We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but iffy neighborhood”
Review of Home MODERNE

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Home MODERNE
Ranked #268 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but iffy neighborhood”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice little hotel, clean and quiet, with a friendly staff that was willing to help when needed. It was a little away from downtown, but that's the reason it's so affordable. The neighborhood, though, was a little iffy, and at night it seemed unsettling, even though I never had any kind of problem as Paris is very safe compared to other big cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this comment, we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay.

We are not in the "center" of Paris but with all transportation, it is easy to visit the city.

The area is very safe and as you wrote Paris is safer than most of the capitals in the world.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    487
    73
    12
    7
See reviews for
191
491
73
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It's our first trip as a couple to Paris. The hotel was fairly cheap with good reviews, so we booked it for 3 nights. It was the midst of summer. Paris was hot.
Positive points:
1. Unexpectedly, you won't find stereotypes of snobbish Parisians in this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful.
2. Rooms though small, were clean, so was the bathroom.
3. Good value for money.

Downside:
1. Breakfast was mediocre. And pricey. Might as well as buy a quiche or croissant from the bakeries nearby. We did.
2. The air conditioning was down for the length of our stay. Because of the heat, we had to open the windows. Mosquitos came in and were we bitten. And the noise from the street made it even harder to sleep. Very unpleasant.
3. Not so close to the metro. Wear comfy shoes.
4. The only english speaking channels on TV were news channels.

Maybe we were unlucky, the air conditioning was a big disappointment.

Room Tip: As long as the aircon is back on, all's good. If not, stay away from rooms facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeenieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this detailed and constructive review. We can improve our services thank to reviews as yours.

Let's start with cumpliments.

Parisien are not as snobbish as we could think... Glad you enjoyed our front desk staff.

It is a must to have clean rooms and bathrooms.

We try to offer a good value for money.

Regarding breakfast, we are sorry you didn't like it. However, we think that it is not pricey, 10 € for a buffet with ham, chesse, eggs, pastries, bread, fruits juice...

Our air conditionning had some trouble during the month of August, we are very sorry about it it has been fixed few days after your stay. To be honest, it was a lack of chance and we apologize.

Metro stations are not close but not far neither, 10 minutes walking distance.

We take note of your remark about the TV Channels.

Thank you again for your comment.

Best regards

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

So this was our trip to Paris and we decided to stay here due to the price and good reviews. We were quiet surprised. From Charles airport, we took the train to Cite Universite then from there, we took those trams to Brancion and we walked to the hotel. easy easy....So don't pay for too much price for taxi, just take the trains. Also, another good tip is to buy the Paris 3, 5 day trip...You can use bus 92 which is from the hotel to go anywhere in Paris...
Now back to the hotel, it is small but we loved the location, Montparnarse. It is not close to central paris but bus 92 takes you anywhere, stops at eiffel, elysee champs...So we had no problem. Also the bus ran pretty late so we could stay in Paris all night and still get to the hotel on time.
The staff was very helpful especially with location questions and inquiries on how to get to central paris. Our hotel was cleaned every day, towels changed and internet connection was very good.
On my next trip to Paris, i would easily stay here...very nice and quiet a steal

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neema46664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this detailed and constructive review our establishment Hotel Home Moderne.

You are totally right it is easy to take the train then the tramway to get to the hotel.

From the hotel, there are two metro stations, one tramway stations and several bus stations, the hotel is well deserved.

Glad you were satisfied with the staff, the cleaness of the rooms and with the location.


See you in the hotel Home Moderne.

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It is a decent budget accommodationWe were very happy with the services and the hotel itself was very well maintained. Our room was a bit small but it was fine with us. The room was extremely clean and very well furnished. The bathroom was spotless and smelled fresh. The service was very good at the hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is located a little away from the main city but the commute is very easy. The bust station and the metro were no too far either. The place had many eateries and bakeries around too. Priced reasonably, I would love to stay here again, when I am back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive review.

We will welcome again with a lot of pleasure, follow us on Facebook to know our actualities.

See you soon

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

On my first trip to Paris, we stayed at the Home Moderne. The weekday staff (Guillaume & Jennifer) were wonderful. They were helpful at all times, very welcoming, and were appropriately amused at my attempts to speak French! The hotel is in the 15th arrond, a bit distant from the major tourist sites. But there is a bus (95) that runs on rue Brancion, a tram a few blocks away, and two nearby Metro stations. It is a short ride to all the famous landmarks. There are patisseries, cafes, bistros all within a block or two. Same for a bank and ATM. The area is safe. The hotel itself is small by American standards. The elevator & hallways are small, as are the rooms. But who cares? You're in Paris! Go out and see the sites! The rooms are clean, daily service is good. I would love to return to the Home Moderne in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wotan10950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your positive comment.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to welcome you.

It is true that the 15th district is not exactly in the center of Paris, but as the city is not huge you can reach all touristic areas in less than half an hour by subway or buses.

Most of the hotels in Paris offer small rooms but as you wrote, the purpose is to visit the city.

Thank you again for your positive comment

Kind regards

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Wonderful location with a friendly knowledgeable staff. The hotel rooms were comfortable and large enough (by European standards) for the stay we needed. This was our first stop on a 2 week stay in and around Paris and I would definitely come back. The wine shop on the corner was so helpful in our evening selection we drank in the fireplace nook back at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for you positive review, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Glad you enjoyed the wine shop near by the hotel!

We expect to see you soon.

Best regards

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#235 of 1,801 in Paris
929 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#154 of 1,801 in Paris
1,032 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#158 of 1,801 in Paris
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#260 of 1,801 in Paris
1,575 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Mare
Hotel de la Mare
#353 of 1,801 in Paris
272 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#95 of 1,801 in Paris
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home MODERNE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home MODERNE

Property: Home MODERNE
Address: 61, rue Brancion, 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#143 Family Hotel in Paris
#156 Business Hotel in Paris
#273 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Home MODERNE 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Home Moderne Hotel has been refurbished one year ago, it is located in the 15th district, close by the Porte de Versailles (congress center)For leisure or for business, the Home Moderne Hotel is the place you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Home MODERNE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Moderne Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing