We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary art tribute”

Fontaine Stravinsky
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.73*
and up
Paris Sightseeing, Marais and Secrets Bike Tour
Ranked #267 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Contemporary art tribute”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

IF you are going to the Centre Pompidou (museum), then you must see this fountain from all angles! The different shapes are extremely interesting against the background of a church, shops and Centre Pompidou. Read the history before arriving and the shapes will have more significance because the artists chose them to reflect the musical talents of Stravinsky. Also defines how the Parisian government values creativity and culture, in placing this fountain and others throughout the city for the people to enjoy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    69
    24
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“cute pond/fountain/modern art sculpture garden”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

there are many pictures of this little pond/fountain/sculpture garden on the internet. That's what it looks like in person. In my opinion it's pretty cool, and if you in that neighborhood, definitely swing by and take a look. (And if you're visiting Paris as a tourist, there are a bunch of things to see in that neighborhood!) I thought it was very pretty; snapped a couple of pictures, and moved on. It's very imaginative and even "wacky," but it's not that deep or enthralling. It isn't the Eiffel tower. (Tho in Paris, you could be charged several euros for the chance to look at something even less interesting; at least the fountain is free!) In the winter the pond can freeze over (unusual for Paris!) and I thought it looked sad, even post-apocalyptic, when frozen.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lee_2000_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
227 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“The power of imagination”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Every time I am back to Paris this is one of my favourite places. Even in a very cold winter of some years ago when the water in the pool was completely frozen.
There are many fountains in Paris. But, if I had to choose one, it should be this one with its crazy mix of colourful and bright sculptures over a pool of water.
I was pleasantly surprised at finding the water quite clean but the mechanical elements were not moving and spraying water. Maybe next time ….

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patpet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
211 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fun fountain”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Fun fountain but what I like more about this area is the street art all around the square and the streets around it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antoanna888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Unless you are really into such stuff, you will find it hideous. I do understand that it was supposed to be something meaningful (and yes, I do know the story behind it) but it is just so random and the water so filthy and full of garbage that it makes you wanna just leave... And there was a guy abusing his dog in front of it, while he was drawing on a pavement with chalk and the dog did not wanna sit. That scene did not make it any better. The fountain is just horrible and that is all I have to say about it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank galadrijella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fontaine Stravinsky also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Fontaine Stravinsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing