We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best hotel I've ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Design Secret de Paris
Ranked #28 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Secret de Paris is not only wonderful as concept design, but in any particular aspect of accommodating their guests, the staff is always ready to help you with everything. Every room has a theme, you could be sleeping at Moulin Rouge, Eiffel Tower, Opera Garnier etc. the rooms are soundproof, there is a wonderful sound system, free wifi, you have a jacuzzi or a rain shower in the bathroom, all Azzaro toiletries, you can reserve the spa for yourself anytime you wish and the list can go on, as there is a lot of care for all the details. The location of the hotel is central and convenient, walking distance from the opera and most of the theatres. And there is also the great staff, you feel really welcomed, they will speak your language and try to help in any way (for example I had to re-edit some documents and print them, I wasn't able to do that from my mobile device, the staff borrowed me a laptop and after editing I could wirelessly print my documents! Where else in a hotel you could do that?)
I believe that Secret de Paris deserves all the good reviews, this was the second time we've stayed there, it is our favourite hotel and we'll definitely come back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CristinaH414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Your kind words, your appreciation, your satisfaction are by far the best gift to the team. Dear Cristina, I can't tell you how much we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Two words: THANK YOU!!!

I hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards

Caroline CANNY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

Booked the hotel for a long weekend in Paris after reading several excellent reviews here on tripadvisor. Even with high expectations both me and my wife were pleasantly surprised.

The rooms are of very high standard and the hotel as a whole is gorgeous, setting a very romantic mood. Even more so, the staff was incredibly nice and just made the whole stay perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and booked based on trip advisor reviews. Here is what I think was good and bad but overall would I go again, probably not.

GOOD:
It is a beautifully designed hotel and if themes are your thing you'll love it. Beyond the themes all the fixtures and fittings are very high quality and the bed is very comfortable, and king size not double as suggested. We stayed in an Eiffel Tower room with a rain shower which was lovely. We were given the option to swap room each day but to be honest I couldn't be bothered to pack each day so if you want a particular theme book it direct. The rooms were. mall as described but not so small it hindered our stay, the bathrooms are just glass boxes taking up one corner of tactuarial o if your shy do not book here as although frosted you can see and hear everything. The staff were very friendly and happy to speak English and seemed happy to sort all my queries; extra pillows, champagne glasses and a forgotten safe code. Location we found to be great, easy to reach from gare du nord on line 2 of the metro and a quick 2 minute walk. There are 2 metro stations within a few minutes on 2 lines so we found access to the rest of the city very easy and a nice stroll from either moulin rouge or the opera so close to many of the north western sights.

THE BAD
What let this down for me based on the cost were a few small details. No tea/coffee in the room, you could get this from room service but for 4€ each. After a long day walking I wanted a quick brew, also in the mornings knowing breakfast would be a while as I waited for my wife to get ready I normally stick the kettle on. Breakfast itself was ridiculously overpriced for a standard European buffet at 18€ each per day, we had this once and after felt let down and frankly robbed. This is an expensive hotel but I feel this should be included in the price. The room used for breakfast seems a waste space at the moment and we rarely saw any other guests using the space which doubles as a bar but no atmosphere and lack of an actual bar made it feel redundant, this is no major issue as there are many bars in the area and a great brasserie across the road. Finally you should be aware this is a very adult hotel, not seedy but romantic and although the windows are double, double glazed and there is no traffic noise the rooms are not fully soundproof from the activities of your fellow guests nocturnal activities and a good reason I wouldn't take children, luckily the couple next to us didn't have much stamina.

Overall a beautiful and romantic hotel but with thousands more available in the city I'm sure I can find one that ticks all my boxes next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Steven G,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us in Paris and I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
I am very grateful for your kind words about our decor and our team members who are indeed very happy to speak English or any foreign language they know :).
Kindly note that we would have been delighted to place a kettle in your room, should you have requested it to one of our team member.
I am mostly concerned about your disappointment regarding our breakfast. I would really like to have more details and suggestions from you by email at hotel@hotelsecretdeparis.com.

I look forward hearing from you soon.

With kind regards,

Caroline CANNY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I was taken to Paris on a 4 day trip, and didn't know where I would be staying. I am so glad it was hotel secret de Paris! The staff could not have been more helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were gorgeous. We moved to a different theme each night, and when we went out each morning, our bags were moved to our next room by the time we returned. A beautiful hotel which I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was taken here for a surprise weekend in Paris, and the hotel was just perfect. The staff were helpful, friendly and provided fantastic service. Both evenings they booked us at local restaurants of their recommendation, and both evenings we enjoyed splendid food. The decor is unique, and maybe a little overdone in places, but the beds extremely comfortable and the bathrooms fantastic. Close enough to walk to most attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhianandToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Toby,

Thank you very much much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurants we recommended and I will certainly share with them your satisfaction. Your words about the team were amazing and are by far the best reward for each team member.

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lubor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2013

What an absolute joy this find was. The owners have gutted the building and created a boutique style accommodation of excellent quality. Rooms are themed on atttractions in the city of Paris. We had one of the Opera rooms - red velvet touches and drapes, ballet shoes hung from a barre above the bed - replica of the Granier Opera upper windows. A fabuloius en suite bathroom with spa bath and rainfall shower. If one niggle - a little more hanging space would be good. The double glazing ensured the room was nice and quiet. A pleasant breakfast is provided (we paid extra for this)- even scrambled eggs and bacon. Pastries, croissants, brioche,pain au chocolat cheese, ham, salmon...........................and fabulous black coffee.
What is astounding at this hotel is its staff, Friendly, knowlegeable and caring. We were well impressed. We'd mentioned in conversation at check that a birthday was being celebrated. We returned from a day in the city to be offered complimentary champagne . For us that's a sign of an excellent concierge.I won't pretend its cheap but you do get what you pay for and we will certainly be making a return visit. Located equi-distant between Liege and Place de Clichy Metros. You can walk downhill to the Opera and Grand |Magasins in ten minutes on a pleasant morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear GeoffSalt,

It was an absolute thrill for the team and myself to read that you had a nice time with us. I really appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely and detailed review about the hotel.
It was our pleasure to surprise you for the birthday celebration and be assured I have shared your satisfaction with each team member.

I hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Caroline CANNY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#3 of 1,809 in Paris
494 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
XO Hotel
XO Hotel
#6 of 1,809 in Paris
182 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Le 10 Bis Hotel
Le 10 Bis Hotel
#8 of 1,809 in Paris
389 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#10 of 1,809 in Paris
1,250 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,809 in Paris
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Secret de Paris

Address: 2 Rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Paris
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#25 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#91 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £141 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Design Secret de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musee d'Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Design Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing