We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb tour of the Louvre with kids”

Context Paris Tours
Ranked #42 of 524 Tours in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Context Paris organizes scholar-led "walking seminars" of Paris and excursions beyond. Walks are limited to six participants and held as an in-depth exploration of a given topic: French art, Gothic architecture, cuisine, the French Revolution, etc. The docents who lead the walks are drawn from local universities or are practicing architects, chefs, and other specialists.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb tour of the Louvre with kids”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our tour guide through Context Travel was a highlight of our trip to Paris. We have an 11 year old and an 8 year old and when asked what their favorite part of the trip was, invariably they speak about our guide at the Louvre. He made it come alive for them and was very sensitive to tailoring it to our needs. We cannot recommend Context more highly. Truly worth every penny and then some!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    17
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
341 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Louvre Crash Course: Just what we wanted; Excellent guide”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having used Context previously (in Italy) we had high expectations and they were met. The guide of our private tour, Laure-Caroline Semmer, provided a good combination of academic art history with bits of humorous commentary. She was well prepared to lead us through the museum for the short 3 hours we had and adjusted on-the-go as we were strolling through the museum. I would definitely appreciate another tour with Ms. Semmer on our next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Baguette to Bistro - Good introduction to French culture”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked the Baguette to Bistro tour for our first night in Paris. My husband and I loved learning about the French culture and touring the lovely East Bank. Although we learned a lot it was not the most organized tour. Almost every store owner was too busy to talk to us and instead of the guide covering the material we waited in the stores for the merchant to be available. The parks and planned eating areas were closed for almost every stop. My husband and I enjoyed it but our children (9 & 14 yr old boys) did not. The pate, strong cheeses and alcohol are not for every palette. I felt like we were also slightly pressured to purchase items in the stores or consume items we did not desire to eat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobart2418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Context Paris Tours, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed learning about French culture and the Left Bank; however, we'd like to also address your concerns. As the shops can get busy, it can sometimes be hard to have a one-on-one interaction with all purveyors, yet docents aim to include this and if they are busy, the docents provide additional information. We are happy to know you did have the more in-depth interaction at the charcuterie shop. We will check in with the docents to make sure that this and the issue about the places we stop to enjoy the tasting is not becoming a repeating problem, and if so, we will adjust the walk accordingly.

Because we include tastings in the walk costs, there is no need to purchase items at the shops. We will make sure that the docent conveys this at the beginning of walks. Context is committed to quality, and we strive to offer clients an exceptional experience on all of our walks. Please do reach out to us by email if you would like to further discuss your concerns or provide additional comments through the survey from us which was sent by email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Baguette to Bistro tour”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I recently took the "Baguette to Bistro" tour and found it to be an excellent introduction to various specialty food shops in Paris. It focused specifically on several shops in the Saint Germain des Pres neighborhood - a chocolatier, patisserie, boulangerie and a cheese shop, among others. While it clearly provided some free advertising to these businesses, the food was front and center, and we weren't pressured to buy more than what was included on the tour.

I particularly liked the stops on the tour where we met with the shop owners and they discussed their businesses and culinary traditions. The shops where we didn't have that experience were fine too, if slightly less personalized. Our guide, Preston, was knowledgeable, friendly and patient and was able to compare these shops with others in the city for larger perspective. While I could quibble that the cost of the tour was a bit steep, you do see (and taste!) quite a lot over the course of 2.5 hours.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The Best”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I did two context tours while in Paris. One was a food market tour and one was a Louvre tour. One of them was public and the other was private. Both of them were amazing. A chef gave us a tour of the markets in Paris where we sampled delicious treats of all kinds. I am not huge on art but our guide to the Louvre made everything interesting and then directed us to the best meal we had in Paris after the tour. Simply the best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Context Paris Tours also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Context Paris Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing