We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“38, NOT 58--There's a difference, folks!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 38 Eiffel

38 Eiffel
Ranked #9,705 of 16,839 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“38, NOT 58--There's a difference, folks!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Something is fishy in Paris, as well as Denmark. So many reviewers of 38 restaurant are writing their reviews of 58 Eiffel, not 38 (Le Trentehuit), which is located at 38 Avenue de Suffren. Perhaps Trip Advisor should get the name of the restaurant correct, as well...no wonder people are confused.
This review is about 38 restaurant, which is located on Avenue de Suffren, NOT the Eiffel Tower.
This cozy restaurant, located about a half-mile from the Eiffel Tower, does a brisk business with both tourists and locals. The décor is attractive; the service is friendly; and the food is good. My
wife and I both had the salmon with rice, and agreed that the inside of the salmon was a bit undercooked, but not enough so to spoil the dish. The sauce was exceptional and went well with both the salmon and the rice.
The cost of the meal was 35 euros, including beverages; good value we thought.
A word of caution: getting to the toilette(there's only one) is a bit tricky--a very narrow (one-way only) spiral staircase leading to the downstairs toilette. Is it worth the trouble? That all depends on your immediate physiological needs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CodgersontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    10
    10
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was recommended by the hotel. However, I think we must have come on a bad day. The food was mediocre and my husband was very disappointed. Not a patch on some of the very good food we have eaten in Paris on other trips in the last year or two.
My husband had a pudding which consisted of a number of sample sizes, but they all tasted a bit stale.
The scallops came only with plain boiled rice, and a thin sauce which was rather tasteless. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holidaylover098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“58 Eiffel!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Pretty sure this must be the same restaurant but it was the 58 Eiffel...Excellent value for money, 77 euros for myself and two sons (one also adult price) for a three course (lovely) lunch and entrance to the tower including second floor - stairs only, a hard climb but worth it. Pre booking meant that we skipped the very very long queues too. The food, staff and views were outstanding.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank debs1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My wife and her twin sister booked this on the spur of the moment to celebrate their birthday. Since it is located on the 'first floor' of the Eiffel Tower, we had expected the location to be more spectacular than the dining. How wrong could we have been!
The menu is limited in length, but there was more than sufficient choice for us all. What's more, the food was perfectly presented, beautifully balanced and tasted exquisite. Nor was there too much of any one course to spoil our enjoyment of the one that followed.
We opted for the wine-inclusive menu - white and red wines from Bordeaux - and were certainly not disappointed. While not grand crus, they were perfectly distinguished for the occasion and the price.
As for the service, we could not have been better looked after: they even sang Happy Birthday in English.
Lesson from the occasion: don't expect too little.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disorganised”
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Considering the amount of money that we intended to spend - the restaurant was a complete kerfuffle - staff with no service plan - food poor - even considering a set menu - I would not recommend this restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newportbeachhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 38 Eiffel also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to 38 Eiffel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing