We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Home MODERNE

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home MODERNE
Ranked #278 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

a couple of things travellers should be warned about...or perhaps we were asking a bit too much for a two-star hotel.
- no ironing board in the room as stated (if you dont have it, dont say you do)
- no UK plug converter (instead they had a million other weird ones...but fail to have an UK one!?)

overall the staff is quite friendly and pleasant, so i give it two stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beloved225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your stay at Home Moderne Hotel and we regret that you feel disappointed about few things.

We do have ironing board and iron which are available at Reception Desk for free.

Also, Uk and others plug converters are available are the Reception Desk on request.

However, we only have a few and sometimes it is not enought because some guest just keep it and they bring them at home ... we were supposed to suggest you a adress very near to the hotel where you could buy one.

We apologize for these few disappointing things and we hope we could see you again at the Home Moderne Hotel.

Kindest regards.

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    488
    73
    12
    8
See reviews for
192
491
73
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were arriving from a Southern Hemisphere winter, so I made sure to book somewhere that had air con, but unfortunately it was out of action while we were there. I do understand that sometimes these things happen, but I feel like the check-in staff could have been more upfront about the issue. We were given the impression the next morning that it would be fixed, but when we got back after a big day sightseeing, it still wasn't working. The kind man on reception that evening did arrange us another room that had air con working, but it was a downgrade (our choice to accept the change).
That aside, our original "Comfort" room was really nice - a decent size, clean and modern. It was really just bad timing for us. Overall I would recommend this hotel, it seems great value in Paris.

Room Tip: Choose a "Comfort" room if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_Katenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize for the trouble we had last summer with the air conditionning. As it was during the most of august, most of the people are on vacation, and it took a look time to get the missing piece in order to repair the A/C. We felt very bad about it and believe us we try our best to find other alternatives. We bough fans and we called everyday the technician to know if we could have a better delay.

We regret this unconvenience and we hope to welcome you again.

Best regards

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I chose the Home Moderne near Montparnasse because it was near the company I was visiting. The hotel is in a relatively quiet side street near a small and pretty park. On arrival I was first allocated a room with a strong cigarette smell but was moved to another nice room without any problem. I was shifted again the next day into one of the '09' rooms which was very spacious and with a good view from the window. The breakfasts were good and the service efficient. Although I usually prefer to stay near Montmartre, if you plan on staying in the Montparnasse area, the Home Moderne is certainly worth a stay.

Room Tip: The room sizes tend to increase with the room number suffix, so the '09' rooms are much larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoffinChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologize for the tabacco smell, we are a non smoking hotel but some clients still smoke...

Hopefully we could change you the room.

We will be happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Jennifer, Mélisa and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brela, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just got back from 3 night stay at this hotel and it was a wonderful experience since I did not know what to expect. While still at home I was emailing hotel and called a couple of times but each time gotten a lady receptionist who claimed it was her first day at work and that she doesn't know anything and she cannot answer my e-mail nor my questions on the phone, only the manager can answer emails but she is on sick leave or has a free weekend...so, I was a bit confused with this attitude but decided to stay at their hotel and it was a good choice. Also, bare in mind that as soon as you make a reservation they will reserve amount of 1st night stay on your credit card without informing you and you will not be able to use this money for the next 7 days or until you cancel reservation if booking through web portals. One tip: check their website for best price offer.
Pluses: 1. Location is just perfect to avoid crouds and noise since it is not a tourist center but still very well conected with all major turist attractions. From the hotel you have a bus no.62 2 stops (or by foot 10 minutes walk) which takes you to Metro 12 and from there you can change metros to get to all parts of Paris and with metro 12 you can get directly to tower Montparnass or Montmarte which is a must see in Paris. You also have bus no.80 just across metro station and this bus will take you to Eiffel Tower, so as I stated perfect place to have a good night sleep and avoid crowds and still very close to all attractions (by close I mean metro and bus connection). Also, this neighborhood is very safe to walk by day or night.
2. Hotel itself has everything you can possible need; room was actually a nice surprice since lots of people write that the room is small, our room 308 was a pretty good size, lots of space, nice size closet, good bathroom with plenty of space and a nice and clean shower, also free toiletries. Room also had a safe depozit box, small fridge, coffee and tea maker with complimentary coffee, milk and cookies and also wi-fi signal was excelent all 3 days. For me, it is more a 3 star hotel then 2 star.
3. Staff was very nice and helpful so no complains there, I never found out who was answering the phone while I was calling from home but actually didn't care since everything was just great.
Did not have breakfast since I read that it is mediocre and for 10€ you can do better in one of many patisseries (bakery shops).
Direction from Beauvais Airport; take the bus from airport directly to Porte Millot (16€ per person, one tip- to avoid waiting in line to buy this ticket you can purchase it on line and print this page and take it with you so as soon you exit the airport you can board the bus), from Porte Maillot take metro no.1 and on station Concorde swith to metro no.12 and exit in station Convention, from Convention you have bus 62 2 stops or go on foot about 10 minutes and take the right road when you see BNP bank and the street is Rue Brancion 61.
All in all, hotel is an excellent choice and would definatelly stay here again!
My advise is also to buy Paris pass, you'll have free metro and bus 2/4/6 days and you'll avoid waiting in lines to see the atractions in Paris (for more info google Paris pass).

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room if you like to sleep with open windows; we had room 308 which is good for sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your efficent review.

First of all, we would like to apologize for the first contact you had with our receptionnist. We were looking for a new one and in the meantime we employed an extra. She wasn't as good we were expected... Hopefully, we found a new receptionnsit, Mélisa, which is very nice and competent.

For each booking we ask a pre authorization, and the amount of the 01st night is blocked during few days. We had many late cancellations with fake credit card that's why we proceed like that.

Hopefully, you were happy with your stay and we are very happy about it!

We are sure that your comment will help future customers to make the good choice and to book at the hotel Home Moderne

We all hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice little hotel, clean and quiet, with a friendly staff that was willing to help when needed. It was a little away from downtown, but that's the reason it's so affordable. The neighborhood, though, was a little iffy, and at night it seemed unsettling, even though I never had any kind of problem as Paris is very safe compared to other big cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this comment, we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay.

We are not in the "center" of Paris but with all transportation, it is easy to visit the city.

The area is very safe and as you wrote Paris is safer than most of the capitals in the world.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It's our first trip as a couple to Paris. The hotel was fairly cheap with good reviews, so we booked it for 3 nights. It was the midst of summer. Paris was hot.
Positive points:
1. Unexpectedly, you won't find stereotypes of snobbish Parisians in this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful.
2. Rooms though small, were clean, so was the bathroom.
3. Good value for money.

Downside:
1. Breakfast was mediocre. And pricey. Might as well as buy a quiche or croissant from the bakeries nearby. We did.
2. The air conditioning was down for the length of our stay. Because of the heat, we had to open the windows. Mosquitos came in and were we bitten. And the noise from the street made it even harder to sleep. Very unpleasant.
3. Not so close to the metro. Wear comfy shoes.
4. The only english speaking channels on TV were news channels.

Maybe we were unlucky, the air conditioning was a big disappointment.

Room Tip: As long as the aircon is back on, all's good. If not, stay away from rooms facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeenieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this detailed and constructive review. We can improve our services thank to reviews as yours.

Let's start with cumpliments.

Parisien are not as snobbish as we could think... Glad you enjoyed our front desk staff.

It is a must to have clean rooms and bathrooms.

We try to offer a good value for money.

Regarding breakfast, we are sorry you didn't like it. However, we think that it is not pricey, 10 € for a buffet with ham, chesse, eggs, pastries, bread, fruits juice...

Our air conditionning had some trouble during the month of August, we are very sorry about it it has been fixed few days after your stay. To be honest, it was a lack of chance and we apologize.

Metro stations are not close but not far neither, 10 minutes walking distance.

We take note of your remark about the TV Channels.

Thank you again for your comment.

Best regards

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

So this was our trip to Paris and we decided to stay here due to the price and good reviews. We were quiet surprised. From Charles airport, we took the train to Cite Universite then from there, we took those trams to Brancion and we walked to the hotel. easy easy....So don't pay for too much price for taxi, just take the trains. Also, another good tip is to buy the Paris 3, 5 day trip...You can use bus 92 which is from the hotel to go anywhere in Paris...
Now back to the hotel, it is small but we loved the location, Montparnarse. It is not close to central paris but bus 92 takes you anywhere, stops at eiffel, elysee champs...So we had no problem. Also the bus ran pretty late so we could stay in Paris all night and still get to the hotel on time.
The staff was very helpful especially with location questions and inquiries on how to get to central paris. Our hotel was cleaned every day, towels changed and internet connection was very good.
On my next trip to Paris, i would easily stay here...very nice and quiet a steal

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neema46664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable réception at Home MODERNE, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this detailed and constructive review our establishment Hotel Home Moderne.

You are totally right it is easy to take the train then the tramway to get to the hotel.

From the hotel, there are two metro stations, one tramway stations and several bus stations, the hotel is well deserved.

Glad you were satisfied with the staff, the cleaness of the rooms and with the location.


See you in the hotel Home Moderne.

Mélisa, Jennifer and Guillaume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#217 of 1,800 in Paris
935 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#173 of 1,800 in Paris
1,038 reviews
Hotel du Prince Eugene
#172 of 1,800 in Paris
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#259 of 1,800 in Paris
1,602 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#94 of 1,800 in Paris
626 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Mare
Hotel de la Mare
#414 of 1,800 in Paris
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home MODERNE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home MODERNE

Property: Home MODERNE
Address: 61, rue Brancion, 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#143 Family Hotel in Paris
#156 Business Hotel in Paris
#273 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Home MODERNE 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Home Moderne Hotel has been refurbished one year ago, it is located in the 15th district, close by the Porte de Versailles (congress center)For leisure or for business, the Home Moderne Hotel is the place you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Home MODERNE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Moderne Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing