We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but more than edible.”
Review of Le Bistrot 30

Le Bistrot 30
Ranked #13,967 of 17,424 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not great, but more than edible.”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

In the latin quarter, its hit or miss it seems. This is definerly on the latter side.
Ok, one of us had mussels and the sauce was really good, although it was quite salty, the mussels were cooked very well (timed well), but there was sand still in them. The other had the snails, they were fine, cant really compare, as it was our first time eating this dish. They were covered in garlic and herbs, so really thats all they tasted like.
The mains was a mess. We both ordered the "preserved duck leg" with sautèd potatoes. We were both given duck breast, in orange sauce, with fries. Although it looked nice, but we thought we better let them know it wasn't our order - in case somebody else had ours and vice-versa. The waiter (non apologetic) took our plates and came back 3 minutes later with duck legs, piping hot, on the same plates (orange sauce under, with fries). We felt this was a bad service.
We had crème brûlée and profiter rolls as desert, these were ok.
It's quite cheap (?18 for these 3 courses). The service didn't deal well with the mistake and were not very friendly, although not particularly rude either.

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    75
    60
    66
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Fantastic Value.”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A little taste of authentic French cuisine at a fraction of the price. 3 course plat de jour for 12 Euro's, fantastic value. A suprising wide range of choice with good portions of excellent food. Served at a speed to suit especially if you are on a tight schedule as we were, the management seem in tune with what the customers require. House red wine was of a very good quality and reasonable price, 15 Euro's. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent food for the price - clueless service!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was very good and very bad at the same time.. Pot luck I suppose!

We chose this restaurant for our last night in Paris. There were different set menus offered outside for a range of good prices.

We enjoyed our food, especially the duck in orange sauce, and the mussels to start.

The service, however, was all over the shop! The guy for our area didn't have a clue what was going on, and wasn't wearing any appropriate uniform! Despite this, our three courses ended up on our table okay, much to the dismay of those around us who we're struggling to even get their plates cleared for 15 minutes after they'd finished a course.

We asked for the bill twice, and ended up waiting almost as long for it than it took us to eat our three courses!

If you go here, expect decent food at a decent price, but whether your service is okay, I imagine is luck, as other areas of the restaurant seemed okay.

Worth a try in my book!

(I also think this restaurant is listed incorrectly - it is on Rue St Severin, St Michel, Paris, not Tremblay-En-France)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful evening”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We came to this place after long walk in Paris and sneaking around for some bistrot, just to get some meat and wine and go to have a rest. The beginning was optimistic, despite the place was full of visitors we got a table near Window. Then problems had started. It was the first bell we had not notice. We had not got menue for 15 min. That's okay, we thought, so we took a menue by ourselves. We ordered onion soup, capresse, duck and beef. Soup was okay, and salad quite good. But for the main course we had been waiting for more than 50 minutes. And what? The duck was cold and raw?! The desserts also had been waited for 20 minutes. Come on, to put 3 sorbet balls you need so much time??? Bad experience. Not recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience.”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

One of the poor quality tourist restaurants in the Latin quarter. Cold and terrible service. I asked if I could taste the wine and the waiter told me coldly only if I order a bottle. He wouldn't let me taste it because I was going to order half a bottle. Not even a smile. My husband's steak was okay and my chicken (tasted like microwaved) and mussels were overcooked. Wish we had internet access so we could check the review before we went into some random restaurant. Our favourite place in the Latin quarter is L' Hostellerie de l' oie Qui Fume (very close to this horrible restaurant). Excellent classic French food and attentive service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yenkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistrot 30 also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Bistrot 30? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing