We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience - we hope to return”
Review of Apostrophe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apostrophe Hotel
Ranked #242 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We loved L'apostrophe! The rooms were stylish and clean, and best of all- the staff was friendly and very helpful. The reception was warm and the staff helped us by suggesting restaurants, directions, and confirming reservation and calling taxis. We felt well-cared for, and welcome.

The neighborhood is residential, but there are many options for food around the hotel. It is convenient to the metro (which is very easy to use) and on a line that goes directly to some of the big tourist sites in Paris. It is also easy to walk from this hotel to main tourist areas in Paris. It is very close to the Jardin du Luxembourg, which must be one of the most beautiful gardens in the world! And to walk to the Louvre, one need only to walk north on the BLVD Raspail to Rue de Bac and cross Pont Royal ( about 3 Km.) We did this several times day and night and always we felt safe walking. We liked the neighborhood very much.

I tried very hard to practice my French- but no worries- the staff spoke English so there were not problems. The breakfast for 7.5 euros was good: coffee, baguette, a small pain au chocolat and a small croissant (per person.) One may order additional items. The juice (extra) was freshly pressed and delicious. They prefer to serve breakfast in the room, as there is not much room for all the hotel guests to eat in the lobby. The soap and amenities smell great.

Two warnings: 1) as is common in Europe, the rooms are small to American standards. However, they will store luggage for you if you want to unpack. We did this and it worked well. 2) the street-side rooms can be loud, but when we had the windows closed it was fine.

There are many big hotels in tourist areas in Paris- but when I return, and I hope to do so- I will choose this warm, friendly and trendy boutique hotel in the quiet neighborhood again! it makes the trip extra-special.

Room Tip: I requested a room when I made the reservation and they kindly honored it.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movementaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoemHotel, General Manager at Apostrophe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you for such detailed review. As we tend to say, small is beautiful :o) Indeed, storing extra/empty luggages for our guests, is just one of the things that separates us from the rest.
Obviously, it is kind of difficult to supress all the Parisian noices, but as you mentioned, once you closed your sound proof' windows, you'll find yourself wanting to meditate inside your room.
One important thing that you mentioned is that you can choose your room by simply visiting our website.

Finally, we'll be more than happy to welcome you again on your next Parisian escapade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Apostrophe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

The best thing about this hotel is its excellent location, in the heart of Montparnasse-St Germain district, which is one of the safest, quietest and most beautiful in Paris, away from other touristic, chaotic and crowded central areas. Within 5 min walking distance there are 2 metro stations and a RER station, from where you can reach Charles de Gaulle Airport. Also the OrlyBus station is very close to the hotel.
The hotel itself is very modern and clean and it is rather hard to miss, since its facade is decorated with leaves and tree branches (or at least that is what I think it were!).
However, I have to admit that our first impression of the hotel was not very good. When we arrived they tried to give us a room located on the ground floor, just right next to the hotel entrance and reception desk! They even had a curtain covering the room's door, so that you couldn't notice it from the outside. The room had a window to the street and you could see the people passing by - zero privacy!!! Later, they tried to pass the room to another guest, who also denied it. We were very upset, since we weren't informed about this and asked them to change rooms. At first they said that they were fully booked, but when we threatened to leave, all of a sudden they found out a recently checked out room on the first floor! Moreover, they told us that this new room was more expensive than the one we had booked, but they charged us the same price as the previous one. Honestly, I can't get the price difference, since the rooms were the same size, but anyway, it was a nice gesture not to ask for more money.
The new room was rather small, but beautifully decorated, with a large and comfortable bed, satellite TV and free wifi internet. It was very clean and every piece of decoration was carefully selected. They offered a bathrobe and a sponge and even the soap was of excellent quality! What I hated was the bathroom which was literally inside the bedroom! If you wanted to wash during the night, you would definitely wake your travel companion. Also the shower had a transparent glass door, so that everyone could see you bathe. The toilet was in a separate room, which was so tiny that I could barely fit (I'm 5.5/ 1,65 cm). Not to mention that it wasn't sound proof... These little details may not concern everyone, but if you travel with a companion, you may want to take them into consideration!
The hotel staff was - with one exception - very friendly, helpful and efficient.
The breakfast was not included to the price of the room and it cost 9 euros, however in the vicinity you can find excellent french bakeries and cafes.
Overall, I would say that the room was not worth the money, but this is how it is in Paris. The rates are extremely high and most of the times the hotels are old and their services are awful. So in this context Hotel Apostrophe is a very very good choice and I would certainly recommend it!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't book the room on the ground floor
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rita212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoemHotel, General Manager at Apostrophe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry for giving you the impression that you had to "threaten" us to change room. The reason why we were a bit long to react is we wanted to check first that we could upgrade you at no charge. We understand that you did not liked the ground floor room at first sight, but would like to mention that this our biggest room, totally sound proofed and with privacy. It is the only room with a separated bathroom. For this reason it is the first choice of many of our customers. Most of our guests are quite comfortable with the fact that the bathroom is opened onto the room (couples or single users). Indeed, our façade is a huge painting depicting trees' shadows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I elected this hotel over a cheesy Holiday Inn where my conference was being held and am I glad I did. This beautiful boutique hotel is close to both the Metro and the RER, and as I had heavy luggage, this was of benefit. I arrived in a torrential deluge early one morning--hours before official check-in--and I was in my room within a few minutes. I had the Music Room (as all rooms are themed) and while tiny, it was beautifully appointed. I was not bothered by the combo bathroom/bedroom situation but was concerned that there was a mold and small water damage problem at the shower's edge which was, quite frankly, incongruous with the pristine nature of the rest of the room. As several other guests have commented, the staff are amazingly helpful and will patiently print maps and make sure you have everything you need to be comfortable. A lot of wonderful restaurants are close by (try le bar a huitres if you LOVE seafood) and you are but a few minutes' walk from the Luxembourg Gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoemHotel, General Manager at Apostrophe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thanks for your nice review. Indeed, please be informed that we were aware of the small water damage. We contacted the repairment and were waiting for it to dry in order to repair it. I have personnally commended our staff for beeing constant in its customer service.

Isabelle Lozano
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Located centrally in District 6, we recently stayed at the Apostrophe Hotel in our first ever visit to Paris.  We booked the reservation through Tablet Hotels, which featured this boutique hotel for its PLUS members.  This hotel is very small, with only a few dozen rooms and tucked away on a side street close to a busy tourist area with lots of restaurants nearby.  Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly woman named Isabelle (who turned out to be the owner) and promptly checked us in.  The room was unique, clean and very small (but we expected this after being in Europe for a week already) with a LIGHT themed room!  We enjoyed playing with the lights which created really cool shadows!  Later we found out, all the rooms have their own unique themes.  The hotel is very quiet except you may be awaken by the garbage trucks early in the morning. 

As part of the Tablet PLUS promotion, we were allowed early check in, a daily refresh of Parisian chocolates, a complimentary bottle of champagne and free WI-FI.  If you need internet access for more than 1 device, just ask at the lobby and you can extra codes.  They honoured everything mentioned without any problems. 

We had heard not to expect great service in Paris and this was true for some of the places, but the staff at Apostrophe was the exception, especially Gino.  They offers lots of suggestions for places to eat, things to do and tips on how to get around.  If they didn't know an answer, they looked it up.  A huge tip we got from Isabelle was the Paris Museum Pass, which for a fixed price (either for a 2 or 4 day pass) gets you access to the top museums, art and historical venues.

One thing that took some getting used to, was giving the room key to the front desk every time you leave and asking for it back, upon return.  We were told this was a Paris thing though.

From the hotel, you can walk to a beautiful park (Jardin du Luxembourg), a shopping mall and lots of cafes and restaurants.  The metro station is 5 mins away and it is about 30 mins walk to Notre Dame and a popular public square Place St. Michel and the Catacombs (a must-see but not included with the Museum).

While this is my only hotel experience in Paris I would definitely recommend Apostrophe if you cherish boutique experiences, want personal service and seek good value!

Room Tip: I recommend booking through Tablet Hotels to get the extra Perks.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffmarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoemHotel, General Manager at Apostrophe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

"Merci" for your kind review. Regarding the key, we understand that it is hard guests to leave their key at the reception desk every time to go out. But, it is much safer for two reasons : 1) to walk all over the City with your key in your pocket and taking the risk of loosing it, 2) it allows the reception desk to control who is coming in or going out all the time.
We take security very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My teenage girls and I stayed here while on vacation. The staff was incredibely helpful with details of where to go and how to get there. The rooms are very clean and unique! We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

In a quiet street close to the busy part of Montparnasse, the hotel is very well located close to the Luxembourg gardens.
Our room was quite small but comfortable.
Desk clerk was very helpful.
Good address

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
Thank JNP28691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Apostrophe Hotel exceeded our expectations for our honeymoon in Paris. All the hotel staff were very friendly, spoke English, and were eager to help us. They made reservations for our dinners, explained how to get to places, answered any questions. They even called a restaurant the next day to help dispute an incorrect bill.

The room was very clean, and plenty big enough for a couple. The shower was excellent, the A/C worked great, and all linens and towels fresh.

The location was perfect, very close to the Jardin du Luxembourg for walks, and close to many cafes and the metro. It was easy to get to this hotel from the airport via RER.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnlChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#375 of 1,804 in Paris
744 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#170 of 1,804 in Paris
705 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#201 of 1,804 in Paris
805 reviews
The Five Hotel
#633 of 1,804 in Paris
1,155 reviews
Platine Hotel
#261 of 1,804 in Paris
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostrophe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostrophe Hotel

Address: 3 rue de Chevreuse, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#137 Business Hotel in Paris
#387 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £124 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apostrophe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apostrophe is a stylish design hotel set near Saint-Germain-des-Pres and the Luxembourg Gardens in central Paris. It offers air-conditioned rooms, free Wi-Fi and modern facilities. Guest rooms at the Apostrophe include a flat-screen TV, DVD and CD player and a powerful jet shower together with a rain shower. They are uniquely decorated and each room has a different theme. The Balneo rooms have a jacuzzi bath with chromotherapy. Breakfast is "a la carte" and served in room without any extra charge. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. The Apostrophe is near Vavin Metro station and the RER at Port-Royal. This gives direct access to the heart of the city and CDG or Orly Airport via the RER B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apostrophe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apostrophe Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing