We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sufficient for crashing at the end of a day of sightseeing in Paris, but it's not fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nation Montmartre
Ranked #1,648 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We knew what we were getting ourselves into when we booked this "hotel." We waited too long to book a hotel, so it was either pay a reasonable price for this one or pay at least twice as much for a decent hotel. We decided to go for this one and spend the money we would have spent on food and seeing the sights, since we felt that was more important. All in all, this place suited our needs, although it was not glamorous. The worst part by far was the staff worker who did the night shift. He was rude, hostile, and completely unhelpful. We got in late and tried to get help to get a working wireless password, and after 4 trips up and down the 5 flights of stairs, he quickly lost patience with us for some reason and started yelling at us, asking us why we were even there!!! He was an awful person! If it weren't for him, I'd give this place at least 3 stars, and possibly 4 since it's a cheap hotel and you get what you pay for. That guy was so unpleasant that he really soured our experience there enough to knock my review down 1-2 stars. Avoid any encounters with that night shift guy and your stay will be much better!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Feces on the wall and intimidation from the staff. Do not stay here. This is not a hotel and should not be recommended by any travel company. We left after twenty minutes and were refused a refund. The area surrounding the hotel is unsafe (particularly for women). There were no positives that I found for this unclean hovel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littledavid2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Poor quality hostel, shouldn't be described as a hotel.
shared toilets have no hand-wash facilities. Poor quality decor and furniture in rooms. Poor hand-washing facilities in room ie. sink not properly fixed to wall, no shelf to put toiletries on, broken socket for shaver and light fitting didn't work.
Nowhere to hang clothes properly. They try, but 2 hangers (one filthy) on a screw hook because the rail was missing.
Not worth the money. When I got back, looked on internet and the Ibis chain a little bit up the road would have given a double room with ensuite for around £5 LESS per night.
Nice staff, but go somewhere else that's clean and safe and an actual hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

good points:
VERY helpful staff - Bruno and his colleague (wish we knew his name to mention him!) were very kind and moved us to another room when discovering the power point didn't work to charge our camera battery. how kind is that! this place is well situated - near to a metro station with a direct line to the city centre - no change needed to get to Notre Dame etc - excellent! a short walk to Sacre Coeur, only about 15 mins walk to the Royal Opera House! a supermarket just up the road. drinks machine in the lobby does a good milkshake in a can! basically clean and adequate rooms. soap and towels provided. very good hot showers. nice toilet paper!!! clean, but basic, toilets! someone said the room doors don't lock from the inside, but they do - just don't put the key in the whole way. you do need to leave the key, but that is quite common practice so it didn't bother us.

things you should be aware of:
this isn't a luxury place and it's not comparable to a UK B&B, there isn't a kettle and hot drinks to make in your rooms. the shared toilets for each floor are mid-way between floors down a spiral staircase and you have to get back to your room to wash your hands. there are only 2 pillows in a double room (they may give you more if you ask? we didn't ask!). there is a fair bit of noise associated with opening and closing of doors - it's not deliberate as they're heavy self-closing doors, and people come in late and get up early and seem to be very chatty and loud! so don't expect quiet - take some ear-plugs if you're a light-sleeper. we think the staff tidy rooms rather than renew sheets/towels daily - I got a v.stained hand towel so I left it on the floor thinking it would be replaced...but found it back on the rail for me to use later - so just used the main towel.

about the area:
some people have said what a dangerous area it is. it's true that there are people hanging about on the street, and we got offered 'cheap metro tickets', and just 'walked with purpose' past lurking groups of people.Just have some small change in your pocket or buy your tickets all in one go on the first day, so you don't have to keep getting your wallet/purse out. That's generally a good idea anyway in any city. don't be getting your map out and giggling in groups - keep focussed on what you're doing, look confident and like you know where you're going. If you are nervous of cities or travelling alone and nervous, don't stay in this kind of area - pay more and 'go posh', it'll be worth it for your feeling confident.
But if you are 'city-savvy' in your own country, then you won't see this as much of a big deal.

So overall - if you think 'hostel' rather than 'hotel', and if you are prepared with e.g. hand wash gel, ear-plugs, slippers and a dressing gown to get to the toilet in the night, and happy to see the positives of getting fit going up and down those spiral stairs, you could enjoy a stay with nice staff in a 'cheap and cheerful' place. But if you like luxury and aren't on a budget, just go and stay somewhere else and leave this place for those who just want a place to lay their heads for the night. (though you'd better be quick! it's being refurbished as we assume prices will rise...it's already got more facilities than reviewers a few months ago were reporting)

Thanks Bruno and your colleagues, you were kind to us :-)

Room Tip: These are basic rooms without en suite facilities. A room near the stairs will mean no sleep for lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed there in 2 nights. Because of the cheap price, the facilities are not so good. I shared the toilet and bathroom with others rooms. Anw, the staff there are quite nice and eager to guide you or answer you any question about Paris.
The important thing is this hostel locateing near Gard du Nord, it seems easy to get to the other places, but this zone is unsafe. There are a lot of unemployee and criminals who aways gather in groups and it's totally unsafe for travellers.
So what I recommend you is go in a group of 3 or 4 people and don't get back too late, if you want to stay in this cheap hostel. It would better for your safety.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Quang Phong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Lets be blunt here, where else in paris will you get a clean double bed with fresh towels for between €50 and €75 a night? A fine place and the owner went out of his way to find a secure space for our bikes when he really didn't have the room for them. Can't recommend the place high enough. Yes you share toilet and shower but they were in my experience always spotlessly clean

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

這是非常接近地鐵站,它真的很便宜
每個晚上大約30歐元,價格更便宜,當我住在那裏
但實際上我很疑惑那裡的廁所,廁所只是一個樓梯拐角處,你關上門廁所的燈才會打開,我睡的時候,暖氣機沒有使房間變溫暖,我猜,我是那麼的冷,當我睡覺的時候。
地鐵出口旁有許多流浪漢......所以當你走到那裡,他們有的賣地鐵票給你,或者希望你給他們的東西
這讓我感到奇怪,和些許害怕
由酒店提供免費WiFi,但它不能真的連線,當我待在房間,還得跑下大廳使用網路
此外,它真的很便宜,位置不錯,除此真的不值得在那裡住了。
it's very near metro station,it's really cheap
about 30 euro each night,more more cheaper the price when I stayed there
but actually I'm very confused in there toilet,it just a stair corner,and you close the door to turn on the toilet light,and when I slept,the heater didn't work,I guess,I was so cold when I slept.
there is a area with many homeless just stayed beside metro exit......so when you walked to there,some of them sell metro ticket to you or want you give them something
very weird
by the way hotel offer free wifi,but it also didn't work when I stayed in room
besides,it's really cheap and location good,not thing really worth to stayed there.

Room Tip: if you go there in winier,please check the heater is work,before you sleep and want to use wifi go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 263Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#1,469 of 1,803 in Paris
226 reviews
Montmartre
Best Western Hotel Le Montmartre Saint Pierre
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,202 of 1,803 in Paris
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,556 of 1,803 in Paris
282 reviews
Hotel Gerando
#1,413 of 1,803 in Paris
261 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,554 of 1,803 in Paris
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nation Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nation Montmartre

Address: 4 rue Boissieu, 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,648 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £44 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nation Montmartre 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nation Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing