We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of BLC Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BLC Design Hotel
Ranked #645 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    274
    89
    32
    26
See reviews for
52
319
50
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaasa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is very small hotel, rooms are also very small - however, clean and modern. Location is also pretty ok. List price seems to be very high but at least I got a good deal, simple breakfast included.

Would recommend for short stays like business.

The only real downside is that the desk is so small that a decent sized laptop does not fit to it ;-)

Room Tip: Higher floors (at least 6th( You a small balcony and some views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with My boyfriend, great service , Staff was professional and helpful and gave great information about the hotel, rooms and location upon arrival, very fresh and clean hotel , modern and new. Rooms were quite big for being Paris of course, furnished very modern with white from top til toe, king size HUGE and comfy bed, the shower was separated from the toilet in our room, very small toilet but shower was beautiful, cleaning service daily and great, no complaints. We had the room towards the main street which could be alittle noisy with the trafic but not to the point that it Would be considered as annoying. I have been to Paris several Times and at so many different hotels , this one i recommend and Will return to!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msworldwide86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Honnef, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel is well made, effective staff. The location is quite and in a lively Paris arrondissement, where parisians live. This is why we choose the hotel for our last stay in Paris.

I would love to be able to recommend this hotel, but the room we had for our 2 nights was stinking like a public swiming pool: the cleaning staff is using way too much chlore during cleaning. The opening of the 2 windows of our room for hours did help "clean" the air but my wife still had some headache each morning.

The receptionist tried to give an explanation for the smell: "our hotel is white so we need to be very clean" (sic)

Best is to take the breakfast in the room: they offer it to the alternative of breakfasting in the small lobby of the hotel, which we did not want to try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was the most awful hotel experience and location. For a little more money book a better hotel in a better location. Rude staff, no working A/C or heater. No frig in the room. No ice maker at the hotel either so impossible to chill drinks. No shower curtain at all just a curtain around the bathroom that we had to use as a shower curtain and the water went all over the place. Very loud street noise. Location is NOT within walking distance to any sites at all. We felt like we were in the slums of Paris, Very poor residential around the hotel didn't even fell like we were in Paris. DONT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvlgrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we struggled to get our room as their systems had crashed. They gave us a room key which turned out to be an already occupied room. Finally we got a room, which was lovely and very clean. Breakfast was good, although they do need to explain how it works as it's all very 'hands on'!

The night staff on our final night were not interested in being polite or helpful and it came across very rude, almost as if they were angry that we had disturbed them. I know this is Paris, but rudeness in what could be a fab hotel just isn't right.

I don't think i'd stay here again. It looks great, but the staff need managing and they need to care about the customer experience from the moment they arrive to the moment they leave.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed there 3 nights in September. Ok first the positive: clean, stylish, modern, good location. The negatives: the rooms are pretty small but hey i can live with it as its Paris ( we go every year and know what to expect ); Now the staff: the reception guys day and night were just ok, doing their job but not really bothered or attentive! The breakfast lady OMG!!!! Who was that??? First 2 days we went down relatively late ( 30 mins before it was finished ) she was just sitting down by the reception chatting whilst there was no bread available ( 1 spotted a couple of baguettes sitting inside the counter) no ham on display ( although there was a box in the fridge). breadcrumbs all over the floor, aver and all not very attentive! On the last day , we checked out Monday morning to get the first eurostar back to London ; we were at the reception at 6.45 to check out and ask for a taxi to the station; as the breakfast starts at 7pm and the lady was already there and everything seemed ready, my partner ( who is French) decided to politely ask if it was ok just to grab a coffee from the machine or a juice whilst we were waiting for the taxi to arrive . oh my god? What did we do?? It was like the satan had seen the cross! After 5 sentences of moaning with a stinky attitude in French ( which was probably best for me not to understand) she served us the coffee and juice! . we were made feeling so bad for asking! if this wasn’t enough 2 mins later she lurched at the reception guy , right in front of us telling him off LOUD AND CLEAR for turning the lights on , and to tell her if she had people coming earlier as the breakfast only starts at 7 pm. IN the meantime another poor guest was literally shouted at and told that breakfast wasn’t available for another ... 10 minutes!!! If working early or caring for customers is not a strength for this lady maybe she should be doing something else! Also a hotel in central Paris that only starts breakfast at 7am on a weekday is a bit poor .
For all of these i say: WONT stay there again, if you don’t bothered about making guest feeling welcomed , there are dozens of other hotels in Paris who certainly are: after all this is not a cheap budget hostel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Standard Design
Hotel Standard Design
#464 of 1,802 in Paris
598 reviews
Classics Hotel Bastille
#701 of 1,802 in Paris
525 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Color Design Hotel
Color Design Hotel
#727 of 1,802 in Paris
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#115 of 1,802 in Paris
552 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
République
Hotel des Arts Bastille
Hotel des Arts Bastille
#1,249 of 1,802 in Paris
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BLC Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLC Design Hotel

Property: BLC Design Hotel
Address: 4 rue Richard Lenoir, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BLC Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BLC Design Hotel is pleased to welcome you for a stop in the country's white. Completely renovated in 2009, this boutique hotel with 29 rooms with a luggage room and free wifi access, will show you a bold and innovative concept imagined entirely by the decorator Carole Picard. The open space design that characterizes most of our rooms combine a zen atmosphere that evokes the influences of surroundings. Surely you wonder who are these women pictured on our headboards that dresses our white walls? The answer....two steps from the BLC Design Hotel...These are portraits of ladies who stayed in Le Palais de la Femme that were photographed by Parisian photographer Lise-Laure Batifol. Located in the lively neighborhood of the Bastille, République and Nation with its many bars, restaurants and designer shops is in its originality an address to try, even to adopt. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BLC Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing