We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Ranked #51 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great stay, super friendly staff.
Really good location if you want to visit the Moulin Rouge or Sacre Coeur.
Suvway station is within 3 minutes walking distance if you want to go to Champs Elysees.
Free Wifi and an open bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    613
    45
    6
    14
See reviews for
284
1,193
98
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were very happy with this hotel. It was in a surprisingly quiet neighbourhood a short walk from the nearest metro station. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We loved our room which was well appointed with very comfortable beds and a great shower. Breakfasts were fantastic and we really appreciated the availability of hot and cold drinks as well as snacks later in the day. There were several good restaurants nearby. We loved our very short stay in Paris and will return to Horel Joyce in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel was in a central location, very close to Saint George's metro station and was within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions such as sacre couer, moulin rouge,the louvre, all staff very helpful and polite, room was comfortable and very clean and spacious, and great value for money :) It made the trip so much more enjoyable! Thank you Hotel Joyce!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickig240582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Once again, Tripadvisor reviews were right on the mark! We chose this hotel based on reviews here, and were not disappointed! After an awful flight with no sleep, terrible cab ride in pouring rain and traffic, walking into this charming and modern hotel instantly brightened my mood.

Our room, on the 5th floor, had just the right combination of modern, romantic, and quirky design elements, all tasteful and inviting. It is clear that someone put a lot of thought into the the design of each aspect of this hotel. The room was a decent size for a European hotel, very clean, and had a charming balcony with table and chairs, perfect for morning coffee and a croissant, with a postcard streetview (I don't think that all rooms have balconies - ask if you want one). The room had a desk and chair, bed, and convenient closet with hanging areas and shelving. The bed was comfortable - not too soft or hard - and had wonderfully comfortable bedding. The bathroom had a shower and sink, but the toilet was in a separate water closet; this seemed weird at first, but actually turned out to be helpful for two people getting ready in the morning. The shower had the easiest-to-understand-and-operate controls of any shower we used in Europe, with excellent water pressure, and the fixtures, etc. were modern and attractive. Overall, I absolutely loved our room; the only beef I had was that there is a design flaw in the shower that makes it tend to flood out onto the floor where the sink is (my husband did figure out a way to reduce this).

The breakfast room on the ground level is completely charming and wonderful - high arched glass ceilings bring in the outdoors and morning light. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Europe - great variety - don't miss the egg dishes and the Nutella crepes! We ate so well at the breakfast buffet that we didn't mind waiting until after 7:00 pm, when most restaurants in Paris start serving dinner. And one unique feature will definitely help if you do get the midday munchies - they have free snacks (like yummy croissants, etc.) soft-drinks, tea, etc, available in the afternoon in the breakfast room.

The staff here were all wonderful, and all speak good English. We were especially grateful for Hattem, who gave us great restaurant recommendations, directions to attractions and the Metro stations, extra towels, etc. all with a cheerful smile! His hospitality was in contrast to the reputation of French rudeness (we experienced a little of that around Paris, but not much).

As other reviews mention, the lift here is the smallest I have ever seen! We joked about this a lot; you can barely fit two people and two bags in it. Keep this in mind if you are on a higher floor (there are 6 floors). The steep, winding staircase can be reasonably used for lower floors, if you are fit and want a good workout!

We heard lots of other languages spoken among guests in the breakfast room - we loved that international flavor that this hotel attracts. We also love the Montmarte neighborhood - it is a good starting point for anything you want to see in Paris, but not flooded with tourists and noise. The street that the hotel is on is even more quiet, but still has restaurants, cafes, etc. Because this is a more residential area, it was fun to see Parisian residents going about their day. We took the hop-on, hop-off double decker tour bus to see the sights - easy to get to one of the boarding points from the hotel, and a great way to see the city (ask the front desk for info).

This was our first time in Paris, and this hotel really made the trip! We truly loved this gem of a hotel. I had BAD jet lag when we first arrived, but a restful nap in our charming room cured it! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We liked the upper floors (5th, 6th) for a great streetview; these were pretty quiet, although the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreamer1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
483 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

It is a cute place with cosy interior, free breakfast and nice and helpful staff. Location is ok, not far from the opera and value is excellent if you compare it to more upmarket hotels. The room I had was rather small, but with a nice balcony and big bathroom with walk in shower. Elevator was rather small, it fits only two (skinny people) and if you are claustrophobic you rather ask for lover floors so you can walk the stairs. There is plenty of decent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I spent five nights at the Hotel Joyce. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location was convinient to the Metro station. We found the room to be clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast was more than we hoped for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My boy friend and I went to Paris in October 2013 and stayed in Hotel Joyce for 5 nights. This was our first time to Paris and had a great time. The hotel location is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful . There are many nice restaurants around and just few mins walk to Metro Station, Opera and Montmartre. The atmosphere and the decorate and everything of this hotel are excellent and fantastic.

Room Tip: book a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#106 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#47 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#103 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#33 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Property: Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Address: 29, rue la Bruyere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing