We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Hotel met our needs well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille
Ranked #1,506 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Between the Gare de Lyon train station and Bastille metro stops, the location was excellent for visiting Paris. The CDG airport shuttle goes directly to Gare de Lyon. Arriving jet lagged, we dropped off luggage in the morning, grabbed brunch at one of many neighborhood cafes, and walked the nearby elevated gardens (former train tracks turned to plantings) for some lovely views of Paris streets. What a great way to transition from a long flight to the beautiful city. We had two very small rooms, each with baths, one facing an inner wall where the window did not open, the other was better with a view of roof tops and fresh air. The beds were comfortable and showers were hot. With the local cafes so convenient we did not eat breakfast at the hotel. As we were leaving via the TGV in the early morning after a 3-day stay, the location and easy public transportation made this hotel a very convenient, affordable option.

Room Tip: The elevator only serves rooms up to the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

The welcome by Cyrille on arrival was the perfect sign that our stay was going to be great! and great it was. He gave us a large room facing the road but surprisingly the noise element was not there. We had three windows and a spacious room, really very clean and neat. I think the hotel prides itself in high standard of cleanliness. The bathroom was also very clean.

It is well located one has to just roll one's suitcases out of the front of the Gare de Lyon and the road to the hotel is right in front. Not difficult to find it is on the right side. It is indeed very central the metro is at the station (the exit is rue Diderot). Very good restaurants around and what was wonderful was that there was a warm charming Patisserie across the road where we ate the most delicious almond croissants with coffee. The area around has wonderful art galleries and shops. A good area to be in!

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! could not have been more comfortable, the bed, the pillow it was a good stay!

Room Tip: Recommend room 202 with three large windows!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ishrieknt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Location: Great if you want to visit the sex shops nearby.
We stayed for one night and were put in a fourth floor room with a window onto a shaft between buildings. How ironic that the fire evacuation instructions said to hang out of the window and shout for help. Even more ironic that the fire alarm sounded and the staff didn't have a clue what to do. There was no evacuation or assistance from the staff. They just stood around looking at the fire panel whilst the guest milled around. It's fortunate that it wasn't a real fire because it would be impossible to escape from the fourth floor - it's almost like an attic.

Our room was tiny, the window was cracked all the way down and had been smeared with sealant to weatherproof the crack. There was no handle on the window as it had been removed.
The bathroom...I make no exaggeration when I say you could sit on the toilet and touch all four walls, and it had a toilet, bath and sink in there! It's obvious that they've shoehorned in as many rooms as possible to maximise income.

Room Tip: Don't bother
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Maxime D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 10 nights.
Strategically located between Bastille Square and Gare de Lyon train station.
I had a vacation deal from Orbitz and expected a better room. The room was small with a tiny bathroom with window to a light shaft which had to be kept open for some kind of ventilation.
The staff is gentle but without much ability to change things.
I got room 106. Be aware that the left side of the bed has broken springs that bring agonizing back pains. The staff was not able to change mattress. Disappointing!
As most of time I was out and came back only to sleep I could manage, somehow, to sleep like a log.
The hotel is clean, the tap water is good, and hope that the staff can become more effective.
Reasonable hotel for the less pampered.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karyoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the staff to be incredible! We had a very large room (especially by European standards!) and a great view of the street below. The location is walking distance of Gare de Lyon train station and many, many great restaurants, The metro is also very close by. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: we asked for a large room on an upper floor - it was actually a quad room but we pushed two twin bed...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dmdc3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Good place to stay since its very near to metro station going to some part of paris. Close to grocery store and fruit stand vendor. Easy to find and friendly staff. Breakfast is not much good but better than nothing to start with your day. Expensive but worth the place location. Looking forward to be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet Bernabe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#933 of 1,803 in Paris
226 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,093 of 1,803 in Paris
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Jules Cesar
Hotel Jules Cesar
#1,194 of 1,803 in Paris
204 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon
Hotel du Midi Gare de Lyon
#1,350 of 1,803 in Paris
94 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#1,341 of 1,803 in Paris
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille

Address: 12 rue de Lyon, 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,506 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £76 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille is located between the « Gare de Lyon » train station and «Place de la Bastille». You will have access to the West side of Paris, les Champs Elysees and la Defense, as well as the East side toward Disneyland or the Bercy Arena POPB. You will also have access to all public transport located at « Gare de Lyon » station which will allow you to travel quickly to all the major tourist attractions of Paris. The Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille is located 300 metres from « Gare de Lyon » train station and 500 metres from the Seine river. The Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille is a non-smoking hotel. Renovated in 2016, the hotel is great value for money and open 24h per day. Ideally located for business trips as well as leisure trips, the Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille will allow you to enjoy an animated quarter during the day and festive at night with a large number of coffee shops and restaurants along streets such as « rue de Lappe » and the « Aligre quarters » all less than 10 minutes walk away. Nearby, you will find the Bercy and the Opera Bastille as well as shopping districts, «Jardin des Plantes» and «Place des Vosges». The hotel's location allows you easy access to all of Paris's historical and cultural sites. Direct access to mains shopping areas . You will enjoy the comfort of a hotel. The rooms are accessible by lift and all the rooms, from single to the family room for 4 people, have individual air conditioning. All the rooms are non-smoking, soundproofed and with the comfort of showers, Flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. Family room with kitchenette. The "Comfort Rooms" offers additional welcome tray with coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de France Gare de Lyon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing