We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality for the price”
Review of Au jardin - CLOSED

Au jardin
Price range: US$22 - US$31
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Opera / Bourse
Description: Une version originale de la cuisine Francaise. Des produits frais cuisines maison.An original version of the French cooking. Cooked fresh products house.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent quality for the price”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great food, great service and excellent quality. We had a hard time finding the place as it is a bit off the beaten track, but it was worth backtracking to find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    96
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing wee French restaurant, and reasonable value”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

excellent, taste sensation - we had snails (my first time) and they were done amazingl y.

Fish main courses were out of this world. Two courses for 24 euros, so reasonably good prices as well.

Glass of wine 5 euros and a coffee 2.50

highly recommend, really pleased with our choice on our first night in Paris.
.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_in_Abingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sharp practice”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We took our family to this restaurant as we were staying at nearby Residence Nell, also on Rue Richer. There is no garden.

The manager was the problem. Even my wife ordering a gin and tonic caused a problem: he filled the glass with gin and then just put a bottle of tonic water alongside - yuck!

The real problem was when we asked if he could offer an alternative to the one choice of ice cream on the children's menu. He said yes, and suggested strawberries, which was a good suggestion, but he made no mention of the fact this would attract a charge of three adult portions of same (on top of the three fixed price menu). I queried this at the end, and he knocked a third of this extra charge off, but when I pointed out that this supplement was totally unexpected in the first place and had not been mentioned, he insisted that we had to pay the bill and would not adjust it any further.

I thought this was very poor, and said so. He was unmoved. I don't think with an attitude to customers and expectations like this, that he cares very much for the future of Au Jardin. It made for an unpleasant scene in front of other customers there at the time, and is not very wise as we have informed Residence Nell of our unsatisfactory experience. Oh dear!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duncan732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant restaurant.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Evening meal here with my wife on our last day in Paris. Quiet when we were there. Some unusual items on the menu that we tried and enjoyed. Fairly good value for money. The toilet in a wooden shack inside the restaurant was a quirky touch.

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Gem of a find and gorgeous food”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were searching Trip Advisor for somewhere good to eat when we were staying in the nearby Hotel Jules and found this. So glad we did.

It's down a smaller street and looks fairly unassuming. We went at about 7pm on a Monday night with no reservation and there was no problem getting a table. The place has a sort of swiss cottage feel about it which is a tad odd but works.

The owner gave us a menu in excellent English and quite frankly we were spoiled for choice. I had the oeufs en cocotte which were beautiful and my partner had king prawns with mango and white chocolate which sounded odd but he loved. We both then had lamb cooked beautifully with a curried cauliflower and mash accompaniment which was divine. Finally we both had the strawberry 'minestrone' (chopped strawberries with lychee sorbet, balsamic and honey glaze) and again it was beautiful and so unusual.

Certainly the best restaurant in the area that we found (shame it was our last night). Three courses for 31 euros was a bargain! Try it out for yourself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au jardin also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing