We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only very average”
Review of Le Petit Cafe

Le Petit Cafe
Ranked #2,995 of 17,020 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: French, European, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“only very average”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The location, service and prices of this cafe are enough to give it 3 stars but I'm not sure why people are giving it ratings beyond that. The foie gras was good enough but the salmon pasta was like eating canned salmon & the carpaccio (while tender) had really no taste. The wine was reasonably priced and the expresso was decent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz_Stelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    61
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed cafe, perfect for people-watching”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Went here on our trip to Paris after stumbling across it whilst exploring the Latin Quarter. It was the menu that initially drew us in for lunch and we were not disappointed. The prix-fixe menu was tasty and great value and the coffee was superb. My partner had a sandwich with a dressed side-salad which looked amazing too. The staff were really friendly, not pushy at all and the place was relaxed with a mixture of students and locals. It was a great spot to watch passers by and certainly a popular choice for the smokers of Paris!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

It's nice to walk into a casual place not overrun with shopping bags and tourists talking about that day's exploits coupled with over-priced food and so-so service. This place is legit. And prices and food make it a must. Crowd runs the gammet from 20-ish guys hoisting a few pints, to attractive single women checking the days events on their i-pads to older couples in search of as nice dinner.
What makes the difference food wise in my opinion is that each element on your plate is to perfection. I ordered the special of the day which was served with green beans and potatoes. Usually the "with" is just an after thought, but in this case, both side dishes were awesome by themselves...couldn't get enough of the beans.
My wife had the "rhum" steak which I thik was a flank or skirt steak and the pepper sauce put it over the top.
Everything was good. Prices were more than reasonable to the point where you didn't hesitate ordering or not ordering based on price, you just bought what you wanted and enjoyed. Wine was good, as was the cheese place to finish. And when my wife ordered her steak with pepper sauce, she had commented that she didn't really like blue cheese which was the other sauce offered...when it was time for the cheese plate, the waitress remembered and gave us the option of eliminating the blue and just having more of the other ones offered.
Final tally for meals wine and cheese came to less than 50 Euro for two.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We had a meal tonight,had steak with salad and a blue cheese sauce-awesome!!!
Really friendly staff,awesome atmosphere;try it,you wont be let down!

Helpful?
Thank Homerjay75
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for little money”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Have eaten here twice. Both times good food (confit de canard), with a nice red wine (Chinon & Cotes du Rhone). We were drawn in by the packs of students, which most of the times means that prices are low and food is good. That proved to be a good observation. It's also a nice small establishment with a relaxed vibe.

If you pay attention, you see that the square is featured in the intro-sequence of Midnight in Paris. :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Floir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Cafe also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing