We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sacrifices quality for affordability”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre
Ranked #1,637 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel because I was on a Contiki tour. Otherwise, it would not have been my first choice of hotel in Paris. And I definitely will not choose to stay there again. It IS affordable, but at the cost of good quality. And safety.

It is located very far from the city centre, so you do have to take the metro for about 15 minutes before being able to transfer to a line that services the more touristy areas. The closest metro stop to the hotel is about a 5 or 10 minute walk. There is a bakery-pastry shop on the corner, as well as a grocery store. There are also restaurants and a McDonalds close by.

Though the neighbourhood around the hotel looks rough (graffiti), I had no trouble and found people to be friendly, but after dark it gets a little scary because there are nightly gatherings of literally 100's of homeless people (the tour guide called them gypsies, but I have no first-hand knowledge of what ethnicity they were) right around the corner of the hotel, where they trade broken junk and food and things. The tour guide told us to watch for pickpockets as we exited the coach for the first time.

I didn't have much interaction with the people working reception, but I found them to be courteous and helpful, or as much as they could be between their broken English and my broken French.

The room was small and the sheets were tatty, but clean. The toilet area resembled that of an airplane lavatory, and the shower was separate with only a frosted door separating it from the sleeping area, so it was kind of awkward trying to shower with my tour mate (a stranger) in the room.

I found it very disconcerting that there was no phone present in the room. My tour stayed there over New Year's Eve, and there were two guests who spent the whole night walking up and down the hallway on my floor, shouting and trying to open doors. It was very frightening and we had no way of contacting the front desk for help.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Ella Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2014

1. Being next to some Highway always noisy and distract your sleep. Avoid, if you cannot tolerate this.
2. Staff is just too busy to offer any kind of information or do request. Do not expect even basic courtesy.
3. Bath and Toilets are separate- which does help much except saving of time if you are traveling more than one. Moreover, they cannot be locked from inside.
4. I would repeat Emily W words- "My first words on this hotel would be these; if you are a tourist or visiting Paris for the first time, this is not the place for you"...imagine the same with 2 young kids!
5. Location is also not too good. 700 m from nearest metro, which can be a problem with kids.

AVOID.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strike_right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel's food was terrible, the staff is extremely impolite to guests. The rooms are clean but aren't private enough, the bath and the toilet are separate and have no locks on their doors. The lighting system is nice and smart. I had fun but i didn't eat the breakfast more than once even though i payed for it because it was terrible.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mohanad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Anil D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Set our GPS which took us straight to it on periphique. Good carparking (you geta a discount from adjacent supermarket) good value although and is full of Kon Tiki revellers. Sacre Coeur and Metro colse by huge bracante weekent market (8 acres) close by . Laundromats and excellent restuarants walking distance. The reception and security is utilitarian but we got what we expected and had good nights sleep. Would stay again

Room Tip: rooms at back are quieter, lifts are slow on upper floors sometimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My first words on this hotel would be these; if you are a tourist or visiting Paris for the first time, this is not the place for you. Due to the down at heel and intimidating surroundings of Saint-Ouen (especially the flea-market which is in full swing at weekends) this does not make a good choice for those wishing to experience such a beautiful city at its best.
Location aside, the hotel was otherwise all we expected considering the low prices we paid. Staff were not exactly friendly but checked us in without a problem. Our rooms were on the small side but very clean and equipped with everything we needed. Wifi was constantly disconnecting but pleasant to have nonetheless. With the peripherique (motorway) literally right outside the hotel we expected severe road noise but the double windows provided us with peace and quiet. The only complaint about the rooms would be the bedding; pillows were paper thin, as were the mattress. Not somewhere you would want to stay for more than a couple of nights.
Overall this would be a perfect hotel for someone who knows Paris travelling on business or on a tour for just a night. As tourists we were put off by the scary surroundings, believe me, we were scared walking back to the hotel at night, as well as the lack of comfort in our rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ibis Budget Paris Nord 18eme
#1,560 of 1,805 in Paris
434 reviews
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,457 of 1,805 in Paris
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre

Address: 45 rue du Docteur Babinski, 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,637 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre 2*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the district of Montmartre and Sacre-Coeur, this Etap Hotel is located in the heart of the Flea Market of Saint-Ouen and 15 minutes from the Stade de France.Guestrooms feature a satellite TV, shower, toilet and all the comfort to make your stay enjoyable. Free Wi-Fi access is available in public areas.Enjoy a breakfast buffet every morning. The Etap team welcomes you 24/7 to help facilitate your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ibis budget Paris Porte de Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing