We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Ranked #51 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We just stayed there late July.

Pros
- We were put on the 5th floor and had a balcony- only 3 rooms have balconies.
- Customer service is amazing at this hotel- very polite, friendly, and professional. We tried to book a shuttle to the airport too late (one day before our flight) and the gentleman called 3 different places and it was midnight. Make sure to book the shuttle early as it's cheaper than a cab.
- We bought some wine to sit and drink on the balcony and the front desk made sure we had wine glasses.
- We were given maps when we checked in.
- Breakfast is good, especially the cheese! They actually make you coffee, tea, cappuccino, or mocha too.
- Excellent location as you are a 5 minute walk from Moulin Rouge and you can also walk to Montmartre. You are also a 2-3 minute walk to the St. George Metro station. You also have access to many souvenir shops so you can shop in one night and not have to carry it around all day. There are also some grocery stores nearby
- Towels are very clean! I am a germophobe and always inspect my towels very carefully before using them and every night this hotel had spotless towels.
- We were able to borrow a North American electrical converter from the front desk as my husband needed 1 with 3 holes for his business laptop and the one we brought with us only had 2.

Cons
- The bed we had was lumpy on one side- just my side- it slopped downwards but my husband's side was fine, it was hard for me to get a good sleep but my husband's love of the balcony prevented me from requesting a room change. However, if you do have a problem, tell front desk immediately as they very much care about your stay and know how to run a business.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,625
    618
    47
    6
    14
See reviews for
291
1,204
98
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Was such a cute hotel! Very clean, the staff were great! They were very helpful and spoke good English. We got a room with a balcony. The only thing was the bed was tiny. It was only a double and wasn't great as my husband is very tall. The was was bigger then I expected. It's close to the trains and Moulin Rouge. It was about a 15 20min train ride to the heart of paris. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and chose this hotel based on very goodTripAdvisor reviews. We found the reviews to be very indicative indeed - we agree with the high ranking this hotel gets, and would definitely recommend it.

Good location, walking distance to 2 different metro lines and good service to the area by buses. Very close to Moulin Rouge, and Sacre Cour. Quiet street. Quite close to Gare du Nord station if arriving by Eurostar (cab was <€15).

Rooms are not huge but are really stylish, well appointed and cleaned well.

Breakfast was included and was a nice spread of usual continental stuff. They also have complimentary soft drinks and pastries and coffee/tea available after lunch time. Really nice touch which not many hotels offer, and very welcome after a long day.

Staff, without exception, are excellent. Very friendly, all speaking very good English, and happy to help out with anything. From our orientation session to checking out we found them to be top notch.

Considering all this the price was great value and we would love to be able to come back and stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lummers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel. The people are plesent and know English in high level.
"Very beautiful and "shick!
Next to the hotel there are markets and restaurant. More than that it is near the metro.

The barkfest was also very good.

We can't say enough about the crew, they helped us more then they needed with safe keeping of our luggage even after leaving the hotel (for 3 days) and for our friends with no charge!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Three of us stayed at this hotel from 7-10 August on a girls weekend. We arrived at breakfast time and staff came out of the hotel to greet us at the car and assist with luggage. Although check-in was at 2pm we asked if rooms were available and one was so we were able to leave our bags and were also offered a free breakfast. Plenty of choice at breakfast, but there may be a slight wait for tables when busy and it would assist the staff if they had trays to use when clearing tables! One of our party was gluten intolerant, which had been mentioned when booking, but no provision had been made. However, once we spoke to reception she was provided with gluten free bread the following day and cakes were added the day after; excellent customer care. During the afternoon through till midnight there is a selection of hot and cold drinks, cakes and fruit in the dining area to which guests may help themselves free of charge, which is a lovely touch. All staff we encountered were very friendly and extremely helpful with any questions we had about directions, restaurants, metro, etc. and even called a restaurant and booked a table for us! Rooms are comfortable and well maintained and have free wifi. The hotel itself is in an excellent location within walking distance of Montmatre and two metro stations. Disneyland Paris is easily reached by train and was 15EUR return. All three of us would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just stayed 5 nights at Hotel Joyce and cannot fault it. The room is an adequate size for 2 people, very clean and well appointed. The hotel is very close to Metro stations Pigalle and Saint-Georges and there are also bus stops close by. Attractions such as Moulin Rouge and Sacre Coeur are within walking distance. What makes this hotel however, is the staff. From local restaurant recommendations to advising what medications to request from the pharmacy when I came down with a cold, they were amazing and spot on. Very attentive and always welcoming. The dining room is quaint and the breakfast ample. As others have mentioned, the complimentary cold drinks and snack are perfect after a long day sightseeing. This hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Saral L,

First of all, we hope you feel better now thanks to your cold medications.
Moreover, thank you very much for sharing your experience here with such pleasant words.
We will immediately forward your nice support to our staff. Thanks you for them.

We are glad our services matched your expectations and hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel next time you are in Paris!

Kind regards,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Joyce for a 5 day break in Paris in August. Well-located, (about a 12 euro taxi fare from Paris Gare du Nord Eurostar station), close to some good restaurants and very handy for the St Georges metro station; we walked up to the lovely Montmatre area a couple of times but otherwise took the excellent metro system everywhere else. Our room was a superior double on the 5th floor, smallish but perfectly adequate for us, very clean and with a comfortable bed. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful at all times and the free drinks/snacks availability all day long and well into the evening was a real bonus. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRS8124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_joyce, Directeur général at Hotel Joyce - Astotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear PRS8124,

What a really nice comment!
Thank you very much for recommending us with this nice review.
We are happy to read you enjoyed your overall experience with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,

Marie-Laure Rigole,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#24 of 1,798 in Paris
1,110 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#8 of 1,798 in Paris
874 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#111 of 1,798 in Paris
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#91 of 1,798 in Paris
723 reviews
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#52 of 1,798 in Paris
594 reviews
Hotel HELUSSI
#39 of 1,798 in Paris
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joyce - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joyce - Astotel

Property: Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Address: 29, rue la Bruyere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joyce - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at an unconventional spot of the upper 9th district, the Joyce Hotel is ideally located at the crossroads of the theater district, Place St-Georges, and the "hot-spots" of the fashionable South-Pigalle neighborhood. Maliciously decorated by Philippe Maidenberg, with nods to inevitable Parisian monuments, our hotel will seduce you with its comfort and bold design. Luxury car furniture recycled as improvised seats, inverted Eiffel Tower, delicate tromple-l'oeil paintings around beds, breakfast with bio breads and cereals under a very Eiffel-like glass roof: Everything is ready to usher you into a fun and surprising world. Our 44 rooms are full of thoughtful and delicate touches that add to the cosiness of the place. All rooms feature a quiet atmosphere, strengthened in some cases with a terrace or an enchanting view over the rooftops. Our team, available 24/24, will welcome you into a chic and relaxing atmosphere, while advising you on the top attractions of a perfect stay Find design rooms filled with art works and indulge in a burst of merriment and fresh air in the capital ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Joyce - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing