the extra 12 Euros each for a continental breakfast (not big breakfast eaters anyway so some fruit from the local supermarket sufficed) so we had minimum interaction with the staff beyond checking in, returning and receiving the room card repeatedly and checking out and there were no problems encountered with both day & night staff performing these simple tasks without issue.

The hotel lost power for a couple of hours early one evening (or our room did anyway) but as we were just getting ready for dinner it wasn't a problem.

There were four negatives (I now that sounds a lot but bear with me), two of which to be fair the hotel couldn't really help. Firstly, the two they could do something about; the lack of a kettle etc in the room, I think it's the first hotel room we've been in where the facility wasn't available (or a minibar) and the fact that all 25+ channels on the tv were in French (and yes, what do I expect in Paris, but one or two international channels wouldn't be amiss surely); now the things slightly outside of their control; the bath was tiny (I'm used to baths being a tad small for me as I'm a little over 6ft but this was ridiculous and finally, and perhaps the worst for us was the paper thin walls (ceiling/floor?), let's just say we could hear one individual snoring both nights so loudly I assumed he was in the wardrobe and I'm sure any noises my wife and I made were equally audible to neighbouring rooms (so please accept my apologies) ;-)

Anyway, when's all said and done, this is a perfectly reasonable hotel for the money (as long as you get a deal) and you accept the drawbacks of thin walls etc...Oh, and the secret that I mentioned that makes you willing to forgive this hotel practically anything....it's right next door to possibly one of the best restaurants in Paris, La Veraison. I'll be doing a review of that as well but (spoiler alert) this restaurant did not disappoint at all and in future it will be a regular dining spot whenever we return to Paris.

Room Tip: Room 202 was to the rear and had no street noise (although the streets weren't busy anyway) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianandOlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    133
    59
    15
    14
See reviews for
34
144
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The best part of this place was the location! So close to the train it was amazing! Eiffel tower was a solid 15 minutes walk (or 2 train stations). The rooms were fine. Nothing amazing. Cute small balcony and pleasant bed. The bathroom wasn't that clean and the hairdrier kept overheating in 2 minutes (half way through drying my hair). The Tv had trouble with some channels and the safe cost money to use.

The worst part of this hotel, which makes me say I will not be returning is that of the staff. The lady with the shoulder length brunette hair was lovely. She was so much help. Thats about where it ends. There a rule you only get one room card and you must leave it with the reception when leaving every day. That's annoying but fine. One morning the lady stopped me as the had locked the front door and told me I had to hand the key in in a condescending way. Little did she know or ask that there were still people in my room. She looked unimpressed and open the door. The worst was the bald male who was on at night. My boyfriend and I went to get pizza so we dropped our key off, got pizza and decided to eat back in our room. As we collected our key, the guy asked if we were flying out of Paris tomorrow. I said we were flying out the day after. He then pested and insisted that we book the shuttle there and then. As we were still working out what we were doing I said we would book tomorrow. He then told us it would be booked out (cause that would happen overnight?!) and we need to book now. I tried to walk away and he continued to tell me I need to book now. I told him I didn't know the time of our flight and then he became condescending saying ' don't you have the times in your room?' which is ridiculous cause he wouldn't even let us go to the room. We ended up leaving since we were hungry and our dinner was getting cold. I was and am seriously angry with him and am writing an official complaint to the hotel.

DO NOT RECOMMEND. Pay a little more and get treated with some respect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We found the hotel on the internet and selected it because of it's location and value.

The hotel was very clean and well kept, the staff were very polite and helpful at all times.
The Alyss is close to the Metro and RER and should you want to walk most of the main tourist attractions are within 30 mins.

We woud recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

My and my younger sister stayed at the hotel just short of a week and found it to be a perfect hotel us. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were nice and accommodating. The hotel does not have a lift lifting our bags up and down the stairs proved to be a challenge. The staff were able to speak English fairly well and were able to assist us with our sight seeing. The room was of adequate size, the only thing which we struggled with was the shower, it was difficult to understand and had poor water presure. It was very close to the Cambronne Metro stop and helpful facilities such as Laundry services, post office, pharmacy and cafe/retaurants. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Had a 2 night stay for my wife's birthday. The hotel is in a great location, 15 minute walk to Eiffel Tower. The neighbourhood is very nice with good restaurants and metro links. On the downside the service at hotel is very poor, the plug sockets didn't work and lady at reception generally very rude.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mphanasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.2 mi away
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
Saphir Grenelle Hotel
#959 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alize Grenelle Tour Eiffel
0.7 mi away
Avia Saphir Montparnasse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Eiffel Cambronne
0.5 mi away
Carina Hotel
Carina Hotel
#791 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eiffel Saint Charles
Eiffel Saint Charles
#308 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel

Property: Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel
Address: 62 rue de la Croix Nivert, 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #799 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel's Hotel ***! Our cozy and friendly hotel is ideally located in the center of Paris "Rive Gauche", in the heart of the 15th district, just 20 minutes walking from the Eiffel Tower, Champ de Mars and Invalides. At 5 minutes from the "Rue du Commerce" and 15 minutes from the new shopping center Beaugrenelle, where you can relax doing some shopping and enjoying the many "boutiques" and restaurants ... You can also easily reach the Montparnasse train station and the Exhibition Centre Porte de Versailles by walk, by bus or subway. Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel's Hotel *** is the right place to relax after a hard day of work or visiting Paris with your family. Secure public parking is located near the hotel. (Paying Service) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyss Saphir Cambronne Eiffel Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing