We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding tour of Paris and Versailles”

Best of France Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$148.05*
and up
Champagne Region Private Day Trip from Paris
Ranked #47 of 525 Tours in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer since 2007 private premium guided tours to the following destinations: Paris museums, Paris walking tours, Versailles & Giverny, Champagne tasting tours in Reims/Epernay, D-Day Normandy private tours, Louvre, Orsay museum tours, Loire castles tours, World War One Tours, Fontainebleau & Vaux le Vicomte tours, Auvers/Van Gogh tours.
Longwood
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour of Paris and Versailles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We wanted to make the most of our short stay in Paris. Frederick was an outstanding tour guide. He made our day wonderful. From the Mercedes van, his personality, excellent English, sense of humor, highly knowledgeable, desire to please, I would strongly recommend him.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank rwrauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tour of Versailles and Paris Highlights with Best of a France Tours ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile


July 17, 2014

After taking the high speed Thalys train from Amsterdam to Paris with a day stop in Brussels, we met our guide from Best of France the following day. We were in for a full 8 hour day of touring the historic sites of Paris followed by a private tour of the Palace of Versailles.

Frederic arrived at our hotel in District 1 promptly at 8:00 a.m. in an air conditioned Mercedes van comfortably big enough for our party of five. Explaining a slight change of plans, Frederic took us to the Palace at Versailles first, emphasizing the need to avoid the huge July crowds. He explained that Europeans vacation in July and August, so getting to the Palace early is recommended.

We spent approximately 40 minutes navigating the early morning traffic before we arrived in Versailles. Parking was plentiful and Frederic wasted no time moving us in the direction of the gold gilded palace. He allowed us to take several pictures and then whisked us to the head of a rapidly growing line of tourists. Within minutes we were inside and Frederic began to tell us about the history of the palace and it's inhabitants over the centuries. He was incredibly informative, answering our questions as we went. Over the next several hours the depth of his knowledge proved exceptional.

We left the palace after 3 1/2 hours and Frederic took us for lunch. We parked on a quiet tree lined street and walked to a beautiful French bakery that provided a sumptuous lunch of sandwiches and salads. The small sidewalk tables under the shade trees provided a perfect oasis from the July Paris heat.

After lunch Frederic took us to all the historic sites around the city, stopping in each location for photos. At each stop he gave a lengthy historical account and answered our questions. Both his knowledge and presentation were exceptional. And, he was a delight to be with.

Best of France Tours is the best for all the right reasons.

Helpful?
6 Thank kbloom4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Normandy, D-day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The entire day was excellent. From pickup to drop off, the Normandy tour was truly the highlight of our France visit. Phillipe is very knowledgable, kind and punctual. Our entire family enjoyed the day (girls ages 9, 14 and 17). Upon request, we also attended the German cemetery and it was incredible to compare with the American cemetery. Phillipe's knowledge of the area and the events of June 6, 1944 made it a powerful day. We will return to France and will be booking our next journey with Best of France. It is a first class tour--worth the money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour Guides! Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We contracted with Best of France Tours for three days while visiting Paris. There were 17 of us, so we decided that a private tour would be the best way to go. This company is an all-around class act. We toured Notre Dame, Versailles, two champagne houses, and drove to numerous attractions throughout Paris. Our guides were professional, attentive, and knowledgeable the entire time. The tour vehicles were Mercedes 19 passenger vans (including a seat for the driver and tour guide) and they were spotless and beautiful. I highly recommend Best of France Tours. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CWHS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Normandy D-Day beaches and Giverny Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Both tours were wonderful! We took the Normandy D-Day tour with Phillipe who was very knowledgeable and kind. The Giverny tour was with Michael who also offered background and history that enhanced our trip. Both Phillipe and Michael were very professional, arrived on time, and offered us a memorable experience in both locations. We thank both of you!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineMFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Best of France Tours also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Best of France Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing