We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor dining”
Review of La Locanda

La Locanda
Ranked #7,502 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$22 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: Romantic and fine Italian food in Saint Germain des Pres district. One of the oldest and most beautiful streets of Paris. A XVI century town house serves delicious Italian dishes since 1997. Martino, the owner since day 1, take care of you personally. US graduate, Boston and Louisville resident, loves to explain how dishes are made, the history of recipes, the neighborhood secrets and much more. Since the opening, refined international customers blend with locals. Not a "tourist trap" just an international parisian resident crowd chose La Locanda for the food, the atmosphere and the fun. Reservations are not mandatory but strongly suggested on weekends. A few tables are available for couples outside on the sidewalk. The street is very quiet so you can enjoy a nice evening outside as well. Good music inside. Grappa and limoncello is generally offered and will enable you to stay a few minutes more with our company. See you. Martino
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very poor dining”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a really bad restaurant and the pasta on three out of four dishes was undercooked and we returned them. The table clothes were dirty and the service indifferent. We needed to ask for plates for entrée when the antipastos was served. We had to leave without eating our mains. The food is overpriced, very ordinary and the worst Italian we have ever eaten. We paid 110 Euro for this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Elenkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G, Propriétaire at La Locanda, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hello and firstly thank you very much for your comments that I hope are truthful and honest. I am the owner of La Locanda and I personally run my little and cozy restaurant for over 17 years. THis means that I have had lots of customers over this period (2000 per month with represents more than 400,000 customers). As you and any reader can imagine, you cannot please everyone. Just 1% of unpleased customers mean 40,000 people … Just to make you realize. Of course, our chef could have failed a table or two some busy night. But one thing is sure, my restaurant is the oldest italian restaurant in this part of town and we are doing great. About the cooking of the pasta, I am very severe with my chefs and I request them to serve pasta al dente (limit undercooked). It happens that people ask for overcooked pasta. We do it with pleasure. Could you help me identify your table and tell me which date you were treated with indifference ? I would like to have a talk with my waitress that night. You have asked for plates, perhaps the waiter did not understoodd you wanted to share an antipasti for 4 people !?!? You say that you have paid 110 euro for this … can I ask you what cocktails, wines and other drinks you have ordered ? 110 € for 4 people sounds very cheap to me. Our mean price per person over a 12 month period is around 50/55 € … It sounds like you made a deal !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    63
    32
    31
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
589 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“forget french cuisine -- eat here”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This authentic trattoria in the heart of the St. Germain-de-Pres district is the perfect antidote to Paris' palate-numbing array of bistros. We walked in very late one night, only to find Guido and his staff delighted to see us and more than ready to keep the kitchen open. And it's a great kitchen, serving a delicious array of traditional Italian pastas and risottos, all made in house and served up by the enthusiastic wait staff with great style and humor. The downstairs seating area is all coves and candlelight, perfect for a romantic getaway, while the upstairs can accommodate larger parties and business meetings. We ate here twice over a one-week stay in Paris, and found our reception the second time even more enthusiastic than the first -- greeted as old friends and engaged in multi-lingual banter. You forget you're in Paris at La Locanda -- which isn't a bad thing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My pit stop in St Germain”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The tarte fine aux pommes is a delight. I've been coming here regularly for years. Guido is very engaging, a fantastic organiser and discrete.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

our hotel recommended this place and it was delightful. The calamari was perfectly cooked and the lasagna was the special and was really good. The dessert, a chocolate tart, was silky and flavorful (highly recommend it). Just wonderfully well prepared food and the service was very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PamS922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stumbled into”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our first choice wasn't going to open for half an hour and it was raining so we opted for La Locanda and are glad we did. Very charming, intimate restaurant. We both agreed that the Kir Royale was the best we ever had. I had the alfredo which was great, very light pasta and delicate parm/butter/cream ratiio. My husband's gnocchi was light and the fresh tomato sauce was great. Service was friendly and unobtrusive. Definite find.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeyewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Locanda also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing