We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice evening”
Review of Chez Jaafar

Chez Jaafar
Ranked #686 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stopped by this restaurant on our way back to hotel for a few drinks, exceptional friendly service, chatted with the owner, very nice man, sat outside, lovely balmy evening watching the world go by, unfortunately we didn't eat but menu looked delicious Merci

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    168
    41
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Very good foos and great service...

Very quick, and fresh food! The place is cosy and very home like.

Helpful?
Thank Haifa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable but not exciting restaurant.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to trying this Tunisian restaurant near the Museum of the Middle Ages, since we and often try Moroccan restaurants when we travel and the menu looked similar to other restaurants we'd been to.

The food at Chez Jaafar was OK, but nobody in our party was very impressed by their meal. Couscous and vegetables were OK, but merguez was not very spicy.

We've had nicer evenings at other Moroccan restaurants in Paris. Next time I'll look for something else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinuxOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good I had to go back the next day”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This review is long overdue. I went to Chez Jaafar back in early February of this year. I was in Northern Europe on business, and I decided to head down to Paris for the weekend. I just loved this place. I had the special, which came with soup and tea. The soup was literally the best soup I've ever had. I'm not kidding. No exaggeration. The absolute best I've had in 30 years on this Earth. I had the inexplicable urge to smear it on my body. Anyway, yeah, the food is outstanding. I had something different the next day, because that's just how I am, and it was also excellent.

The family that runs the restaurant is also exceptionally kind, helpful, and friendly. They spoke perfect English, which was a relief because my French is atrociously bad. While I was there, I also heard him speak to some of the other customers in other languages besides French. The decor is cute, and I actually found there to be something very homey about it (although that makes no sense, because it is absolutely nothing like the place I grew up). I suppose I just found it very welcoming.

You should go here. In fact, everyone should. I wish I could be there right now.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
“D.Crossman”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, very tasty with lots of it. Service was good and friendly and were happy to cater for children.The prices were very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Jaafar also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Jaafar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing