We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small portions, big bill!”
Review of Restaurant Sannine

Restaurant Sannine
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Restaurant Sannine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12,805 of 17,009 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Opera / Bourse
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small portions, big bill!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Lebanese cuisine is known for generous portions. I never left a lebanese restaurant hungry - the Sannine in Paris was a different experience. We had the 1001 nights meal which comes with 10 different appetizers (mezze) and three different meats. I was surprised by the quantity (e.g. one falafel ball per guest) and the selection (e.g. sour cream is not a lebanese mezze at all but other traditional items like labne cheese were missing). The mezze were accompanied by one dry flat pita bread per guest that the waiter served by hand (!) (not the rich and warm pita I am used to from restaurants in Lebanon itself). The meat consisted of one tiny skewers, two small legs of some kind of bird and a dry flatbread with meat stuffing - all in all less than 150 g of meat per person. The bill was $65 for two, which was far too much - even considering the Paris standard. It's a basic restaurant with small tables and paper napkins. The waiter was friendly although he tried to upsell on several occasions (e.g. you only get an amuse bouche if you order apéritiv) and was a little bit too "touristic".

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    16
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Totally Unpleasant”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We decided to try this restaurant on our final night in Paris as we both enjoy middle eastern food. The restaurant looked nice and while we were stood outside, the restaurant owner (I think) started to talk to us. His warm personality persuaded us to go in even though there are a large number of restaurants nearby. Upon entering the establishment, a waiter moved us from one of the free tables for two, to a cramped corner of the restaurant forcing the couple on the adjoining table to stand up to let us through. The restaurant was pretty much empty at this point. The next couple to enter the restaurant, a French couple were allowed to sit at the table we had just been moved from.

The waiter then proceeded to give us the regular menu and kicked up a fuss when I asked for the set menu they advertised by the doorway, initially pretending not to understand what we were asking for even though I speak both English and reasonable French. Sadly the food was as poor as his service, the starter being quite nice (the falafel), the main being pretty terrible, followed by a similarly underwhelming dessert. I would suggest saving a lot of drink if you order the baklava as they do not provide any sauce such as honey or yoghurt. Then when asking for the bill, he got angry when we had to ask him to clarify how much it was because his writing was illegible.

Needless to say we didn’t enjoy the experience and I would definitely not recommend going there to any persons who either do not speak French or speak it with an accent that the waiters may not approve of. The waiter seemed to treat us with resentment as soon as he knew we were tourists, and quite obviously doted on the French people in the room. The experience was summed up by the tray of sweets given to everyone else who asked for the bill except us of course. I would suggest you try one of the other restaurants nearby, several of which do the same cuisine. Totally unsatisfied with our food we ended up buying a crepe from one of the shops nearby which ended up being the best food we ate that evening.

This was our only experience of in hospitability during our holiday which is why I feel compelled to point out that this restaurant is definitely worth avoiding considering you will be paying a lot for hostile service and substandard food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MancWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I went to this restaurant with some friends. The waiter was a nuisance. We had to ask twice for the daily menu offer, he actually wanted us to choose from the very expensive dishes. We should have left this place at that moment, but decided to give the cook a chance. Unfortunately, the food was not convincing at all. Mainly salad, then again salad and a small piece of meat. All in all even the price for the 3-course-menu was too high. There are many other restaurants down the road which are likely to be much better.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edda1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lebanese specialties”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I've been to Beyrouth a few times, and find Lebanese cuisine one of the best in the world. Unfortunately I can't find the same levels of cookery in the Lebanese restaurants in Belgium or France.
We had a Mezze menu, with 6 cold and 4 hot mezze. The usual suspect were there. Houmous, Tabouleh, fresh cheese,... The hot mezze were mostly deep fried. We also got the flat pita bread. Second dish was Couscous with a small lamb kebab and 2 pieces of (dry) chicken. We finished with a coffee although Lebanese sweets are so.... sweet. With a 1/2 ltr sparkling water and a small bottle of wine the bill was 54€. 27€ per person is not huge, but given the quality of the food I found it expensive.
One more remark: Staff was very friendly and spoke several languages.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank repetitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Sannine also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Restaurant Sannine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing