We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Ranked #53 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and the reviews we read were absolutely true. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and all spoke English, which was a great help to us. We were in room 502 and it was was spotlessly clean and comfortable and very quiet at night. There were plenty of options to eat out near the hotel, and the immediate area was really interesting, Montmartre, Sacre-Coeur and Moulin Rouge were within walking distance. Also the facilities at the bar area are very welcome at the end of the day, to refresh and head out again. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rblr3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    619
    47
    6
    14
See reviews for
291
1,204
98
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very charming design hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. I have never slept so quiet in such a big city. The hotel and the rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. The location is great as you can walk to many interesting places. Next time I visit Paris I will definitely book Joyce Hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a window to the inner courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorte71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullingar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just back from weekend break in Paris and stayed at Joyce hotel. Lovely hotel with very friendly and efficient staff. Rooms good size with very comfie beds. Breakfast very good with a good selection. It is situated in a nice residential area with metro close by give easy access to all of Paris. Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moleesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed our visit. We had previously stayed at another Astotel, the Palm Opera which was also good but the Hotel Joyce was a little better. The breakfast was good with a variety of food on offer including hot and cold items. The snack bar was also great and was ideal to come back to after walking around Paris. The beds were very comfortable and although the room was quite small it was nicely decorated and had everything you would need. The hotel was in a good location and it was easy to get around. Montamartre and Galleries Lafayette were in walking distance and other places easy to get to via the metro. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return or recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debster60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We have just returned to Australia after spending more than 3 weeks at Hotel Joyce. It was the most wonderful stay for us.
The twin beds were perfectly comfortable (better than home), the room was beautifully clean, a good size and the decor divine. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean and functioned well. We never ran out of hot water and had lovely fresh towels every day. Our room was 202 and overlooked the breakfast gazebo and courtyard. There was no noise and a nice cool breeze each evening. Good bedside lights for reading. I would have liked a small fridge and kettle but the open bar in the breakfast room did make up for this. We could get a juice,coffee, tea, water, coke etc and salty snacks when needed.
The staff were sensational! This was the last month of our nine week holiday in Europe and we so appreciated the warmth and hospitality that Hotel Joyce offered to us. The breakfast staff worked incredibly hard and there were some mornings when they were extremely busy but that didn't stop them making a second coffee if desired. We really enjoyed our coffee, croissants , eggs, fresh bread, cheese's and ham, etc all supplied in the courtyard gazebo area which was so smart and trendy.
The reception staff were all sensational and spoke excellent English and other languages as well. They were extremely helpful and generous with their time. Our initial accommodation enquiry was with Jennifer and it was her willingness to assist and her charming manner that really won us over.
The restaurant 2 doors away, Les Cannailles was excellent and reasonably priced for the standard of the food. Unfortunately it was so often booked out and one needed to book a couple of days earlier. We also loved Lazare (20 minutes walk) at Gare St Lazare. It was amazing and definitely requires advance booking.
We had 2 metro stations, 2 minutes walk from the hotel however we walked everywhere as Hotel Joyce is in an excellent location to so many of the highlights of Paris.
Beware of the gypsie girls who ask you to sign their clipboards as they are just thieves. My daughter was pounced on by three of the young girls and felt a hand slip into her pocket. One had pickpocketed her iPhone and was hiding it under her sheets of paper. My daughter fortunately got it straight back by using some assertive French. 19 year old girls and iPhones are not separated easily! These young girls are harmless (I think) but their job is to get easy money or phones from unsuspecting tourists. They hang around L'Opera, the train and metro stations and the big department stores - in fact anywhere touristy. We also saw them at work along the Champs Elyssées.
The local creperie just next to the Eglise de la Sainte Trinite (Trinity Church) at 14 Rue Blanche was a stop for us on most days. The gentleman making the crepes (also rolls etc) was a special gentle man who seemed to know all the locals and his business was well frequented by them. His establishment was exceptionally clean (so unlike many Parisian cafes) and he crafted his crepes with love. They were always perfect! As you head to the creperie don't forget a euro coin for the woman who sits everyday on the corner of rue Jean Baptiste and Rue de la tour des Dames. It will be getting cold for her now and although there are many homeless and beggars in Paris we chose her as our friend in our wanderings. We felt that we could make a little difference to her life in the few weeks we were there. We considered ourselves to be so lucky staying in Hotel Joyce and in such a great part of Paris.

Room Tip: 202 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SachaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent 5 days at Joyce hotel at the end of october. Very nice hotel,good breakfast,very helpful staff. The location is also very good, underground 5 minutes walking from the hotel. I'd definetily recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabaccino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed there only a night, but staff was friendly and very helpful. I love the hotel design; chic and parisian. Room was very clean and new. Best part of it was the open bar from afternoon till night with a variety of drinks and snacks. Location-wise, is abit inconvenient as it took us awhile to find the hotel and Pigalle station is actually 20 mins by walk. Other than that, everything was great! I would recommend friends to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#25 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#112 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#90 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#52 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#40 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Property: Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Address: 29, rue la Bruyere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing