We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat little hotel for the Paris budget market”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison Montparnasse
Ranked #393 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Neat little hotel for the Paris budget market”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Well located on a small street in Montparnasse but very close to Pernety Metro stop and the line is very quick to the main touristy spots. Unfortunately our business took us the other side of the river and a longish Metro trip. Nonetheless the area is good with plenty of bars and restaurants of all types within easy reach. The bright coloured carpet in the hotel looks great but yellow must be impossible to clean. The room was fresh, clean and well presented with a reasonable size bath. The staff were very accommodating and the 'night guy' was a really interesting, musically inclined character who certainly knew his music. This helps to keep a nice free and easy atmosphere, much admired by the tourist clientèle -American, English, Australian.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the small courtyard might be quieter although the small street side is hardly nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    246
    46
    7
    4
See reviews for
107
213
56
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The staff is so kind and helpful. One of them is very funny. I really like him. The place of the hotel located is safe and beautiful. There are lots of store along the street. There is a big supermarket not far away from the hotel, that's really convenience. The room is very clean and comfortable. I was very satisfied with it. I would like to stay at this hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

- Helpful staff
- Close to metro
- Lots of restaurants, bars, bakeries and a laundromat nearby
- Room was nicely presented and very clean
- Very small room (to be expected in Paris), but the killer was no fan and no air-conditioning. Our window opened out onto the street which was quite loud - so either the heat or noise kept us awake. A room facing the rear might be a better choice
- This hotel is fine for a 3 night stay but not recommended for any longer - climbing over luggage and living in such close quarters can be tolerated only for so long
- Car park must be booked in advance

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great little hotel round the corner from Pernety Metro (line 13) within easy reach of central Paris. We preferred, however, to explore the quartier with its interesting shops on Rue Raymond Losserand, and a five minute walk from Gare Montparnasse and the Montparnasse Cemetery, which is worth a visit. Also round the corner from some hidden gems of museums including Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson dedicated to photographic exhibitions. There's an interesting modern take on neo-classical architecture too at Place Catalogne (see the hidden garden just behind). There's a great classic bistro round the corner Le Cantine de Troquet (rue de l'est), but you can't book so get there at 7pm when the doors open. The hotel is clean and we had a quiet room facing the street, which had a bath and shower as well as lovely clean white good quality bedlinens. There is a lift but as others have noted it is miniscule so difficult if you have a lot of cases. Decor is cheerful and fresh. Breakfast is served but we thought it rather expensive and went to one of the many cafes round the corner for coffee and croissant. Recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have three beds which give you more space and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apuleius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for a long hen weekend in Paris. This hotel is lovely and clean, it's bright and modern. We stayed in a double room, which was small, but expectable as we only needed it to sleep. The triple rooms had more space and a bigger bathroom. The staff are brilliant! They let us use their back room for free, which my sister and friend decorated! My sister had some hen do party things shipped over from England and the staff didn't mention a thing to me! Very professional, but also very friendly! The lift is very very small, but we didn't use it anyway. They have a lovely patio area out the back which is lovely for a drink in the sun! We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on the breakfast, the only thing I can say is it €12 and there are many bakery's and cafés very near. The metro station is just around the corner, about a 3-5minute walk. It takes about 10-15 minutes to get to big attractions like the Eiffel Tower, Norte dame. The metro is quick and very easy to use! We booked this hotel through booking.com. I would without a doubt stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: If you like space choose a triple room. If your just looking for somewhere to sleep then the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel was charming and colorful (literally). The room was clean and cozy,and the bathroom was small (even by European standards). One of the things I really didn't like was that there was no safe in the room, my other complaint was that breakfast was an additional 12euros, which is a lot for a coffee and a croissant. Better value to go to the actual boulanger yourself and get the croissant fresh for 1 euro. The location is not ideal for doing the typical touristy stuff, but there are actually a lot of great neighborhood restaurants to check out.

Room Tip: Ask for room 42. It is on the top floor, and while the view directly out the window is not great, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sme0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The rooms are small, but cute and furnished cleverly, with good taste and attention to detail. Personnel is VERY friendly and provides a welcoming atmosphere and a satisfying breakfast. Especially night clerk Didier is fun and will always be offering you a tea at midnight, when you come home from your strolls around the lively neighbourhood the hotel is located in. Handling every situation with charme, you can not even be angry if something goes wrong … if you are concerned about safety: the fire alarm in the hotel works very well, you will be absolutely safe if a real fire should occur!

The rooms are very clean, everything you need is provided. The street the hotel is located in is relatively quiet, so you can sleep with an open window, if you like to do that. Enjoy your stay! I would always come again to this hotel for a romantic trip with my lover :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#245 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#770 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#235 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Terminus Orleans
#425 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#396 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Montparnasse

Property: La Maison Montparnasse
Address: 53 rue de Gergovie, 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#148 Business Hotel in Paris
#302 Family Hotel in Paris
#361 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Maison Montparnasse 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your La Maison Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Montparnasse Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing