We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au jardin - CLOSED

Au jardin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$31
Cuisines: French, International, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Opera / Bourse
Description: Une version originale de la cuisine Francaise. Des produits frais cuisines maison.An original version of the French cooking. Cooked fresh products house.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We ate at Au Jardin last weekend when in Paris for our first wedding anniversary. We chose it based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.

The food was well cooked and flavourful, service was prompt and informative. We were asked after our starters if we wanted our mains straightaway, which was a nice touch as we don't like to rush meals and feel like we're on a production line.

For 2 people, 3 courses and a bottle of very nice wine the bill was €84, fantastic value for central Paris.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    95
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quirky but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

An unusual kind of place, quirky decor but the food presentation and quality were excellent. I had prawns and scallops, my wife had filet mignon both of which were delicious. An excellent little place to eat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrisfastjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our first french meal in Paris which set the standards high.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We researched our area looking for a place to eat and came across Au Jardin on Tripadvisor. When we got there at 6:45pm, we didn't realise they were not open, but the waitress let us in and gave us a table since it was pouring outside. (Thank you very much!) The inside decor is very relaxed and natural and each table had a cactus plant and real flowers which gave the place a very outdoorsy feel. The menu wasn't exhausting but had lots of interesting combinations. We were given a amuse bouche of Vichyssoise soup which was lovely and refreshing. My other half had Foie gras with brioche and pear chutney for starter and I had a pumpkin and chestnut soup all of which was scrumptious. For mains we had duck breast with a potato gratin and spinach and a chefs special cut fillet beef with mash potato with a coco and horseradish sauce. I couldn't taste the horseradish or coco but the beef was cooked to perfection! Only one dessert was ordered (the chocolate cake with salted caramel, ice cream and popping candy) but according to my other half "it was cracking" and he thoroughly enjoyed it.
We had a few minutes of power cut at the restaurant but the manager just laughed it off with us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieOfScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Valentines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We went to dinner at Au Jardin in Valentines Day and we loved it. The restaurant was full and combined to very important things: good quality food with a casual enviroment, not very quiet but not very loud. The people who received us did everything to make that night special and it was. Perfect little restaurant in a good vibrant zone of Paris.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We visited Au Jardin for dinner while in Paris for the weekend. We were greeted warmly and offered a pre dinner appetiser which was a parsnip gespacho.
The food was delicious - I had a tuna tartare starter and beef main and my boyfriend had an egg starter and duck main.
We both had some nice wine to accompany the meal.
The setting was relaxed and we had a really nice meal.

Helpful?
2 Thank SarahArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au jardin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing