We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison Montparnasse
Ranked #393 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday in Paris”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Staying out of the tourist area in Montparnasse and in this hotel was one of the best ideas. Though rooms are small it is one if the best boutique hotels I've stayed in. The area us full of eateries that are a fraction of the price of tourist area. The difference is paying one euro for an espresso compared to five euros. Stay here.

Helpful?
4 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    246
    46
    7
    4
See reviews for
107
213
56
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Plenty of good patisseries and local supermarkets in the area and about 15mins on the metro from most of the major sites. Taxi from Nord station around 25 euro including luggage (remember you need to generally pay 1 euro per bag in the trunk in Paris). We didn't take the breakfast option for 12 euro per person because found cheaper options on the street nearby. Ask the staff for good nearby dinner options - very helpful and friendly in our experience. Only negative was the first night we had very noisy people next door carrying on until after midnight as the walls are very thin - upon complaining to reception, staff spoke with the people who soon put a stop to the festivities! Rooms are v small as per Paris in general. Overall a good little spot at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JASKOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in early September. It was super cute and very convenient. We had a room overlooking the street and loved the view. Its proximity to the subway and restaurants was perfect. The bathroom is indeed small. I noticed several reviews commented on how small the room/bathroom are but frankly I only care about sleeping and bathing, and this hotel was more than sufficient. The only cons are the breakfast is a bit expensive (12 euros) and the room was muggy when we arrived, but we aired it out by opening the windows and it was fine. Those two cons weren't enough to rate it less than excellent. Also, the staff was very, very nice - no issues there. I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a reasonable rate, great location, and nice accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Well located hotel with a staff which was exceptional helpful and friendly and willing to help in any way possible. Close to Metro and busy streets with a lot of bakeries, restaurants and small local businesses.The rooms are very clean and even though they are small they are very well organized and we could easily fit a family of three to one of the small rooms. We enjoyed the stay - it was at least perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siggiari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Well located, clean, rooms are ok, great value for the money.
The elevator is only good for luggage, but I don't really mind taking the stairs, so not an issue for me.
My only concern is related to to the staff, although friendly and courteous, communication was a bit challenging sometimes as some of the staff spoke poor or no English at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnaldo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Rooms clean and functional but very small. Amazing what you can fit into such a tiny shower room! Reception staff can take Parisian surliness to a new level. Interesting location with a lot at artistic heritage to wonder around.

Room Tip: As far away from reception as possible
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lzwrght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La-maison14, Responsable relations clients at La Maison Montparnasse, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Sir/Mme
thank you for choosing la Maison Montparnasse
we are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay
if you had any problem with reception's staff
do not hesitate to explain in detail so we could improve our self
sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lovely little hotel, great prices, good location, very friendly and welcoming staff, absolutely fabulous breakfast! The croissants are delicious! The rooms are comfortable, clean and basic, and there is a pretty little garden area at the rear of the hotel where you can sit outside on a warm Paris evening and have a drink. What did I like the least? Probably the choice between the tiniest elevator ever (there were 7 of us) or the steep, spiral, multi-coloured, headache-inducing staircase to get to and from the 4th floor! But otherwise a fabulous experience and I know we would definitely return to this quirky little gem of a hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pradmeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#245 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#770 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#235 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Terminus Orleans
#425 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#396 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Montparnasse

Property: La Maison Montparnasse
Address: 53 rue de Gergovie, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#148 Business Hotel in Paris
#302 Family Hotel in Paris
#361 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Maison Montparnasse 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your La Maison Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Montparnasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing