We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Orion Paris Haussmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
Ranked #1,503 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

excellent location near all the major department stores. The hotel is just above the galeries lafayette maison in a little street called rue des mathurins. easy 7-8 min walk to rue cambon, rue st honore fabourg for the higher end shopping. also similar time walking to the louvre, tuilleries gardens. rooms are well sized and there was a mini kitchenette. note however that there was a gentle reminder to clear everything from the kitchen or be charged. rooms were air conditioned which was great since this is the summer and there was daily housekeeping service. the only complain is that there was no shower curtain or glass doors so the floors got really wet each time the shower was used. there is an RER just across the street on rue mathurin and we took the RER to Paris Disney. overall fantastic stay and easy to find restuarnats and supermarket nearby. note that the reception is on the 4th floor and you need a code to enter the building.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    27
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
14
22
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Love this hotel in Paris! Reasonable priced, cheaper if book early. Just across the street are Opera Garnier, Galleries La Fayette and Roissybus Airport bus stop. 3 min walk to Musee de Parfum. Room is comfy, good size, with modern bathroom although water pressure is a little low on the 6th floor where our room was. Did not have breakfast at the hotel, but went to Brioch Doree (5 min walk) to have breakfast every morning - love the Tarlette de la pomme!! Room came with a kitchenette complete with utensils and pots and pans but we did not use it. We arrived from an international flight at 7am, and hotel was opened and allowed us to store our luggage prior to check in at 2 pm. Walkable to most attractions. A few metro stations are also closeby.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

The hotel is in the same building of the Galeries Lafayette Hausman Home, but the reception is on the 4th floor. Rooms i think are 5th fl and above. Very easy to find. The airport shuttle bus stop Opera line is just outside the hotel. metro station is close by. Monoprix supermarket is just around the corner. The metro station is Havre Caumartin or Lafayette.

The rooms are great, nicely design, modern and spacious. The bathroom is also clean and spacious.I would say the cleaning staff did a good job in cleaning the room for the daily service, but for the furniture maintenance, i wouldnt say the same. The carpets feels like it hasnt been vacumed / washed in a loongg time even if you can see that it is not an old carpet, just that it hasnt been washed so it really felt dirty on your feet. Make sure you bring bedroom sandals and you'll be fine. The curtains are dirty and dusty and would be very bad if you have allergies.

The bed are not the softest and they only give you 2 pillows, but the hotel is quiet and has a superb location. Just outside the main door you are literally in the Opera, shopping mals, metro and airport shuttle bus stop.

I paid 139 Eur per night and for this price you usually get a much smaller room in a so and so location with old furniture. Here you get a spacious room, spacious bathroom, flat LCD (small tv), modern furniture, and mini kitchen with microwave and electric stove so i would say its a good value and would stay there again. And you get free wifi for the total of your stay. I would suggest the hotel management do a wash on the capet and curtains, its a pitty such a good room is not maintained. All in all i still consider it a good value for money and would reccomend to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoegalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel was the only bad thing about our entre three week trip to Europe. We booked 7 people for two rooms. When we arrived they put 3 people in a room with only one bed. when the clerk checked the paperwork, it confirmed our request for 2 rooms with 1 beds each. We had already paid for the rooms and they would not fix the situation. The clerk called the manager at home and I spoke with her. She did not care and would not solve the problem. The clerk told us that we ha to talk to her the next morning. I went to talk to her in the morning & the on-duty clerk said she was not working that day. It was a nice hotel, but they were an incredible rip off. I would never stay there again. The dishonesty of the staff & especially the manager was too much....

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 120cord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

The Orion Haussmann was a fantastic bargain compared to so many other Paris hotels that we considered. The room was spacious (360 square feet ), modern , clean ,and comfortable . There is a small fully equipped kitchenette with a small stove ,microwave/grill . We ate breakfast most days in our room as the Monoprix Supermarche is only a 5 minute walk away on Rue Caumartin.
The location is above the Gallery Laffayette Home Store and the Roissey Airport bus stop is only 40 M south from the front door! the front desk staff were friendly and helpful ; they even pre-booked my Eiffel Tower tickets online for me as Internet cafes are rare in Paris. The immediate area is very quiet at night as it's a major retail district, but many restaurants are a short stroll away. We stayed 5 nights and it was nice to come "home " to a nice spacious mini apartment instead of the typical cramped Paris hotel. We would highly recommend Orion, especially for us North Americans who are used to larger spaces!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. Not typically for city hotels, the room was very spacious, bathroom as well. Room was clean and tidy. Also the location was amazing, directly in (!!) Galerier Lafayette Haussmann, there is no more central place in Paris. Also the Airport stop is just 1 minute walk from the hotel, 4 Metro stations in 5 minutes walk distance.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stadtreisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

I originally chose this hotel for the location and price. It is located behind the Opera Garneir and the Opera metro station is in front of the Opera Garnier. The metro is just a short walk down the street. The price was very reasonable for being so close to attractions: only 750 Euros for 5 nights for a triple room.

The hotel review online said it was newly remodelled. I have encountered the "remodeled" bywords before, but when we got there, I was not expecting new carpet, new paint, new bathrooms, new furniture, new kitchettes! BEAUTIFUL!
We booked a triple room (3 people) which turned out to be a type of suite that had 1 bedroom with a queen sized bed and 1 pull out sofa bed that was also queen sized in the living room.

This hotel is not a super luxurious hotel, but it has everything you need to have a wonderful stay in Paris! The beds were comfortable, rooms were spacious - and that is unusual for a European hotel. Even with the sofa bed pulled out, there was room to move around.

The room even had a small kitchenette with granite countertop, stainless steel sink, 2 burner cooktop, small refrigerator, microwave, pots, pans, and utensils. We bought food (eggs, sandwich meat, bread, cokes, water) from a supermarket and stored it in the refrigerator. We cooked breakfast every morning. Eating out is quite expensive.

We were given a choice of a deep bathtub/shower combo or strictly a shower bathroom. The bathroom in both rooms we saw were pristine! Everything is in white and every little hair shows, but they were immaculate!

We had room service every day at no extra charge. The staff was very friendly and helpful, providing maps of the city metro system, etc.

The only drawback is the hotel did have airconditioning, but it was not working at the time we were there. However, there were 2 windows, so we opened them at night and the breeze cooled the room well. The outside temperatures were around 75 degrees F for the high during the day when we were there.
After 8-9 pm at night, there isn't much noise outside. It isn't like in the Montemarte area where they party until the wee hours of the morning. So, falling asleep was easy - even with the window open.

Overall, this is the most pleasant stay I have ever had in an overseas hotel and I have stayed in a LOT of hotels. I will definltely stay here again the next time I come to Paris!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera d'Antin
Hotel Opera d'Antin
#630 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Excelsior Opera
Hotel Excelsior Opera
#518 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Adagio Paris Opera
Adagio Paris Opera
#752 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,381 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Antin Trinite
Hotel Antin Trinite
#901 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Orion Paris Haussmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Orion Paris Haussmann

Property: Residence Orion Paris Haussmann
Address: 2 rue des Mathurins, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,503 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residence Orion Paris Haussmann 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence 3 stars is located in the heart of Paris and overlooking the Opéra Garnier. The residence is just above the galleries Lafayette Maison. It offers an excellent quality service with its charming courtyard, breakfast room and meeting room. The hotel´s location is one of the most famous in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Orion Paris Haussmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Orion Paris Haussmann Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing