We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best hotel I've ever stay in Paris!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Ranked #61 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2011

All staff (who worked at front and cleaning room and more)are so kindly, and helpful.
The design of all part of this hotel was modern and very very clean. I feel it's the"Paris"style.But bed spring is too soft for me. In the night, I was necessary to listen to the music to the room next to mine, because the wall of the room is thin.
The breakfast, we could have a lot of items not only bread and coffee. there are vegetables and fruits and hams and fresh juices!
The place, we could take to OPERA station by walk. very conbinient.

this hotel is very comfortable and clean.
I'd like to stay again for next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mei24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,435)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Joyce - Astotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

Great service, one of the best breakfast, I had in french hotels...
Decoration was very simple but thoughtful.
Although the rooms were a bit small,
Ipod/iphone docks in rooms:) great...

Staff was always very helpful...
Definitely recommend...
Location might be a problem for some of you.
But if you use metro, no problem...
St.Georges stop is only 300-400mt away from the hotel....

Room Tip: superior rooms on upper floors with street view..
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The room was clean and new. The breakfeast could have more items.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank jklok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

A recently modernised hotel reasonably near the center of Paris. Easy access with very helpful and pleasant staff. Always willing to advise where to eat and best way to get around. Had a room looking into the central courtyard which meant that it was quiet at night (room 301). Room pleasant, big enough for the 5 days, comfortable bed and a good sized shower room. Flat screen TV (only English is CNN and BBC World). Breakfast (served in the conservatory in the central area) was varied (not vast) with bread, croisants etc, cereals, yogurt, meats and cheese, fruit etc. Tea (varied choice) and Coffee. During the day and until late at night the breakfast bar is available free for hot and cold drinks, nibbles, the remaining croisants and pain o chocolate, free water (to be taken in the conservatory etc.
Although has a lift, this would not take a wheelchair. There are only 2 rooms on the ground floor I think and unless these are available then this hotel will not suit disabled unless ambulant.
We caught the train from CDG to Gare de Nord then metro to St Lazaire from there to St George (nearest). Getting around Paris, advised by reception to use Liege metro stop which proved perfect. Bought book of 10 tickets which is best value 12 Euro)
Restaurants in the area not brilliant. A modest priced one, out of hotel, turn left and left again and at bottom of the hill across the first road. Opposite this restaurant is 'The two Theatres' more pricey at 39 Euros/person but inc. a bottle of wine. Better food, nicer atmosphere but you need to book for Saturdays. Those further on in the square = pub food and poor. We found food varied in quality and price. You need to pick carefully.
Access to visitor sites can be expensive from 10 - 15 Euros+

Room Tip: Ask reception for room overlooking courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MovingArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Best hotel I have ever stayed in Paris.

Cool and well-decorated rooms are spacious - by Paris standards. Clean bathroom, and super comfy double bed with lots of pillows! WIFI was fast and never disconnected once, but had to renew passwords with reception on a daily basis.

Location was good, near Pigalle and Clichy, and easily accessible to all shopping areas too.

I am one person who's very fussy about hotels, and I must say Joyce Hotel has met my standards. I stayed for 5 nights, and every night was as pleasant as it could get. I requested for a room with a balcony upon internet booking, and was pleased as a punch when they accomodated my request and allocated me one.

I agree with the other travellers; the best gem about the hotel is the staff.. especially the male staff - very helpful and spoke perfect english. Free breakfast was also a plus, and the spread was good.

Price point is good for what you get - not too expensive nor cheap. Keep the rates this way please.

TOTALLY loved my stay there, and will surely book them again on my next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trisharius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My daughter and I took our once-in-a-lifetime trip to Paris and left the men at home so that we could shop, go to museums and just do those things we can't when they're with us. I saw Hotel Joyce mentioned in Travel and Leisure magazine and decided to try it. What a perfect choice! Affordable, immaculate, nice breakfasts, great neighborhood, wonderful staff (especially Samuel who went out of his way to help us with excursions), convenient to everything. Young people will particularly enjoy staying here - young couples, young travelers, young families. Older, more traveled people might find some of the accommodations not as luxurious as they want (no frills, not much room in the bathroom, no comfortable sitting chair, small towels, stuff like that). But my daughter and I spent so little time in the room, it didn't matter to us. VERY TINY ELEVATOR, and the staircase is circular, so in the event of an emergency, it might be difficult for elderly people to get out quickly. One small complaint - there's no electrical outlet in the bathroom (usual in Europe) but it would be helpful if there was a mirror near the outlet in the bedroom. If you stay here, bring a travel mirror with you if you need to use a curling iron. Other than that, it's a great hotel. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachmaven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This hotel is situated close to Pigalle and it's a comfortable walk to Montmarte and the Sacre Coeur. It's a short walk to Opera and all the major stores around there. It's also handy for several Metro stations, putting all the major attractions within easy reach. The rooms, which not huge, are spacious by Paris standards and are very stylish and comfortable. The public rooms are also very stylishly decorated - tres chic! Breakfast in the hotel is a treat - lots of choice and plenty to go round. The immediate area itself is mainly residential, making a good night's sleep easy to come by, and there are some nice neighbourhood restaurants close by where we were the only tourists. We would recommend Bistro Lorette and Bistro Deux Theatres. The best thing about this hotel, though, is the staff. They all speak outstanding English and have great knowledge of the immediate area and Paris in general. They're a real feather in the hotel's cap. I wouldn't hesitate to return and I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#47 of 1,803 in Paris
783 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#8 of 1,803 in Paris
1,034 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#43 of 1,803 in Paris
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#32 of 1,803 in Paris
1,454 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#99 of 1,803 in Paris
820 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#118 of 1,803 in Paris
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Address: 29, rue la Bruyere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £95 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing