We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Ranked #426 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The hotel has a fantastic location for seeing the sights in Paris. Very close to the St. Michel metro stop. The staff were friendly and spoke very good English. The hotel has a rooftop terrace open from 4-11pm (weather permitting) and it is wonderful. Fantastic 360 degree views of Paris including the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, and Sacre Coeur. We went up to take pictures, but you can also order drinks on the terrace.

The standard room was very small, but definitely do-able. The bathrooms were very nice with showers that had 3 different options for shower heads/side jets. Very nice compared to typical european showers.

Maid service seemed a bit slow, they didn't even clean our room the first day, and cleaned it in the late afternoon on the second. However, they promptly responded to our requests for towels when the room had not been serviced. Our room overlooked a small courtyard, and it would have been nice to open the windows, but this is not an option. It was a quiet room from outside noise, but you could hear hallway/next door noises easily (i.e., TV in next room).

The hotel also had a weird policy about outside food and drink. They make you sign that you won't bring in any outside food/drink or you will be charged 20 euros. Crazy. What tourist doesn't have snacks in their room for their trip? Anyway, we ignored this and ate breakfast in our rooms (from the local market, our reservation did not include breakfast) and snacked on our packed goodies. We just tried to throw the trash away outside the room in a trash can on the street when we would leave. The hotel does have a mini-bar fridge with adequate space for a few of your own items.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Swimmer418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel did exactly what it said on the tin!

Excellent location for a family to explore the sights and sounds of Paris.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swordfishontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We arrived at Holiday Inn Notre Dame less than ten minutes before check in time at 2:00 and were told our room was not ready. We completely understood that we were early and were happy to leave the hotel and return an hour later. However an hour later, the room was not ready. We received and “I’m sorry.” We waited another half hour at the hotel and still nothing but an “I’m sorry.” We asked for a comp, and the front desk reluctantly gave us a 24 hour Internet pass worth five Euros. It was close to 4:00 before we could get into our room and open our suitcases.

Since I was traveling with a relative, and we both wished a modicum of privacy, I had reserved a room with twin beds. However the bathroom had a large picture window open to the bedroom. The window contained a shade that could be pulled down but was little more than a see-through net leaving little to the imagination. Also the frosted sliding glass door to the bathroom did not completely close due to a bumper that stopped the door one an a half inches short of the door frame. We frequently found ourselves using the restroom in the lobby, which had a door that closed and no window. Two other people traveling with us encountered the same problem with their room.

On our second morning at the hotel, we left our room at 11:00 a.m. and returned at 5:00 p.m.. We found our room had not been touched. We did not have any clean towels, drinking glasses, and beds were unmade. When I complained to the front desk, I received an “I’m sorry.” And, “If you wanted your room cleaned in the MORNING, you could have called the front desk.” In years of traveling to several countries, I have never had to call the front desk to have my room cleaned in the “morning.”

In defense of this hotel, we were in Paris during a warm spell and we were comfortable with their AC system. The breakfast served in the basement dinning room was excellent with very good service there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 145Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Lovely hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Great breakfast. Excellent location. Had a super holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was my second time staying at this Holiday Inn and I was very content with the service and comfort of this hotel. Every time I arrive the staff are very friendly and helpful, and always greet me cordially when they see that I have a Royal Ambassador status with the IHG group. This is something that rarely happens at their flagship hotels, i.e. InterContinentals, where you usually pay top dollar...
The building is nice and still seems new. Rooms are also very modern and contemporary, even if a bit smallish. But they are very comfortable and the air conditioning works very well, which is a big plus when travelling in the summer heat. I had an upgraded room and even had a small balcony that overlooked the Rue Danton; very charming.
I have not eaten at the hotel, but have heard from other guests that it is nice. I typically eat in one of the many restaurants or cafés in the neighbourhood or simply bring back some food and enjoy it on the rooftop terrace where you have magical views over Paris. This is also nice when you come back from the office and just want to relax and unwind.
There is free internet available in the lobby. You simply get an access code from the front desk. It's very fast and reliable.
Furthermore, location location location! Metro is 2 minutes away and the neighbourhood is lovely. Notre Dame is about a 10 min walk away and the Marais district about 15 mins away.
All-in-all a highly recommended hotel in lovely Paris.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dp_visser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I could go into detail about all the problems with our stay but I will instead stick with bullet points.

1. We arrived very late in the evening and after finishing the water in the room's mini-bar, we went to the front desk to get more. The person at the front desk explained that they don't have access to water this late in the evening. I repeat: a hotel does not have access to bottled water late in the evening and therefore its guests have no way of getting drinking water.

2. The first room we stayed in was room 703. After starting the shower, the water began to leak all over the floor. By the time the shower was finished, there was a flood in the bathroom that had leaked into the carpet of the bedroom. We explained this to the hotel and they moved us to room 701 where we had an identical experience. Every day we were required to request 4 large towels to put all over the bathroom floor to try to soak up Here is video footage that I took:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4p2EIHjpx8E

3. We spoke to the hotel manager who told us that he would come up with some sort of compensation for us and that he would tell us in the morning the next day before we checked out. In the morning the next day before we checked out the manager was no where to be found and the reception desk had no idea where he was. We left the hotel without anything being resolved.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HInotredame, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Allen S,

First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you met in our property. I will answer point by point.

1 - Mini Bar are refurbished on a daily basis.
2 - I'm very sorry for the leaking issue. A compensation has been done the day we met at the hotel on 18th of august that I have confirmed in my email sent to your personal attention on 24th of august in response of your messages sent to our guests relation desk on the 23rd and 24th of august.
3 - I left the hotel at 23.00pm the day previous your check out and back the day after at 9.30am. Unfortunately you had check-out meanwhile. I admit that we should have secured our meeting by arranging a precise hour.

Be sure, that we put a hard commitment for our guests satisfaction and I think most of the positive comments we have on our service can testify. Best regards.

Olivier Si-Tahar. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Finding a wheelchair accessible room in a good location at an affordable price in Paris was not an easy task, but the Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame ticks most of the boxes. My partner and I stayed for seven nights in late April 2011, arriving on Good Friday. The hotel has a good, central location, with RER and Metro stations and accessible bus routes nearby, and plenty of restaurants and cafes in surrounding streets. Notre Dame and the Seine are walking distance from the hotel. Our room was small, but big enough. The double bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was reasonably accessible, although the shower seat was not easy to use. Our room was at the back of the hotel, overlooking a quiet courtyard, so there were no issues with noise whatsoever. The room had a safe big enough for a small laptop or iPad. The hotel only provided wireless internet access in the lobby bar at 5 Euro for 24 hours - expensive by comparison with other hotels we stayed at in Europe, but cheap by Australian hotel standards. The lobby had an outside courtyard, which was pleasant in Spring weather. Bar staff did not seem to mind if we sat for a couple of hours to use wifi. There were numerous options for breakfast in the area, but the hotel's buffet breakfast was by no means standard Holiday Inn fare, comprising fresh baguettes, cold meats, cheeses, fruits, pastries, juices plus cereals and some hot options. To top it off, the hotel has a rooftop terrace, accessible by lift, that provides spectacular views of Paris. At 228 Euro per night, including buffet breakfast for two, the Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame was not cheap, but undoubtably not too bad for Paris. But it was far cheaper than their posted rack rate when we arrived - 350 Euro per night! So contacting the hotel directly in advance to arrange a good rate paid off. The Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame also doesn't have a lot of Parisian character, but more importantly, it is wheelchair accessible, with good services and transport links close by. A good hotel to get to know Paris for first timers.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#238 of 1,803 in Paris
780 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,803 in Paris
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#525 of 1,803 in Paris
389 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#617 of 1,803 in Paris
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame

Address: 4 rue Danton, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#353 Family Hotel in Paris
#354 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#465 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £127 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right in the heart of Paris at the chic Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame hotel, just 300 metres from the iconic Notre Dame cathedral. Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame is a former ministry which has been converted to a stylish eco-hotel, with energy-saving light bulbs and water recycling. Explore the Louvre museum, just a 15-minute stroll away, and take the Metro from nearby Saint Michel Notre-Dame station to the Eiffel Tower and the Champs-Elysees boulevard. Regular trains from the station deliver you to the Eurostar Terminal and airports at Paris Charles de Gaulle and Paris Orly. Neighbouring streets in the Latin Quarter are lined with bistros and enticing patisseries. Stroll from Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame to the Gothic Notre Dame Cathedral a few minutes away and visit the adjacent Jardins de Luxembourg park for a break from sightseeing. It's 30 minutes by train to events at Paris-Nord Villepinte Exhibition and Convention Centre, and 10 minutes to companies based on Avenue de France. The hotel's 3 meeting rooms have wireless Internet and room for up to 55 guests. Rise to a hot breakfast in the monochrome breakfast room at the Holiday Inn Paris-Notre Dame. After dark, order cocktails in the airy bar and chat to friends in the Lobby's honey-coloured leather armchairs. You can enjoy the rooftop terrace for a drink with a view of the Paris skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing