We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Ranked #51 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
East Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Joyce for a 5 day break in Paris in August. Well-located, (about a 12 euro taxi fare from Paris Gare du Nord Eurostar station), close to some good restaurants and very handy for the St Georges metro station; we walked up to the lovely Montmatre area a couple of times but otherwise took the excellent metro system everywhere else. Our room was a superior double on the 5th floor, smallish but perfectly adequate for us, very clean and with a comfortable bed. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful at all times and the free drinks/snacks availability all day long and well into the evening was a real bonus. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRS8124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear PRS8124,

What a really nice comment!
Thank you very much for recommending us with this nice review.
We are happy to read you enjoyed your overall experience with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    618
    47
    6
    14
See reviews for
291
1,204
98
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Came back for five nights as we had a good experience last year. Glad we did. WiFi is free, fast and easy, breakfast is free and is excellent, bed was clean and comfortable, location very central, quiet and close to Metro (St George) and finally the service was absolutely outstanding. Every member of staff was most welcoming and helpful - probably the best we have seen. No wonder this place rates so highly on TripAdvisor. Will stay again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceebails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ceebails

Above all, thank you very much for your loyalty and this awesome review!
We are delighted to read about your stay complete satisfaction!
Thank you for doing us the honor to share it here.
We hope you had a pleasant trip back to your Sunshine Coast.

We look forward to welcoming you again!
See you next year with great pleasure !

Sincerely,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wonderful time here. Staff very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. A bit on the small size - but such good value.
Breakfast included, which had a range of choices - all nice. In the afternoons, one could help yourself to a variety of drinks and nibbles free of charge. So nice to be able to relax with a cup of tea and pastry after a long day of walking around Paris.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Helen M,

What a really nice review! Thank you very much!
We are glad to please our customers with our complimentary services and delighted to read we met your own satisfaction.

We can't wait to welcome you again in our hotel ;-) !

Sincerely,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

my first experience of this hotel was amazing, I would definitely come back again. They gave me a room as what i expected pink since i'm travelling with my girlfriend. (decorated nice and clean). Everyday breakfast was included, variety of choices, we were proudly satisfy. The best part was the Hotel service, I have to say is the best service i have ever experienced. He not only greet and remember us, he took the initiative to ask if we need shuttle to the airport on the day we leave. we didn't know there was a shuttle service until he offered. We also have a luggage that the airline have left it in London, The airline hung up our line, and he help us call back and fight for our compassion. Luckily our luggage arrived on the second day. The stay was awesome, I would recommend people to stay here, Couple blocks to St. George station, walking distances to Lafaye.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QQmi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear QQmi33,

Thank you very much for coming back on your experience and sharing it with us here!
Your initiative touch us and we are grateful to you for having taken the time to write this lovely review.
Rest assured that our staff was glad to serve and please you during your stay with us.
We will forward your nice support to our staff and thank you in advance on its behalf.

Thank you for warmly recommending us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome and serve you again next time you are in Paris!

Regards,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location, pleasantly decorated and clean. All staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Our only (small) complaint was that we had booked a double room and it was twin beds pushed together. However, our room was a good size and cleaned every day so we didn't want to make a fuss and ask to switch rooms.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotshoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Scotshoegal,

Thank you very much for this really cute review!
We feel sorry for you to read you didn't dare to inform us about your "small" dissapointment concerning your bed.
It would have been a pleasure to satisfy your need and we could have at least check the avaibilities for a room matching your preferences.
Rest assured we do our best to match our guests expectations, so next time don't hesitate to ask ;-)

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is close to the Gare du Nord, which meant for us as Eurostar travellers that we could walk between both in about 20 minutes. The hotel is nicely situated in a quiet old area of apartments, small shops and restaurants with some theatres close by. It only takes about 10 minutes to walk to the magnificent Garnier Opera House as well as prestigious shops such as Galleria Lafayette and Printemps. In the opposite direction to the north, the Montmartre area can also be reached within 10 minutes from the hotel. There are some excellent small restaurants within walking distance although many were closed at some point in August.
The hotel is kept very clean, was comfortable and well decorated in a modern style, and offered tea/coffee facilities within the room. The hotel staff were welcoming and very pleasant throughout our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms fronting the street are quiet during the month of August especially during the evenings an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely message!
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel strategic location to easily explore the city.
Our staff do its best to satisfy our customers needs and make them spend a lovely time with us. We are delighted you appreciated their dedication to their mission.

We hope to see you again soon in our hotel!

Regards,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is small and pleasant. The room is clean and the cleaners did a good job in room and bathroom. My husband got locked in the bathroom as the lock on door was dodgy. Room 602

Breakfast was okay. The Breakfast lady and guy were lovely. However i did have to ask for things that had ran out like sausages, pancakes. On one day they had Boiled egg and then the next 2 days they did not.
They offer complimentary drinks what was very nice especially as we got back from a late night, tired sightseeing.

Lift is very small but at least it works.

They remembered to provide a cot for my baby and bedding was clean although we bought our own.
On arrival the guy at reception did help us and go over the metro in Paris.
Normally we would get a call in the room to check if everything was okay but we didnt receive one as courtesy.

Overall good stay for 3 days.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkCharlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear UkCharlee,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us!
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused by the dodgy door in your bathroom.
Rest assured that this technical issue in the room 602 has been fixed by now.

Moreover, our breakfast staff attention has been raised in order to ensure that boiled eggs and breakfast replenishment are well made every day.
Thank you very much for informing us about that point and then, for allowing us to avoid this mistake to happen again!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in one of our Astotel hotels soon!


Sincerely,


Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#24 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#8 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#111 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#91 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#52 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#39 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Property: Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Address: 29, rue la Bruyere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing