We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and well priced”
Review of Residence Pelican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Pelican
Ranked #39 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I had read some if the mixed reviews and the prices and having done extensive research on hotel and apartment accomodation found this reasonable priced when compared to the 4 & 5 star. For a family of four accomodation for two bedrooms in my opinion one of the best locations is difficult to find unless you want to pay a small fortune. We stayed in the penthouse and found it spacious and well equipped aside for the hike up to the top each day which all helped to work off the pastries and food for the vast array of patisseries and brassieres surrounding the apartment. There is a Franprix marche just around the corner which stocks everything you would need, a pharmacy and one of the best little pastry shops you could find. These were all very reasonably priced. The rue St Honor houses some of the top designers anwas pleasant stroll. The louvre is almost across the road so convenient if you want to get in early or late to avoid the crowds as we did. Walkable distance to Notre Dame, or the tullieries, opera, vendome etc. the staff were very helpful and waiting for us on a late arriving flight. Helped with our suitcases even arranging taxis for a planned night out when the weather turned sour. the only points to mention is the apartment is a little worn but this is to be expected when used so often this is expected. The second bathroom is a shower only but both bathrooms provided hot water and there were absolutely no problems. The bedding did sag a little but was comfortable. The hallway and for some reason the toilette did smell of cigarette smoke. We found the apartment clean and every two days someone came and tidied up. For the price and location would stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Residence Pelican
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

It's a good place to stay in the heart of Paris, with Louvre pyramid just around the corner. The Metro station is just fifty meters from the hotel, but given that we were right near Louvre, we could easily walk there, and also along the Rue de Rivoli in both directions.

So, the hotel's location is quite convenient. The price is also good, especially given the location, and the very fact that this is an apartment with a fully equipped kitchen saved us a lot of money! Kitchen has everything, so we able to cook anything, and the Franprix grocery store is just around the corner, a few meters away.

Now about the weak points: we were 2 + 2 kids, so there was very little space to eat in the room. Most of it was occupied by the 2 bedrooms, hence there was no room for a normal table where all 4 of us could sit together. There was a little table (more like a bar counter) where we were eating in 2 rounds. The bathroom was quite fine. We stayed in the cosy room, at the 4th floor (yes, the stairs are, uhmmm, pretty narrow, but that's ok).

Knowing the hotels in Paris (I am not talking about the luxurious and costly hotels here), this one was okay and in fact we'll definitely come back here next time we come to Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

great location. and it seemd (price-wise) a good deal and nice pictures.... But it turned out to be a BIG disappointment. It was not that clean.... but ok, so be it... Hiowever, the beds were ABSOLUTELY awful....!!!! The main (double) bed was completely bent through (maybe an elephant had slept in it... or walked over it). Also, one person did not have a bed but had to sleep on a inflatable bed.... nice for a camping but just not something you expect....
After a lot of complaining (they just denied...) and sleeping on the floor for two nights.... In the end they consented to give a 30% discount. However, when arriving back home, the FULL amount had been charged to the credit card .... Again complaining (by phone/mail) and although they several times promised to refund (by telephone), no refund ever arrived... So in the end i had to go through the creditcard company to get the discount back.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nicafamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I see a lot of the recent reviews, and recognised some of the stories about the “quirks” we had also experienced. I have travelled to Paris before, and know the challenge of finding decent accommodation for a reasonable price. Residence Pelican was OK, but I would look elsewhere if I was returning to Paris. Having said that the family and I were not upset at all by the experience, and had a good stay.

Is the location good?
Yes, it was great. The family and I (wife, kids 12 and 9) did not experience any issues with the location – in fact it was really convenient. There was a good patisserie around the corner, good restaurants in the block, franprix supermarket a block away, and close to the Louvre.

What is the apartment like?
We had the penthouse, and it was quirky. It had lots of space. I reckon that “Fred” and associates don’t really invest in maintenance – the upstairs door onto the patio would not close, and I could see why, but this required some maintenance work. It was up 102 stairs, but we were assisted on arrival and departure to get our bags up and down.
Like others, we had similar issues with lack of towels, little toilet paper, no toiletries etc. We visited the local supermarket to acquire items, and did get more towels from Fred. I note the comments on the washing machine / dryer by others – we did not attempt to use ours.

But are the beds comfortable?
Fine. The second bedroom only had a double bed, which the kids had to share and the room was small, but that was fine.

Were the appliances ok?
Fine. The kitchen was well equipped and worked.

Was there wifi?
Yes.

Was it quiet?
No. Like lots of Paris, the street is noisy, so bring ear plugs!

Anything special?
Fred booked us a taxi when we left, which all worked exactly as requested.

Room Tip: We had the penthouse - get as high as you can.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DadTravelOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

In my opinion this place charges 4-5 star rates but delivers 2.5 star service. The on-line video and previous good reviews must be fake!!

This place ruined my trip of a lifetime to Paris...I cried myself to sleep on more than one occasion! It was soo bad!! We stayed in both the Romantic and the Cosy suites. If i hadn't pre-paid I would have found somewhere else after only one night.

If you are considering staying at Pelican Residencs read the following first.

1. Television - the lure of a flat screen tv both in the pictures and the specs is 'sad'. The television worked only 30 % of the time. (pretty significant if you stay more than a week) When we reported it, there were promises of getting a technician in to fix it but it never happened. When it did work it was a bit 'suss'. It would work for about an hour and then freeze. You could sometimes switch off and turn it back on...but most times it remained stuck.

2. Shower - you would assume that in most apartments you could have a leisurely shower with a medium pressure. Not here as we found out when we flooded the entire bathroom floor as the gradient of run off to the drain was almost flat.

3. Safe - this was close to useless. It wasn't bolted down. It was fully removable and was positioned to help prop up the kitchen table leg which was too short to reach the floor.

4. Tea Towel - when you rent a self catering apartment you would expect a tea towel so you could dry the dishes. Not so.

5. Hair drying and shaving in the bathroom - most people like to style their hair or shave in front of the mirror in the bathroom. Not here! = the power point didn't work.

6. Microwave - there is a micowave but the only dish youcan use in it is a small glass bowl.

7.Clothes drying - there is a washing machine but no place to hang out a load of washing.No clothes airer. the only option is to hang everything on coat hangers near the window

8. Non - smokers - the whole room stunk of stale smoke. The curtains were yellow at the bottom from smoke and even when you opened the windows right up it was hard to avoid getting a headache.

9. stairs - there are 20 stairs between each floor. They are spiral winding all the way up and very uneven surfaces...a combination of stone and wood. i wouldn't suggest negotiating without the light on. The pictures of the staircase are deceiving.

10. Bed - the mattress in the Romantic suite is worn out. It dips about 4 inches in the middle to create a V shape. It felt like sleeping on the side of a gully. The springs stuck out so much that on two occasions I woke with the spring imprint in my arm.

11. no Service - you have to ask for every thing. When the shower flooded and we used the towels and a bucket to mop it all up...housekeeping took the towels but didn't replace them. When the toilet paper ran out..and housekeeping had been that day..we had to ask for more.

12. Cleanliness - if you want to walk around barefoot...think again. the floor was so filthy I ended up with black feet from wandering around the unit.

13. Don't try to change the credit card you want to pay on. When i booked I gave one card number but when we arrived I mentioned I wanted to pay on another one. The Manager said he'd check. Next I saw there was a debit against my first card.

14. Quiet - if you want to sleep well and relax...think again this is a really noisy location especially at 3am and without air conditioning you have to leave the windows open at night.

15. Broken promises - when we swapped rooms...they shifted our luggage but threw out our fridge contents. When we mentioned this we were promised some milk but it never arrived.

On day of our departure the Manager offered help with our suitcases and that he would book a taxi. When the time came...there was no help and no taxi. A very awful broken promise for people in their 50's at 6am!!

in summary this place is like asking 4 star prices for a 2 star facility and accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't be lured by this location. This area is now full of gypsies pickpockets and con men ...we...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacjblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We travelled to Paris and stayed at the Residence Pelican in the Penthouse Suite for 12 nights - September 2011. I was travelling with my parents (in their 70s and my girlfriend).
I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying in the Penthouse. As there are no elevators getting to the Penthouse was a bit of a hike - up 5 flights. At first my parents were a bit winded but after the second day they were climbing the stairs with no problem. They are very well lit and have good railings ... they just took it slow!!!
I was very surprised to see some of the negative comments about the Pelican. All I can say is that if you want 5 star perfection then I suggest going to a 5 star hotel and paying the price! The Pelican feels like you are visiting a friend's place. Lovely hardwood floors were very clean.
The location is fabulous - a five minute walk to the Louvre, Jardin du Tuileries and the Rue de Rivoli. About a 25 minute walk up the Champs-Elysees to arrive at the Arc de Triumph. The metro is only a couple blocks away and it's very easy to use. There is a grocery store around the corner, two fabulous bakeries and a lovely wine store at the end of the street. You really feel like you are living in Paris and not just a tourist. We visited Paris 4 years ago and stayed in the same district, paid a fortune for the hotel, and didn't have the same cozy experience as we did at the Pelican.
Fred was there to meet us as promised. His English is very good. We arrived in Paris very early in the morning and he was there to meet us at 10:00 am to gather up all our bags and keep them for us. The room was ready early (at 2:00 pm). Fred had taken all our suitcases up to the Penthouse and deposited them for us. As he lives on the first floor he was there at all times answering all our questions and making any sort of arrangements with a smile on his face. What would we have done without him? He was our "go-to" guy.
There was a problem with the washing machine so Fred had the maid collect all our laundry and have it washed and back to us in hours. We had a problem with a slow running bathroom sink and by the time we got back from our day it was fixed. The kitchen was lovely -stocked with coffee, filters and lots of soap. I had taken a roll of toilet paper in my suitcase in case there wasn’t toilet paper there when we arrived but there happened to be a good supply. The bathrooms consisted of one room for the toilet, one room held the shower (which by the way was fabulous with tons of hot water) and then the main bathroom with the sink and bathtub with shower. All the applicances worked perfectly except for the washing machine. What was really special was the fact that we could have our meals out on the deck! Even though there were quite a few restaurants on the street level we found at night we didn't hear a thing.
The Wi-Fi worked perfectly and the telephone was free to call North America. There was 2 big flat screen TVs and a DVD player (who has time to watch TV in Paris?). There was even a couple of electrical adaptor plugs in the drawers in case you had forgotten to bring them from home. The Penthouse was a good size with the four of us having lots of privacy.
The Pelican is located down a very small street - almost like an alley. Don't get put off when the taxi driver lets you off and you wonder where you are! There is a small hotel right across the alley that really looks like it's a 2 star hotel but the young proprietor was around a lot and we found that his English was very good and he was very helpful with directions and helped us make a few phone calls our first day!
Upon our departure Fred was there again taking care of us – the night before he ordered us two cabs to arrive the next morning and was there first thing at our door to take all our luggage back downstairs to the waiting cab!! Voila.
Looking forward to our next trip to Paris next summer -- we will definitely be staying at the Residence Pelican. Hope Fred is still there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDWPURPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We liked our stay very much. Everything was very comfortable, the staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English well. The apartement was cosy and well-equipped. Wi-fi, some books&travel guides, good TV-set made our stay even more satisfying. But there were 2 problems: the sofas were not comfortable and the shower did not work, but we solved the last one. The location is excellent - city centre, calm at night. The foodstore was handy, as well as shops, cafes and museums. <3

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
Hotel Louvre Bons Enfants
#863 of 1,803 in Paris
638 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Timhotel Le Louvre
Timhotel Le Louvre
#1,103 of 1,803 in Paris
815 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Best Western Premier Louvre Saint Honore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Montpensier
Montpensier
#892 of 1,803 in Paris
781 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon Rouge by Elegancia
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
#329 of 1,803 in Paris
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Pelican

Address: 7 rue du Pelican, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £163 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Pelican 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Pelican Paris 1er Appartements is an exclusive Paris apartment complex, literally a few steps from Paris’ Louvre museum, in the heart of the French capital. Paris’ main tourist attractions including the Jardins des Tuilleries, Place de la Concorde, Palais Royal and Champs Elysées are all within easy reach. The ideal central Paris location, with everything you need nearby, including Paris brasseries, cafes, theatres, cinemas and bakeries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Pelican Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing