We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Paris trip for 5 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
Ranked #1,517 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Paris trip for 5 nights”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The Orion Haussmann was at the most IDEAL location. Just opposite the Galaries Lafayette and we could put down our shopping anytime or could go back to take a rest and out again. Printemps was also nearby and lots of eating places behind Galaries..But LOUSY service. I asked for toilet paper and was given one roll at the reception. I told the lady there I needed more as there were 3 of us. She said tomorrow. I told her it was not enough and she said there wasn't anymore. The next day I went to the reception again and asked for more toilet paper and another lady told me there was none and that she will send the paper up. I told her politely that I needed it urgently as I had a terrible tummy ache. Nobody came! Fortunately, I had packet tissues with me. The housekeeper was nice when I asked for 2 rolls and she gave them to me.

The room space was sufficient for 3 people but with the bare necessities..no dressing table, mirror only in the bathroom..no toothbrushes, shaving kits etc..not that we needed them...just a very very small kitchenette which I didn't care to use..no coffee and tea sachets. It was a very dimly lit room unless you opened up all the curtains. One part of it was facing offices so we didn't open the curtains at all...It was not a daily serviced apt, hence the bins were pretty full when we left...esp the small one in the bathroom...

RER station to Disneyland Paris was just downstairs. It was comforting coz we had done lots of shopping at Disneyland and didn't have to walk a long distance back to the apartment with our big shopping bags. The station to take the Roissy bus to the airport was just steps away. Very convenient and very cheap..only 10 Euros per person.

Would I stay there again? Sure..just for the location but I have already managed my expectations...

Room Tip: I stayed at room 201 which was meant for 4 persons had a full balcony going round the whole room..on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabakerfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    28
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
15
23
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

A great advantage of this hotel is its location. One of the main Parisian department stores, the Galleries Lafayette is virtually next door. So if you share my passion for shopping, you would probably appreciate the opportunity of nearly "hands free" shopping, when you could occasionally drop your purchases off at your apartment. You could also enjoy a short break on a busy shopping day and prepare a proper homemade meal in your room. Otherwise, I am afraid, you will hardly appreciate the place, since the location is fussy and noisy and the hotel itself is good but no more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitri_1795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights with family in room 305. Apartment situated in middle of Auber station, very strategically located. Galaries Lafeyette, Printemps, Opera and many places of interest/restaurants are just walking distances away. Auber station conveniently links up with Charles de Gaulle (Airport) and Gare Du Nord (Eurostar) stations as well as many popular locations (including disneyland Paris!). Apartment was good size for a small family (2 adults 2 young kids) with basic cooking and cleaning facilities. There is also a microwave with grill facility. As mentioned in the previous review the coffee machine lead is indeed too short to reach the wall socket. The apartment has got a separate bedroom and bathroom. There is also a sofa bed in the living room. Best of all the room is generally cleaned and rubbish disposed of daily by the housekeeper, at no extra charge. The reception staff is friendly and helpful. We skipped the hotel breakfast as there are plenty of cafe around the area serving good and fresh bread at half the fraction of price anyway. Apartment has got wifi though the signal at times is pretty weak. However would still highly recommend for the reasons above and also bearing in mind not many places in central paris will happily offer a combined accommodation for family. Only downside is if you are arriving on a weekend their lunch break is 2 hours from 12-2pm. Within this time their reception is closed and you cannot even enter the building.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curious0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers, it is difficult to imagine a better location for tourists in Paris.
I stayed in the one-bedroom apartment 305 with my family (I, my wife and two daughters - 1 adult and 1 children) during a week (9th-16th Feb 2012). The windows faced an open internal courtyard and the apartment was impressively quiet, considering the busy trafic in that area. Free wi-fi internet was fine. Bathroom was very good, including a heater that was valuable during that very cold days in Paris.
We didn't try the hotel breakfast (13 Eur), but prepared our own in the room with nearby bought delicious breads, cheeses etc.
Overall stay was very good and I would stay there again, despite some minor objections:
- furniture lacks pieces to support the bagages (we handled them on the floor).
- apartment lacks a safe to hold some valuable items (fly tickets, notebook etc).
- bed and sofabed were comfy, linen and pillowcases were good, but thin flocky pillows were unpleasant.
- the apartment kitchen is not functional: there is no microwave oven and no dish rack, coffee-maker cable is so short that it doesn't reach the electric jack, there are only 2 pans plus 1 frying pan, all of them so big that the stove does not have room to heat 2 of them simultaneously. Carpeted kitchen floor does not contribute to room cleanliness.
- Reception personel is friendly, but it was necessary to ask them about basic questions that the hotel should inform us anyway (where to dispose the garbage etc). I was also suprised that the the hotel desk was closed on that Sunday.
- apartments are not smoke-free. A message in the apartment requests that guests open the windows to smoke. Sometimes there was a very strong smell of cigarette in the corridor and lift hall.
- apartments are not cleaned during a less-than-a-week stay, what we were advised in advance and considered acceptable. But we had some difficulties in getting towels changed without extra charges (4 days after our arrival!).
- we asked the hotel desk personel to arrange a taxi to transport 4 people to Orly airport. The service was quoted 45 Eur, but at the airport the driver demanded 55 Eur, arguing that 45 Eur was the price for up to 3 people. So, either the initial hotel information was incorrect or the driver arranged by the hotel was not reliable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexSiqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed twice in this apartment hotel and love it! Absolutely perfect location for a holiday in Paris! Just right across Galeries Lafayette & Printemps, Roissy bus (from CDG) is just around the corner, RER entrance (Auber - direct line to Disney World!) is right in front of the hotel, and just a short walk to Metro & L'Open Tour bus stop.

We got the one bedroom apartment which is very spacious, has little kitchenette complete with pots & pans plus the utensils, and toasty warm heaters in every room (even in the bathroom! Us from tropical country appreciate this very much!).

Hotel has free wifi. However our 1st room (315) was located at the end of the corridor, and apparently wifi signal doesn't reach this area of the hotel (at least not on my iPad & iPhone). On our 2nd stay, we got room 305 (not far from the lift) and has strong signal.

Stock up on food from Galeries Lafayette Gourmet or Monoprix (5mins from hotel) for your midnight snack or breakfast :) If taxi driver doesn't know where it is, just tell them it's right at Galeries Laffayete Maison (next door!).

Room Tip: Room 315 on 6th floor (1 bedroom apartment) facing Galeries Lafayette but view partially blocked (ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nenekguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Weekend in Paris - 8th - 11th December 2011.

Couple aged 28 and 29, were seeking modern touches, kitchen facilities in room, and great access to the centre of Paris for walking tourism!

We got off to a bumpy start for our weekend, having originally been booked into the Adagio / Citea Paris Tilsitt Champs Elysees... We were transferred by a free taxi to Orion Paris Haussmann due to an electrical problem on a whole floor at the former hotel.

On arrival at Orion Haussmann, we knew this was a more modern styled hotel and seemed to be "right in the centre" of the action!

We were impressed with this hotel as a budget option in Central Paris. The room was on the smaller side, but perfectly proportioned with ample room to move around.

The bed was comfy and a good size, the dressing table, carpets and curtains looked new, unworn and clean. The bathroom was clean and modern, Flat screen TV, great modern compact kitchen; large fridge, sink, electric hob, microwave, all utensils, pans, cupboard bin.

Our window faced the quiet back open courtyard. A nice courtyard it was, but we'd have preferred a room at the front of the hotel overlooking Boulevard Haussmann. (Only because Galleries LaFayette was so beautiful with all of the building lighting, I'm not sure if it was seasonal or permanent?)

The Hotel has a small ground floor lobby with just a lift in it. The hotel starts with Reception on floor 4, and rooms on 5 and 6. For this reason I don't believe that the rooms at the front or the back could be that noisy at night, given they're quite high up. We had a really quiet couple of nights sleep.

Reception are friendly and helpful, as are Housekeeping.
The location really is perfect for tourists. The Opera building is one of the most beautiful in Paris and it's directly facing you as you walk out of the lobby.

Galleries LaFayette and Primtemps are huge department stores on Boulevard Haussmann - Opposite the hotel. It's a fab spot for shopping. We noticed from the ground that there were people on the roof of Galleries Lafayette, so we went to have a look inside to see if we could get onto the roof... What a beautiful building, with a gorgeous dome. The viewing roof is free to access, on I think the 6th floor. Great views of Paris at sunset!

We did an open top bus tour with Paris L'open tour - Well worth the money! Start early if you want to change to different coloured bus routes, as the buses stop around 6.30 I think. We took the grand tour (green route) which was two hours. The tourist office to buy tickets is a 2 mins walk from the hotel on Rue Auber (as is the local tram stop)

We did the bus tour on a cold day (5-6C) and it'd been raining in the morning. Most people sat downstairs, what a waste of a view! Take tissue, or use leaftlets to wipe the wet seats, wrap up warm and enjoy the commentary and views!

There is a mix of expensive / reasonable cafe bars and restaurants nearby the hotel - the ones facing the Opera on all sides seem quiet pricey, but there were lots of restaurants on Rue de Caumartin, which crosses over Boulevard Haussmann nearby the hotel.

The airport shuttle bus is no more than 10 steps walk from the hotel door, and it leaves every 10 mins and is priced between 10E - 15 E (can't recall, but it's very reasonable considering a taxi is circa 45E - 50E)

The only slight negative I can think of is that we each had only one pillow, and when I went to reception to enquire about two more, they could only come up with one and seemed bewildered by my request and wanted to know if I hadn't been given "one" already. I wasn't charged for the one extra pillow, and sharing was fine. No big deal.

Great hotel, surprised with the great location, really reasonably priced. We were pleased we had to move hotels!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmagooseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The location of this hotel is just in the center of everything. 10 steps out the door you are in galleries lafayette and down the road is also printemps for your shopping needs :) 15 steps from the door is the bus for the airport and rer entrance (auber). Infront of the door is uniqlo for your clothing needs. At the back of the road from the hotel is the l'open tour bus office. This hotel ir right in the heart of Paris. We got the one bedroom apartment bec there were 3 of us. I was so surprise bec it exceeded my expectations. The rooms are big and can fit 4 pax, its clean and have a little kitchenette. Service was quite fast but we only needed the basic things like extra pillow or tissue paper. If i go back to Paris, i would definetly come back to this hotel and would really recommend it to everybody. We paid around 236 eu for two nights, and in this area(opera), you cant get this price. So this hotel is really a blessing for us.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lafayette view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irongirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera d'Antin
Hotel Opera d'Antin
#547 of 1,801 in Paris
443 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Antin Trinite
Hotel Antin Trinite
#991 of 1,801 in Paris
489 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Excelsior Opera
Hotel Excelsior Opera
#569 of 1,801 in Paris
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,355 of 1,801 in Paris
200 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George Sand
Hotel George Sand
#744 of 1,801 in Paris
143 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Orion Paris Haussmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Orion Paris Haussmann

Property: Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
Address: 2 rue des Mathurins, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,517 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residence Orion Paris Haussmann 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence 3 stars is located in the heart of Paris and overlooking the Opéra Garnier. The residence is just above the galleries Lafayette Maison. It offers an excellent quality service with its charming courtyard, breakfast room and meeting room. The hotel´s location is one of the most famous in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Orion Paris Haussmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing