We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot for a sunny afternoon.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Fil De L'O

O Fil De L'O
Ranked #12,382 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a sunny afternoon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We discovered this 'kiosque flottant' a few years ago, and try to stop there whenever we are back in Paris. The restaurant is on a boat moored on the left bank of the Seine across from Notre Dame, usually be teen April and September. We have never eaten dinner there -a more formal dining room is on the lower deck, but we have had lunch or just an afternoon glass of wine on the upper deck several times. Even though the weather this trip is a bit cool, we stopped yesterday to take advantage of one of the better days forecasted for this trip. We ordered a carafe of red wine from the Languedoc region (a favorite of ours) and the cheese plate. he plate was actually a slab of slate, with five varieties of chees, some dried fruit, and salad with walnuts. The bread was especially crusty and plentiful. We happily spent about two hours watching the tour boats go by, sipping wine and eating our lunch. what a great way to enjoy an afternoon in Paris!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lachat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
547 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Great experience, affordable prices, romantic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This is a small restaurant set on a moored boat in a quiet part of Quai De La Tournelle. The food was surprisingly very good, some of it deserving to be on the menu of the best of Parisian restaurants. Combined with an amazing setting, full of magnificent views of Ille de la Cite and Notre Dame, the quiet and peaceful (on a weekday night) ambiance and more than affordable prices, it makes us to call it a best hidden Paris secret. It is also quite different (in a good way) from touristy crowded boat dinners one sees everywhere on central Seine. For our appetizers we had: 'Salade o fil de l'o: salade, tomates, pamplemousse, lanières de courgettes, gambas noisettes, toast de truite fumée, vinaigrette wasabi, physalis' (under 14 euros) and 'Cocotte d'écrevisses et pétoncles aux morilles' (the same price), both appetizers being one of the best food choices we had in Paris. Our main courses were 'St Jacques aux poires sur lit d'endives caramélisées', which was definitely a five stars dish and 'Côtes d'agneau sauce anis étoilée et semoule aux figues' (both main courses under 22 euros) which was quite good if somewhat too simple. Our desserts (both under 10 euros) consisted of 'Douceur tout chocolat (craquant 3 chocolats, rose des sables, florentin,glace choco)' and 'Assiette fromagère et sa salade aux mendiants', and again both desserts were perfect. Highly recommended, especially for a romantic night out on the Paris quays.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
159 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Set on a boat moored on the Seine, Notre Dame is the backdrop of this very nice restaurant. In the good weather, dining outside with the sun setting next to Notre Dame, it couldn't be more beautiful. In addition to this magical atmosphere, the restaurant is quite good. Two of us split a salad with mixed greens, smoked salmon on toast, sundried tomatoes, grapefruit chunks, and oranges. Mains were caramelized scallops over a bed of chopped endives on a delicious sauce, and sea bass and large prawns in a nice sauce. Dessert was a chocoholics dream: a 5-course sampler of chocolate macaroon, orange-flavored chocolate sticks, chunky chocolate meringue, 3-layer chocolate mousse torte, and chocolate ice cream. Prices were average; with kir appetizers, 50 cl. of wine, and one after dinner drink, the total was 104 Euros. Service was polite and attentive, and the atmosphere was lively with other diners and boats constantly passing on the Seine.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank casey234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

We went to this restaurant after a suggestion on Trip Advisor, as I wanted something special for my 30th birthday. I can't comment on the food as we only had a coffee, but it was a really special place. The service was friendly and we sat on the deck as it was a warm sunny day. There were two guys playing French songs and you get a fantastic view of Notre Dammes. It felt like a great way to end the holiday and I could have stayed there for hours.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickym63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

I visited the boat on a hot summer day .
Had a cold beer while watching the beautiful view of the Notre Dame.
Been to Paris many many times - this is certainly one of the most beautiful places in the city - recommended.
Will certainly go there again.
Jan

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jans98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Fil De L'O also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to O Fil De L'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing