We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Excellent hotel - WILL stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Design Secret de Paris
Ranked #28 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This small hotel is probably one of the best decisions that we made in Paris!

Located halfway between 2 different subway metro stations (2 different lines too!) so getting around was easy. It’s also located about a 15-20 minute walk to Opera area where the shuttle from CDG airport drops you off (10 euro per person, way cheaper than a taxi). Saint Lazarre train station is only 10 minute walk as well. Great since that’s a central metro hub, with many lines connecting, or if you do a day trip out of Paris (we went to Normandy), its very close.
We stayed 6 days, and we changed rooms 4 times, because they have different “themed” rooms with different amenities to try. There is NO CHARGE to change rooms so take advantage! Very very cool! The Orsay themed room was our favorite, with a pop up TV, at end of bed! All rooms have LED mood lighting, 42” lcd tvs, modern fixtures, great 2 person bubble jet tubs in rooms! Extremely clean

Hotel has a sauna and a steam-room as well in basement with a workout gym. They provide bathrobes and slippers in every room for this purpose. We didn’t use the exercise equipment, but tried the rest. Very very nice. Internet connection is good, never went down while we were there, and plenty fast enough for emails for facebook photo uploads.
Front desk is helpful. That’s an understatement. They booked dinner reservations, gave us a US plug adapter, band-aid for my wife…. Really amazing. Perfect English. Actually they speak 7 or 8 different languages!

Location: we walked a lot on our trip, and this was relatively close to Sacred Heart, Moulin Rouge, and the Opera. Area was nice, not too busy, and not too touristy. Many local shops and bakery/delis around to get some snacks.

Breakfast was excellent. Starts at 7am for you early risers, and goes until 10:30 for those that sleep late like we always did! They cook eggs and omelets to order, as well as having fresh bakery goods, yogurt, deli meats, salmon, fruits, etc. Great fresh squeezed juices as well. Not an “American Denny’s” breakfast buffet, but we loved it.

Book this place. With only 25 or 30 rooms, you really get private attention if you need it, but its not like an old mom and pop place. This is a top-notch, first class place. First floor reception area is large and open. Recently built, modern, and super clean. I cannot recommend this place any more highly. 5 stars!

Room Tip: Switch rooms daily! Cool experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Ray, I am very flattered that you consider our small Secret^^as one of your best decision while being in Paris! Also happy to see that you had the courage of packing your bags quite often to change room and enjoy the different decors. Front desk is and always will be delighted to help out the best way they know how, be assured I passed on your kind words to them. I hope to welcome you again, you'll have to tell me more about this "American Denny's" next time:). Kind regards, Caroline Canny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Fantastic hotel! We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014 and loved it. It's in a great location, a few minutes walk from leige metro station, from where you can reach the main Paris attractions really easily, and a few minutes walk from the Moulin rouge. Our room, the trocadero, was gorgeous. There were lots of special features including different light settings and a wonderful Jacuzzi bath, perfect for easing those aching muscles after lots of walking! There's a free safe, robes, slippers, hairdryer and toiletries included. The rooms are sound proofed so we both sleptvery well with no noise. The breakfast at the hotel is well worth the 15 euros, it was delicious, with a full continental range, plus eggs however you want them, a choice of fresh juices and tasty pastries. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother. They helped us navigate our way around Paris and even booked restaurants for us. We were blown away with the exceptional service we received. I really highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear MKeddie, after such a magnificent comment, there isn't much left for me to say except that I am very grateful for your kind words about the hotel & service you received. It looks like you may not have had the time to enjoy our Secret Garden with its Steam room & Sauna open 24hrs. I hope you will be able to come back to try it :). With kind regards, Caroline Canny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Highs
Beautiful Decor
Very quit rooms from street except the Atelier d'artiste room.
Wonderful reception staff. They were incredibly nice, helpful and spoke English very well.
Had high end features.The programmable lighting in the rooms were awesome!
Lows
Really tiny rooms for price and location..exception was the Atelier d'artiste room,
The cleanliness was not great...I am a clean freak though. We had the Discovery package and changed rooms three times during a week stay. First room (Moulin Rouge) was clean but had slight mold in shower. Second room (atelier d'artiste) had a lot of mold in the bathroom tiles. Third room (Opera Garnier) which was the worst, had a lot of mold in bathroom as well as stained sheets with hairs in the covers as well as the towels. Also, when I took a shower I discovered there were not any bathroom towels.
Overall very nice hotel minus the small issues.
Room tip
Atelier d'artiste has pitched ceilings and not great for tall people...

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank purpleladyslippers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear purpleladyslippers8 (hope I got that right!), I am very grateful that you took the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Also, I was delighted to read that you found the team so nice and helpful! I passed on your compliments to them. Following your remarks about the cleanliness, I personally went to inspect the rooms you stayed in and I must say that I was unable to find any trace of mold in the Atelier and the Moulin Rouge. I must apologize about the Opera as I found some, be assured that it was instantly cleaned and the housekeeping team was informed. Should you have informed us during your stay, we would have been delighted to wash it off immediatly. I hope to welcome you again. Kind regards, Caroline Canny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, which is located very close to the charming Montmarte area of Paris and a hop, jump, skip away from the Moulin Rouge venue. It's at least a 40 minute-1 hour walk to the Louvre and other major sites and in a quieter part of town, but the walk is one of the best we've ever taken. There are so many sights to take in along the way. Also, two train stations (one is Liege) are located very close to the hotel, so if you don't wish to walk, the public transport is so comprehensive and connects the whole city so well.
Each room is designed/themed like a famous sight in Paris. We stayed in the Musee de Orsey room while across the way was the Moulin Rouge one. The hotel has a luxurious, boutique hotel feel and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are on the smaller side---just like all rooms in the city I am sure, but comfortable for two nonetheless. My favorite features within the room were mood lighting fixtures, the luxurious bathtubs and the uber comfortable bedding. I also enjoyed the Hammam; a wet sauna on the -1 floor, the welcome and goodbye drinks! We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose a room you connect with - we had the Musee d' Orsay and it was so appropriately themed- w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeHungryPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear KinSid, what a pleasure to read your review & that you will be coming back in a heartbeat! Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for sharing your feelings towards our location.
Musée d'Orsay and Moulin Rouge are indeed facing each other on each floor, we made them neighboors even though they aren't in the real Paris! The team and I would love to welcome you again. Kind regards, Caroline Canny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Paris and would definitely recommend this hotel.

The rooms are very nice and of a good standard. They are not the biggest rooms you will come across but in fairness you probably wont be in it that much with so much to do in Paris.

The reception staff are great and always willing to help.

The breakfast is good and reasonably priced for Paris.

Room Tip: The Eiffel Tower room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Lloyd B,

I am very grateful for your warm recommandation to the Tripadvisor traveller's community. The reception team is indeed always happy to help and I am glad you felt that way about them!
A little extra tip for the breakfast, it can be pre-booked on our official website (only) at a discounted price.

We hope you will jump in the Eurostar again and visit us soon!

Kind regards

Caroline Canny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in Secret de Paris for 3 days in Jan 2014, the stay was one of the best holidays I have had. The room was beautiful, the bathroom was lovely and the staff were the most helpful I have experienced, nothing was to much trouble with Willman and Marie going above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay perfect. We will definitely be returning to Paris and certainly booking to stay in this wonderful hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWknutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear MWknutsford,

The title of your comment was already amazing and it got even better after reading the content! Thank you soooo much for all your lovely comments about our hotel & the service you received. Be assured that Willman and Marie received a specialmention and they were very touched to be highlighted in your review.

We look forward to your next stay!

Caroline Canny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here in December of 2013. I was in the Moulin Rougue room. The room quality was nice but a little smaller than I expected. The whole atmosphere was quite romantic. It is a great setup for couples looking to get away in Paris and is not a bankbreaker. The bathroom setup is excellent and the shower can fit more than one person. The lights and mood of the room were all geared toward romance. The staff was helpful in giving directions and helping with transportation etc. The location was also quite good. Close to the metro and I was able to walk to the Moulin Rouge. One weird thing, none of the cabbies I used had any idea where Rue De Clichy was or this hotel. I had to guide them. The room service took a bit of time. Apparently they get the food from somewhere else and bring it in house. Its a good hotel for the price and if you are a couple looking for a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimSingh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
26609991, Directeur général at Hotel Design Secret de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear JimgSingh11,

Greetings from Secret de Paris! And thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as the warm & romantic atmosphere of your Moulin Rouge room.
As for the cabs, well I am not so surprised that they wouldn't know us. After all we are small^^and there are over 2000 hotels in Paris! As for directions however, they are all equipped with GPS so they have no excuses for getting lost...
Finally regarding room service, it isn't cooked in our hotel as we do not have a restaurant, nor a professionnal kitchen. We work with a lovely company which cooks 100% fresh products and they cook upon receiving the order. It takes between 30 and 45min to receive your order.

I hope to see you again in our hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Caroline Canny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Batignolles-Monceau
XO Hotel
XO Hotel
#6 of 1,805 in Paris
172 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#2 of 1,805 in Paris
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#11 of 1,805 in Paris
1,237 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Le 10 Bis Hotel
Le 10 Bis Hotel
#7 of 1,805 in Paris
364 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,805 in Paris
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Secret de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Secret de Paris

Address: 2 Rue de Parme, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Paris
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#24 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#91 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £136 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Design Secret de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret de Paris invites you to enjoy the unusual experience of travelling while staying still. You are welcomed into a dream-like Paris where monuments fade away only to come sharply back into focus, colours blend as your perception becomes disoriented by the blur of images.In the intimacy of your room, you suddenly become the privileged guest of the Musee d'Orsay, the Moulin-Rouge, the Eiffel Tower or the Garnier Opera House, each delicately evoked by an innovative and amazing approach to design and staging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Design Secret de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret De Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing