We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Marais bistro for people watching”
Review of Glou

Glou
Ranked #1,523 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$21 - US$71
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Marais bistro for people watching”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Searching for a restaurant in the trendy Marais district, we were directed to Glou on a busy street. The small interior was booked, but they seated us at a tiny outdoor table on the street. But the people watching was like a Paris fashion show and it made the better than average dinner more fun. When the shops on either side of the restaurant closed, the owner set up more tables. Service was excellent; we did not like the bland cold soup we ordered for an entree and they happily replaced it with a delicious eggplant dish. We also had a very good guinea fowl entree served over a salad. The main course was suckling pig, excellent taste but predictably fatty and a rather small portion. Dessert was a pineapple mousse, refreshing and light. A good rose wine complemented the dishes. This is a happening place and the young chic crowd enlivened the experience. Near the end of the meal, the inevitable smoker lit up. Why can't the French realize that just because the table is outdoors, smoke blowing in ones face is just as bad as if you were indoors?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr4gums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    189
    99
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Paris at its best for lunch”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We recently dined at Glou for lunch on a local recommendation and were so pleased to have finally found some Paris sophistication for less than €50+ a head!

We both had the a very smart chicken dish off the grill which came with some handmade gourmet frites and salad. Washed down with a glass of rose champagne, it made the perfect meal. Unfortunately we were pressed for time or we would have most certainly cracked on with any number of the delicious sounding desserts.

The portions were adequate but not large - if you have time go for the reasonably priced daily three course option (€21). Also, contrary to some of the other reviews here, our service was extremely friendly.

This bistro is well worth a stop, especially if one is going to be taking in the Picasso museum when it again opens.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hugentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific restaurant ”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Saw this restaurant walking by one afternoon where patrons were having while grilled fish. We made a reservation for dinner and so happy we did that. We ordered the whole grilled fish and we were not disappointed. Great wine Food And wonderful service.

Helpful?
Thank funtravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, nice area”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food in this little bistro was very good, we got the cheese plate and tartare which was accompanied by great french fries. Service was great they recommended a nice wine. Overall great value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Efthymia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Parisian Bistrot”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We ate at Glou on our last night in Paris and are so glad we did! Tasty veal, steak and pork delivered with professional, knowledgable service. We made our reservation(essential) over the phone in French, but were warmly served by our English speaking waiter with class,humor and style. Eat here, you'll be glad you did. Follow dinner with a stroll through the Marais. Bien sur!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank normee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glou also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Glou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing