We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in Paris”
Review of Special Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Special Apartments
Ranked #34 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great option in Paris”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed in the studio #21. This unit has some strong positives, main ones are great location, and being so quiet in the middle of lively Paris. The unit also looks recently renovated, and there are a lot of thoughtful touches showing care and quality, like the well-equipped kitchen, thick towels, nice lighting, very good bed, etc. It just looks pretty and atmospheric, and is a whole lot better than a hotel room, at about the same price. Thank you, Special Apartments, for creating such a beautiful lodging option in Paris!

There are also some cons or at least some things to be aware of. For example, the unit is dark even in bright sunshine because it is tucked away towards a courtyard (but that is why it is quiet). Bathroom sink is really small and because of a small vanity installed right above it, it is hard to wash your face or shave. Also, unit is on the third floor, and the stairs are steep and narrow, be careful, especially with heavy luggage. If you are tall, watch your head, especially on the last landing, easy to bump your head, and I did. The part of the unit with the bed is slightly raised, so may want to be careful not to stub your toes. Some of this is just unavoidable, given what the historical buildings are, and that is really part of the charm.

So, guess it is a great place for the right people, and others might want to consider whether this is the best option for them. Also, it would be probably better to install a keypad lock on the door, I was always concerned that I would lock myself out, carelessly walking out without the keys, and the door automatically shutting behind.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    52
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
71
97
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in Apartment 32 in Saint Louis for 4 nights in October-November 2013 on our honeymoon. All communication with the company before our trip was easy and they were quick to respond to any questions we had. Checking in was easy (they left a key at the residence for us). The room was in a beautiful apartment building that looked onto a school next door and I had read some reviews it was nouisy but honestly it wasn't a problem. The shower flooded a little when we were (my fault, I was pointing the shower head in the wrong direction) so some water leaked into the hallway into the carpet. However, we dried it with a hairdyer and let them know via email and they were lovely about it. Perfect neighbourhood for our first trip to Paris and perfect apartment for a real Parisian experience!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our fourth Paris "romantic getaway" trip in 11 years. We've stayed with Paris Apartments the last two times, and most certainly will again! Don't be afraid if you don't speak French; we don't, and our last two trips without a hotel concierge to lean on worked out just fine.

This trip, we scored apartment #26 on the Ile Saint-Louis. We loved top-floor living, with wonderful rooftops views all over the place: Pantheon, Notre Dame, and Eiffel Tower! The main room had two double French doors looking east towards the inside of our city block. (We got a 3-minute bell peal most mornings at 9 AM from the local church as our alarm clock.) The opposite street-side window was sound-proof, so despite the center-Paris location, we light sleepers had no problem--we routinely travel with silicon earplugs. A good-quality fan provided a bit of white noise, and the firm queen mattress was super-comfy. The inner-courtyard windows all had awnings, which meant open windows and lovely April breezes through most of our stay.

The bathroom and small kitchen were clean and well-appointed. Towels were oversized and lush. (Do bring washcloths--they were not provided.) Security was no problem: there's an outside gate with a pushbutton code and an inside keyed door in addition to the apartment door.

Location could not be better: the Pont Marie Metro stop is just across a bridge, only two blocks away. There's a patisserie/boulangerie directly across the street, a small grocery store around the corner, and the Berthillon mothership is just down the street (pineapple-basil sorbet was my favorite). It's an easy stroll north into the Marais, west to the Île de la Cité (five minutes to Notre Dame), and south to the Latin Quarter. Our last trip we got the Museum Pass and stayed further west in the 1st. This trip was for strolling (Paris Walks and Rick Steves' Guide) so this location was fabulous.

Remember that Paris has some of the most expensive real estate on the planet. So to have easily twice the space--plus a kitchen--for half of what we'd pay for a hotel--it keeps us coming back. Arrangements by email could not be easier. And props to Special Apartments for the free WiFi, free international and local land-line calls, and website pictures that show exactly what you are going to get.

Only caution for this apartment is "no A/C" so we would not stay there during super-warm months. There's a lift to the 6th floor, and the stairs up to 7 are wide and well-lit. So grateful to Special Apartments for smooth arrangements, good quality, and value.

Room Tip: If you have certain needs (timeframe, quiet, budget, location)--email Special Apartments and they ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaPMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Let me start from the beginning, when we (a group of 3 friends) started to book the apartment, for our visit to Paris on last year september. We booked the Apt#2 and was charged half the amount as per their policy on 3rd March'13. Geraldine and Regis communicated with us and all our queries were well taken care! I really want to take this opportunity to thank both of them. Thank you guys, you were really helpful.

On 21 st August '13 it was communicated to me that due to wrong entry of our visiting dates from their side the Apt#2 has been allocated to some different guests and we were left with only Apt#10, which can accommodate 3. Disappointed and shocked, we accepted this apartment half-heartedly.

Since we landed in Paris, out of their office hours, we ourselves had to collect the keys from their office, which was not very challenging. We felt it more because on that day we were blessed with a great and very helpful taxi driver.

Now, coming to the Apt#10, location wise, it was not in a very posh area, but it hardly mattered to us, because we only came to the Apt for our night hideout. Moreover it is conveniently located between 2 metro stations "Strasbourg-Saint Denis" and "Chateau d'Eau", through which almost all tourist attractions of Paris are quite well connected.

The Apt#10, in terms of security are quite satisfactory. One has to go though 3 locked doors to enter this. The 1st one leads to a courtyard, with numbering locks, 2nd to the building and 3rd to the very apartment. The last 2 locks are quite tricky to unlock.

The interior of this apartment looks the same as in the pics given by "Special Apartments" on their website. No misleading information or camera tricks there. It is quite suitable for 3 guests.

Negative points: The Apt#10 has no elevators (which was mentioned in the Apt Description), but the staircase leading to this 3rd floored apartment is quite steep and narrow. I dont think this Apt is suitable for elder guests.

The apartments itself was cozy and comfortable, with all the amenities working fine. No complains there. Overall the experience was satisfactory, but as I mentioned not flawless.

Room Tip: I wont suggest Apt#10 to elder guests. It is best suitable for young friends on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adhiraj_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in apt. # 24 in Marais. Great location. Very cost effective way to stay in high priced Paris. A bus stops right across the street and metro is close by. The apartment is very quiet and has a very comfortable king size bed. Thus our sleeping situation was magnifique'! We felt like Parisians living in our own modern flat across street from a lovely neighborhood park. We purchased our groceries at a wonderful open air market down the street. We were greeted by Jessica who explained how everything worked and was available promptly when needed. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, etc. Bath towels were large and fluffy. No need to order extra towels. I would caution you to pack light as the apartment is two winding staircases up and it is difficult to carry anything heavy! No elevator. All in all, a really terrific stay!

Room Tip: Very modern and somewhat stark. Buy colorful flowers at market down the street. They made the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in Apt 22 in Le Marais. The Apartment was more or less described - some of the lights did not work but that was ok.
The apartment was clean but the towels, linens and soft furnishings had seen better days. It is an old building so you have to make some allowances but at nearly €600 per night we expected a higher standard.
The reason for the rating is because we were locked out of the apartment when we returned late on a Saturday night. The lock was difficult to open anyway but now it was impossible. Would we have to find a hotel? Could we get a locksmith in Paris at midnight? All our passports were in the locked apartment. After an hour of trying a smear of my sister in law's lipstick on the key was oily enough to release the doorlock.
I emailed Special Apartments twice to complain and ensure that this did not happen to someone else but they appear to be too busy to respond.
Not good enough in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpwithJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpecialApartments, Owner at Special Apartments, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear UpwithJones,

I do apologise that our staff did not get back to you straight away. We are a little understaffed at the moment, because one of our staff members just left us for family reasons and we are in the process of looking for a suitable replacement, additionally Jessica, who is relatively new in the company, wanted to make sure that her response was appropriate and double-checked her reply with myself and my business partner, so this caused a little bit of a delay.
I am surprised that you said that our towels, linens and soft furnishings had seen better days; Our towels are beautiful thick slate coloured towels that we ordered less than a year ago and we had our new cotton high thread sheets delivered about six months ago. The soft furnishings are regularly maintained and checked. I'm sorry if a couple of the lightbulbs had blown; this can happen sometimes, even though we check and we do always provide spare bulbs which are indicated in the welcome brochure, just in case.
The door lock did work perfectly well before your arrival when Jessica checked the apartment and we haven't had any problems with this door before, but these things can happen. I'm sorry that you felt nervous at the prospect of having to stay in a hotel that night and so relieved that you did manage to enter the apartment nonetheless. However, I'd just like to point out for you and future guests, that we deliberately put our telephone number in bold on our website, welcome brochures and all of our email correspondence so that our guests can get in contact with us via there smartphones, if anything unfortunate like this happens. If we had know about your problem, even in the middle of the night, we would have of course, helped out in any way we could.
Our rates are a little higher for a very short stay (three days), because this creates significant overheads for us, but it still works out at a very economical alternative to a hotel with 100 sq. metre or roughly 1000sq. Ft of living space at a price of less than 200€/night for a double room with the added advantage of being able to enjoy a large living room and a kitchen dining area to make meals in.
As you know, we have offered you a significant reduction on your next stay with us. I hope that this will make up in some small way for any inconvenience caused,

Yours sincerely,

John, Regis and all of the staff at Special Apartments Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyjockholidayer
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A friend and I rented a fabulous 'bijou' 2-bed apartment from these guys on Rue Saint-Louis en l'Île on the Ile Saint Louis for a 2-night break in March 2014. The communication up to our arrival was problem-free and the apartment itself was superb. Clean and comfortable, though there is a steep staircase to the second double bedroom. But it's worth it as this bedroom leads off onto a small rooftop terrace with fantastic views (including the top of the Pompidou Centre in the distance). Jessica, the host who met us at the apartment, was extremely friendly and helpful. The apartment came with free WiFi and international landline calls. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Special Apartments.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyjockholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Georgette
#89 of 1,801 in Paris
747 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Residence Alma Marceau
Residence Alma Marceau
#40 of 170 in Paris
50 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Residence & Spa Le Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Residence Pelican
Residence Pelican
#38 of 170 in Paris
99 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Residence
Montmartre Residence
#13 of 170 in Paris
73 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Special Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Special Apartments

Property: Special Apartments
Address: 51 rue de Turbigo | 75003, Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Special Apartments Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing