We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$483
US$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$249
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain(Paris)
US$243
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$347
US$283
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera(Paris)
US$185
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$309
US$282
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Saint-Jacques(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$203
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$1,176
US$1,120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$467
US$405
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Duo(Paris)
US$241
US$233
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,646)
Filter reviews
1,646 results
Traveller rating
1,105
398
93
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
398
93
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarc de triompheeiffel towermarriott propertiesplatinum memberturn down serviceconcierge staffmacaroonsbusiness centermodern hotelsmall balconyprior to our arrivalfamily roombottle of champagnetwo blockslocation is greateach morningbreakfast was included
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 1,646 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Renaissance was a big disappointment. Marriott classifies it as a Level 9 – its highest category. This sets up high expectations, which was further fed by the fact that two of our favorite hotels are Renaissances: in Bangkok and Hong Kong. Obviously, the level is due to its great location. However, this is a mediocre hotel. For example, when we plugged in a power strip (with nothing pulling power), the power blew in the room. We told them, left, came back three hours later, and it was still blown. It took numerous calls to get any one to respond. This was the start of the pattern that continued through our stay, particularly when it came to housekeeping issues. They seem to have issues with replacing toiletries, etc., without asking, which we had to do on a regular basis. This shows a lack of detail orientation on the part of the housekeeping managers. It also made us look like nags, which was uncomfortable for us.
The front desk service was adequate, but not very friendly. They were quick to serve, but there was clearly a tone of condescension (not uncommon in Paris as a whole).
The look of the hotel is modern and stylish, but the design can be impractical. The room, which is a very good size for a standard European accommodation, has a very tight space between the desk and the bed, so my husband kept banging his shin. Our “garden view” looked out at apartment buildings and scruffy vegetation. But it at least it was quiet. The bed was very comfortable – a very nice plus. The Internet, free to elite members, was good most of the time.
The bathroom was pretty, with a grey and tan tone. The abstract mural of the Eiffel Tower is a fun touch. However, the bathtub/shower has an unmovable glass between the tub and sink, making it difficult to climb in and out, and causing it to be very drafty during a shower. The bathroom’s design is particularly bad for a short person (like myself) – I kept tripping getting out of the tub, and the makeup mirror (always a welcome touch) was much too high to be useful to me.
The fitness center is small but good.
Breakfast at the restaurant was poor, with boring food and a very limited selection. If breakfast isn’t included, don’t pay the 30 Euros, but go down the street to the MacDonald’s or to one of the many cafes. Dinner at the restaurant was well prepared, but it has a very limited menu (but there are many places to eat in the area, so you won’t starve). The service was okay, but, like the hotel in general, it lacked warmth and had a strong undertow of condescension.
As Platinum Elite Marriott Reward members, we were even more disappointed. There is no executive lounge, and the only thing elites can expect is breakfast – don’t count on any sort of upgrade, newspapers, or a special touch.
My advice? The Renaissance is okay if you want to stay in the area and have a lot of money to burn. If you can, stay in a less expensive area and get a lot more for your money. A word to elite Marriott Rewards members – if you want to get the best use of your elite status and points, do NOT stay here. We thought it would be worth the high point value, and it was anything but.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Smartblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura T, Responsable réception at Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the Renaissance Arc de Triomphe.
As you can imagine we were all dismayed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and we are truly sorry that you did not feel it while staying among us.

Please be assured that all departments’ heads have been informed of the various situations you had to cope with and the necessary measures have been taken.

I deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations, especially in terms of service, which is usually our greatest strength and pride.

I hope we will have the opportunity in the future to regain your trust and convince you of our quality of service.
Do not hesitate to contact me personally should you require any assistance in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel which is conveniently located in the middle of the major attractions of Paris. While our room was not ready when we arrived, in fairness we there three hours before check-in, the front desk team were friendly and helpful. The concierge suggested an informative walking tour of the city, which was helpful.

When we returned we check-in to a fairly spacious room considering the location. Only minor concern was we were charged an extra fee to upgrade the room to allow for a rollaway bed which I did not mind except for the fact this was not disclosed at the time we made the reservation. Not sure if this is was a hotel issue or Marriott.com issue.

The staff at the hotel for the entire stay were friendly and courteous. We asked the concierge for a dinner recommendation one night and the suggested restaurant was worthwhile and as advertised.

We would definitely stay here again during any future trips to Paris.

Room Tip: The hotel is slightly removed from the main street so thought it relatively quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WhitelawK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric B, Director of operations at Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you so much for having shared your stay in our hotel.
Feel free to contact us directly for your next stay in order to provide you a much more amazing experience.
Kind regards
Frédéric BONOMO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great stay from start to finish. We arrived early on a Sunday morning from our red eye flight from the States. The staff was very helpful getting us an earlier check-in. They held our bags so we can explore while preparing our rooms. The rooms were nice size for Europe and had a great balcony. The staff was great on recommending places to go and directions especially on the metro. I would not hesitate staying here again. Hotel is a very close to two metro stops (less than five minutes each) and is around great local French eateries. During our stay, French air traffic controllers decided they were going to strike. The hotel did a great job making all guests aware and constantly checking our flights to ensure they were not cancelled. We were flying to Nice en route to Cannes and were worried we would be effected. We were only delayed a few hours at the hotel compared to many getting cancelled. Hotel spoke great English which was great being I only knew a handful of words. Overall, will definitely stay here again on next trip to Paris. I wish I could remember all the names of the staff that helped us but really was everyone we encountered. I

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68ScottG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a relatively new hotel, with an Indonesian theme throughout. The staff are the most helpful and polite that I have ever encountered, truly. One night there was a short period of odd metallic grinding noises coming from above our room and we actually received an apology letter from management, even though the noise was only brief and we only called reception about it over concern that there was a mechanical problem in the hotel.

Our room was on a low floor that looked out the side of the hotel, often not a desirable position, but Renaissance has created a small garden with a large white Buddha and small white penguins standing guard that rooms on this side look upon. It's a most peaceful scene and incredibly quiet. We even had a small deck for lounging, a rare luxury in the usual box-like rooms in Europe.

The rooms are spacious and have every convenience I like to find, including a magnifying mirror. The shower is glorious.

Our daughter has a severe peanut allergy and the restaurant staff went out of their way to insure she had safe and delicious options.

The bell and Navigator staff were hugely helpful, chasing down taxis and providing any sort of information and advice we sought.

The hotel is conveniently located very close to the Charles DeGaulle-Etoille Metro station so you have easy access to the whole of Paris and environs.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel and will definitely recommend it to any friends headed to Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpigletCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. The concierge were wonderful and the location perfect. Just two blocks from the Arc de Triomphe, it was incredibly easy getting to all the great tourists locations. They made an excellent recommendation for dinner that we really enjoyed and it was in walking distance.

Room Tip: We reserved the deluxe room and it was very good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura T, Gerente de recepção at Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such kind review on your experience in Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe.

I am sure the concierge team will be delighted to know that you enjoyed their recomendation for dinner.

Please be assured we are all eager to welcome you back soon and share the nicest tips with you.

Warm regards,

Laura Termens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews