We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice near Gare Montparnasse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Maison Montparnasse
Ranked #382 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good choice near Gare Montparnasse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great little hotel round the corner from Pernety Metro (line 13) within easy reach of central Paris. We preferred, however, to explore the quartier with its interesting shops on Rue Raymond Losserand, and a five minute walk from Gare Montparnasse and the Montparnasse Cemetery, which is worth a visit. Also round the corner from some hidden gems of museums including Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson dedicated to photographic exhibitions. There's an interesting modern take on neo-classical architecture too at Place Catalogne (see the hidden garden just behind). There's a great classic bistro round the corner Le Cantine de Troquet (rue de l'est), but you can't book so get there at 7pm when the doors open. The hotel is clean and we had a quiet room facing the street, which had a bath and shower as well as lovely clean white good quality bedlinens. There is a lift but as others have noted it is miniscule so difficult if you have a lot of cases. Decor is cheerful and fresh. Breakfast is served but we thought it rather expensive and went to one of the many cafes round the corner for coffee and croissant. Recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have three beds which give you more space and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apuleius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    243
    46
    7
    4
See reviews for
107
210
56
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for a long hen weekend in Paris. This hotel is lovely and clean, it's bright and modern. We stayed in a double room, which was small, but expectable as we only needed it to sleep. The triple rooms had more space and a bigger bathroom. The staff are brilliant! They let us use their back room for free, which my sister and friend decorated! My sister had some hen do party things shipped over from England and the staff didn't mention a thing to me! Very professional, but also very friendly! The lift is very very small, but we didn't use it anyway. They have a lovely patio area out the back which is lovely for a drink in the sun! We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on the breakfast, the only thing I can say is it €12 and there are many bakery's and cafés very near. The metro station is just around the corner, about a 3-5minute walk. It takes about 10-15 minutes to get to big attractions like the Eiffel Tower, Norte dame. The metro is quick and very easy to use! We booked this hotel through booking.com. I would without a doubt stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: If you like space choose a triple room. If your just looking for somewhere to sleep then the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel was charming and colorful (literally). The room was clean and cozy,and the bathroom was small (even by European standards). One of the things I really didn't like was that there was no safe in the room, my other complaint was that breakfast was an additional 12euros, which is a lot for a coffee and a croissant. Better value to go to the actual boulanger yourself and get the croissant fresh for 1 euro. The location is not ideal for doing the typical touristy stuff, but there are actually a lot of great neighborhood restaurants to check out.

Room Tip: Ask for room 42. It is on the top floor, and while the view directly out the window is not great, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sme0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The rooms are small, but cute and furnished cleverly, with good taste and attention to detail. Personnel is VERY friendly and provides a welcoming atmosphere and a satisfying breakfast. Especially night clerk Didier is fun and will always be offering you a tea at midnight, when you come home from your strolls around the lively neighbourhood the hotel is located in. Handling every situation with charme, you can not even be angry if something goes wrong … if you are concerned about safety: the fire alarm in the hotel works very well, you will be absolutely safe if a real fire should occur!

The rooms are very clean, everything you need is provided. The street the hotel is located in is relatively quiet, so you can sleep with an open window, if you like to do that. Enjoy your stay! I would always come again to this hotel for a romantic trip with my lover :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for my first night in Europe following a lengthy flight, and this was exactly what I needed. Excellent customer service, very comfortable bed, and a wonderful warm shower.

I did not catch their names, but all 3 staff who I dealt with were extremely helpful, particularly the well dressed gentleman who loaned me a travel adapter and answered all my questions quickly and easily.

The room itself was great - very comfortable bed, TV that I didn't use, and a compact bathroom, but with a great shower (lots of pressure, and nice hot water).

The only downside was that breakfast was a little on the pricey side (about 11 euros) but was only a small selection of pastries/breads, fruit and yoghurt, but given it was the Easter weekend most shops nearby were closed, and I was hungry!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Cute hotel, friendly staff, great location and comfy rooms, what more do you want?
I only stayed here one night as my previous hotel was sold out. I really liked my previous hotel, until I realized what I was missing, the warmth and friendliness of the human touch! Adrien and Didier were both warm and lovely every time I encountered them. They were both genuinely interested in making my stay pleasant and offered help and suggestions if needed. At this point I'd been staying in the area for a week, so I had my routine down, but it was nice to get to chat with some nice locals.

My room was a single and I got it at a good rate. Despite being a single room, it was spacious for me. I even had room to do my evening exercise routine. The bathroom was compact but totally functional. The room and the bathroom both had windows overlooking a quiet residential street. Around the corner were several eateries, bakeries and great restaurants. Half a block away was the Pernety station.

This area is fantastic because it is so authentic. It is not overloaded with tourists but it is still very convenient. People are friendly and you have your choice of Bakeries every morning on your way to the metro stop.

If I was to return to Paris tomorrow, I would most definitely book a room here!

Room Tip: Any room is great because the street is not a busy one and it will not be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meninabella77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great, confortable, beautiful, clean, well located and close to the subway, everyone at the reception desk is nice and helpful. It is small and does not have the rush of the big hotels. I highly recommend.
Este hotel é ótimo, confortável, bonito, limpo, bem localizado e perto do metro, todo pessoal da recepção é atencioso e prestativo. É pequeno e não tem a correria dos grandes hotéis. Eu recomendo.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mlizarodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#723 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#230 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#236 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#378 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Atelier Montparnasse
#388 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Montparnasse

Property: La Maison Montparnasse
Address: 53 rue de Gergovie, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#148 Business Hotel in Paris
#303 Family Hotel in Paris
#362 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Maison Montparnasse 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Maison Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Montparnasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing