We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, fair prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oniwa

Oniwa
Ranked #5,992 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bucharest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, fair prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had lunch once during our stay in Paris and we still remember the experience. At lunch time, the place is buzzing, but the personnel is really energetic. Besides speaking three languages at once with a nice accent, they keep their smiles and seldom make mistakes.
The food was excellent and the prices very good. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtrekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    32
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate lunch here one week day and were lucky to get a table as the place was heaving. Despite how busy it was the staff were very efficient and friendly and our order was taken very quickly. We both chose one of the set menus which are great value for money and really tasty. We wanted to go back another day but got there too early and were too hungry to wait for Oniwa to open.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRelfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh japanese food and excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

In a city where prices are often staggeringly high and the quality appallingly the opposite, this is quite a refreshing address in one of the most touristic areas (rue Cler) off the Champ de Mars and the Eiffel Tower. With a very efficient and available team and a great chef that has been entertaining the neighbourhood for years now, Oniwa is a small institution in the area. Been my cantine for years when living in Paris, and I never miss a chance to go back there whenever popping in the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GwenFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Food and Friendly Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Six of us went in for Sushi and coming from Hawaii we all had knowledge of good Japanese food. We weren't disappointed. We were seated promptly and our orders taken in a timely manner. We had a variety of plates from Sushi to Tekka Don and every one us us was very happy with the food in it's taste, presentation and price. The staff were very friendly, knew the menu well and professional. I had been here before and the ownership is the same and will return another time. Worth dining if you want good Japanese food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good, fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed nearby and ate here on a Friday evening. We entered about 8pm and there weren't many people eating, but by the time we left around 10pm the place was full. We had a bottle of Muscadet for 12.50€ and a couple of beers, and each of the 2 couples had a boat with a range of sushi and sashimi on it. To start you got a bowl of miso soup, and a cabbage salad, and you got a bowl of plain rice with the meal. We were all suitably full by the end and felt that 38€ for the boat incl the soup etc was very good value. We never had to wait long for anything, and would certainly go back again if in the area.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oniwa also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Oniwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing