We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, with noise and a low ceiling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed and Breakfast Delareynie
Ranked #45 of 129 Paris B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
269 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, with noise and a low ceiling”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed six nights in the Rue de Temple apartment. The location is fantastic: five minutes from Notre Dame and Georges Pompadou; about the same to two different metro lines; ten minutes to the train; surrounded by a neighborhood with many bistros and bakeries. We had a few concerns. The apartment was small, as expected, but the upstairs loft bedroom wasn't big enough to stand up in and we had to duck low under a large beam just to enter the space... not very comfortable. The very loud nightclub across the street was open until 5:00 am, but luckily things quieted down about 3am (check it out at raiddbar.com). The windows cut out most of the sound, but then there was no cooling air; it might be a little unbearable in hot weather. Ghislain speaks excellent English and was very helpful and informative, but we only saw him once for just a few minutes. He doesn't have the option of paying by credit card, only PayPal, cash, or check; that made the payment transaction a little more difficult for us. There was a shelf with books and Paris guides in English; very helpful for tourists. The apartment has wi-fi and all of the necessary equipment and we enjoyed fixing a few dinners in the small kitchen. With all of the lights, microwave, coffee maker, radio, TV, and modem, there was only one electrical outlet left to plug in our devices. As a base station for exploring Paris it is a nice choice, but it wasn't entirely comfortable for the times we stayed in for the afternoon or evening.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, the B&B and other apartment options may be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScottandJanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
47
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The position is outstanding - in the Rue St.Julien-le-Pauvre, no more than 2 mins from Notre-Dame. Although we never met him, Ghislain was a most helpful host and recommended, and reserved for us, two excellent restaurants before we came. The approach to check-in and checkout is very relaxed, by agreement, and this seems to suit the kind of people who come to these B & Bs (also fairly relaxed!). The studio itself is small but modernised and very well arranged and well equipped. We appreciated the heated towel rail and wifi among other things. Comfortable bed, clean room. Ghislain's colleague Flavio brought us plenty of tea, nice coffee, orange juice, butter and 3 jams for our 3 night visit, and a baguette and milk for one day - we found milk etc in the Franmart in Rue Lagrange and good croissants in the Rue St Jacques, both 2 minutes walk away. Privacy was OK as no-one seemed to be at home in the apartments opposite, and the outlook onto the internal (though open) courtyard makes for a very peaceful night with windows open. Care has to be taken on the poorly-lit, rather well-worn and not very regular 3 flights of stairs in this 400 year old building (in one of the oldest areas of Paris), but we survived, despite being in our late 60s!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GolfinaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Studio apartment near Notre Dame for three days, which is in a great location, opposite a park (Place Rene Viviani), just a minute away from Notre Dame. Ghislain was a gracious host, gave us the key and took our suitcases to the studio for us, so we could explore Paris before going to the studio at midday.

The studio is up three flights of narrow, spiral stairs (which may be a problem for people with mobility issues) but we found them OK. The studio is modern and clean with an excellent, comfortable bed. The space is comfortable for two people, a small bathroom and shower, but modern and well-equipped with heated towel rack, shampoo, shower gel, cottonbuds, etc.

The window overlooks the apartment opposite, and the window when open has no screen, which meant that when the window was open, the studio lacked privacy. We needed to sleep with the window open because it was very warm; and without air-conditioning, it would be extremely hot and stuffy in summer. There was also only a quilt on the bed, which was a little hot for such warm weather. However, it was quiet at night even with the window open (because it is set back off the road) and we slept well.

Breakfast was provided for the first day (a baguette with butter and jam), but there were no fresh supplies after the first day. The sheets and towels were not changed either, but we didn't mind because it meant that we had the place completely to ourselves for the three days. Other supplies were tea and coffee, oil and vinegar, kettle, iron, umbrella, flat-screen TV and free wifi.

Overall, it was a good place to stay in the heart of Paris, and reasonable value at 110 euro per night.

Suzanne and Paul

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzySey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I just stayed at the Notre Dame apartment. The location is fantastic, walk out the front door and you are in front of Notre Dame Cathedral. The apartment has everything you need and Ghislain is a great host. The windows open onto a small, slightly dingy courtyard, but it is quieter than opening onto the street. In short a great location, good value, and a very nice host.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racer042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I travelled to Paris recently - my first visit and was having difficulty securing a hotel booking at a reasonable rate as the whole trip was a bit last minute. I came upon this B&B here on TripAdvisor. I only had one experience of a B&B before which was ensuite but being under pressure to confirm a reservation I took the good reviews here as a sign that all would be well.

As usual TripAdvisor provided to be an excellent resource for finding new places and this charming B&B overexceeded my expectations.

The location was excellent, it’s a few minutes walking distance to Notre Dame, the Louvre and the Metro stop Chatelet to get you further afield if your not up for walking.

The host Ghislain is the best thing about the B&B he is so friendly and helpful and makes you feel right at home.

Yes the wooden floorboards are squeaky but apart from hearing them squeak underfoot when I walked around I could not hear anything from other rooms. The breakfast included is a nice touch – bread and pastries. There are many restaurants, cafes and shops directly under and within a few minutes walk of the B&B if you fancy something more.

There is some street noise and if you are a very light sleeper maybe it may not suit you but some earplugs should suffice.

There were no issues with sharing the bathroom, it was kept clean and you were not going to be caught short for lack of toilet paper  also there was plenty of hot water.

If you are considering this B&B and the location suits you and you are not the lightest of sleepers I would say go ahead, the rates are fantastic and you wont meet a nicer host.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DglGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Four of us, two couples, booked a week at Delareynie. The host, Ghislain, is a French-Canadian who has lived in Paris for 7 years. He is most accommodating, preparing a typical French continental breakfast daily - orange juice, coffee, croissants, baguettes, My wife likes eggs for breakfast and we bought them at a nearby market. Ghislain happily prepared them for us to our specifications each morning.

There are two spacious rooms with double beds and one smaller room suitable for a solo traveler. Ghislain sleeps in this room when it is not occupied. Otherwise we sleeps in the very large living room. Don't let that dissuade you, as he is up and about before you awake.

You have free WiFi and free access to the small kitchen and refrigerator - handy for storing beer, soft drinks and wine and left-overs from your afternoon picnic. You may also use his washer / dryer, saving a bundle on outside laundry service, as well as time that would otherwise be wasted sitting at a laundromat.

The B&B is about a 2 minute walk from the Chattelet - Les Halles train / metro station and about 15 second walk from the Pompidou Center. It is also a block away from the Hotel d' Paris and about 5 minutes to Notre Dame Cathedral. In other words, it is in a prime location.

Drawbacks are that it is on the 4th (American 3rd) floor and the elevator only runs from the 2nd floor (American 1st), so yo will have to walk one flight. Also, there is no A/C, and while the weather was pleasant when we visited in early June, the lack of A/C in July and August will be sorely missed. Fans are available. The floors are wooden and creaky, so be prepared to hear everyone at night trek to and from the toilet. Not a big deal, and kind of funny trying to recognize who is making the walk by listening to the tell-tale creaks.

What really sold us was the price, about $110 per night per couple. Another couple that we traveled with stayed at a 4 star hotel near the Musee d 'Orsay and paid $420 per night and 45 Euros each for breakfast. (Obviously, they went to a nearby Starbucks for their morning java.) And, when we visited them we learned that their A/C was not working.

An additional note: Ghislain will gladly call restaurants or otherwise help you with your stay. We were traveling to Burgundy and wanted to dine at a particular restaurant. After we left Paris, Ghislain called them, made the reservation for us, and emailed us the information while we were on the road.

Bottom line, Delareyne is highly recommended for its location, price and terrific host.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimvogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Ghislain was a fantastic host and couldn't have done more for us. The apartment was spotless and the room had a delightful balcony to soak up the local atmosphere and sunshine. The breakfast was fresh and delicious; croissants, baguettes and jam with lovely coffee and orange juice, served in a marvellous dining room. The apartment was so central for the Pompidou centre, Seine, Notre Dame and Les Halles shopping centre. The area was full of cafes, art galleries. This is a gem of a place to stay and we will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,027 of 1,798 in Paris
128 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#408 of 1,798 in Paris
685 reviews
Le Marais
Vieux Marais
Vieux Marais
#1,222 of 1,798 in Paris
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Beaubourg
Hotel Beaubourg
#439 of 1,798 in Paris
695 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#333 of 1,798 in Paris
465 reviews
Le Marais
Parc Royal Marais
Parc Royal Marais
#13 of 129 in Paris
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Delareynie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Delareynie

Property: Bed and Breakfast Delareynie
Address: 22 rue de la Reynie, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am situated in the heart of Paris, just steps away from famous centre Georges Pompidou and of the Marais will be a pleasure for us to greet you in this historic and animated neighbourhood. By foot, by bus, by bicycle (Velib) or by metro, you will easily discover the Hotel de ville (city hall), the Louvre, the Notre-Dame cathedral, the quartier Latin, as well as many cafes, pubs, and excellent restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Delareynie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Delareynie
Bed And Breakfast Delareynie Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing