We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, stylish, good breakfast”
Review of Maxim Folies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maxim Folies
Ranked #1,237 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed in Gat Folies for one night. The location is good, close to transport connections (metro, airport train, "velib" city bikes) and restaurants, and walking distance from many attractions (Montmartre, Louvre, Centre Pompidou etc.).

Our room was tiny but stylish, modern and well designed. The lobby and breakfast area were nice and funky, and we enjoyed spending one rainy morning having the excellent breakfast - well worth taking even if it isn't included in the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PR_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review and your kind word about our hotel.
We are really glad to hear that you appreciated your stay, our location, and services.
We hope to see you again in our hotel !
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Nice hotel near to the Louvre, Sacre Coeur and some of the main shopping streets in Paris. We came from London on the Eurostar and the hotel is within walking distance of the train station.

Very friendly reception. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConorDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
Our hotel is located in the center of Paris and pretty close to gare du Nord station. So it's really easy to reach our hotel if you come from there by Eurostar.
We hope to see you again in Gat Folies !
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This February- 2013- i went in Paris just for 4 days. I didn't search a lot for the hotel and i also wanted a cheap hotel, about less than 100 euros. I found this hotel and i booked it without second thoughts. This hotel is in the heart of Paris and the night the place around the hotel is really popular. The bars and the restaurants are full. But the hotel isn't the best choice.. The room is small. There is a window with view to the opposite wall. There is not a closet and no place to put your suitcases. But the worst is that the bathroom is so so small!!!!!!! The washbasin is in the room and only the bath and the lavatory are behind a door. If anyone is chaustrophobic this toilette isn't for you. I have no problem with small places but after my experience in the bath I am afraid this place, the smallest I have ever seen in my life! Except for the area, the hotel's stuff is very polite. I don't know anything about the breakfast because it was needed an extra fee and the bakery is an excellent option! You will find them everywhere. The truth is that in my next visit in Paris I will find another hotel! Do the same!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maraki27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review and your good word about our staff.
For information, it's always possible to ask for a room on street view or an upgrade for a bigger room (subject to availabilities). We will do our best for your satisfaction.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel in April 2013 and booked via www.trivago.co.uk, which meant we saved quite a lot of money on the usual/advertised price (it's worth shopping around).

The hotel is easy to find. We walked with our backpacks from Gare du Nord (Eurostar) and it took about 20/25 minutes. If you'd prefer to use the metro there are a few stations nearby. There is a theatre about two minutes away (we could see it from our room) and quite a lot of restaurants/bars within walking distance (we recommend Black Beans [Mexican).

The receptionist was very friendly and was able to speak in English when my basic French wasn't quite up to scratch. The check in process was quite straight forward.

We had a double room on the fourth floor. The lift is absolutely tiny and the stairs are quite narrow, so I wouldn't really recommend the hotel for the disabled or elderly. However, it worked for us and we just about managed to fit in the lift with our luggage. The decor of the whole hotel is lime, which gives it a really cool vibe.

The rooms are small, but perfectly formed. Think Ikea style use of space, with funky shelving and unique uses of the room. We only stayed one night so didn't really need to unpack, but there was just enough room for each of us to have our backpacks on the floor. The bathroom was small, but we expected that. The shower was very good and there was always hot water. Shampoo, shower gel and moisturiser were provided and smelt so great that I took them with me. Towels were also provided. I'm not sure the bathroom situation would be ideal for friends/couples that didn't know each other very well as the door is quite thin!

The absolute star of this stay was the breakfast - it was amazingly good! From the outset it didn't look like there was much, but there was. You can eat as much or as little as you like - we tried everything! The crepes with nutella were a highlight and other options included buttery croissants, boiled eggs & soldiers, ciabattas, cheese, ham, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, tea/coffee (including cappuccino). We were very glad that breakfast was included in our stay.

This hotel was exactly what we wanted - contemporary, young, central, clean and affordable. The only negative things were that it was quiet noisey at night. Our room was street facing so I'm not sure if this applies to all of the rooms. The bed was also very uncomfortable, but for a one night stay it wouldn't put me off booking again.

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms (too noisey at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your kind word about our hotel.
For information, as a 3 stars, our hotel (lift and room) are fully adapted for disabled people.
We also thank you for your review about our breakfast. It's even possible to come if you don't have a room. The price is 12,50€ per person for our buffet.
We hope to see you again in Gat Folies !
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at Gat Folies on our first trip to Paris, in October 2012, and I can say only good things about this hotel. We knew from the begining what to expect regarding the size of the room so it was not a surprise. In fact the room was quite comfortable and very interesting and ingenious decorated. Also very clean and perfect for a good sleep after the long walks on the streets and museums of Paris.
The location was very good, close to metro and bus stations, to restaurants and also quite easy to walk from there to the different points of interest.
The breakfast was also perfect (at least for our taste).
The reception staff was nice and helpfull.

We will stay at Gat Folies for sure at our next visit to Paris, if available. We even consider to stay in the other Gat hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GALucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Customer,
We really thank you for your review.
Our hotel Gat Rossio (Lisbon) and Gat Point Charlie (Berlin) will welcome you with the same service quality.
We hope to see you soon in GatFolies !
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were on a business trip in Paris and were looking for a different hotel, a hotel with style, a bit of design, a place with a certain flair ..... The Gat Folies hotel provided everything we were looking for.
Even though the staff members were friendly and efficient, the room was nice and bright, breakfast fresh and complete, we were a bit dissapointed by the absence of a good working wifi in the room, the minimalistic storage space for clothing, the absence of a minibar or fridge to store some soft drinks.
Very nice neighborhood with a wide choice of good restaurants : Il Spaghetino, Caffe della Pizza, Au Jardin, Les Fils a Maman and some other near the Grands Boulevards.
We will certainly be back, because this hotel is great value for money

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed in the Gat Folies for one night in February, arrived at 10.30am and asked if we would be able to check in early (usual check-in is 2pm!) and luckily our room was available. The room was on the small side but was perfect size for a 1 or 2 night stay if you don't have much luggage and was very stylish.

Reception staff were helpful and had an iphone charger we could borrow. We didn't have breakfast there so can't comment on that.

Hotel is well located for the Gare du Nord (we walked in 10-15mins) and also a short walk dpwn to the centre of Paris.

Only slight problem we had was that the heat from the shower tended to set off an internal alarm to reception to say that we were smoking in the room (we weren't) but once the door to the bathroom was fully closed it wasn't an issue.

Will definitely stay there again next time in Paris.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor had a velux window in which would be nice to let fresh air and sun in the sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#419 of 1,802 in Paris
395 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Maxim Opera
Hotel Maxim Opera
#1,013 of 1,802 in Paris
246 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Leman Opera
Hotel Leman Opera
#934 of 1,802 in Paris
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Bergere
Hotel Royal Bergere
#1,567 of 1,802 in Paris
160 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#248 of 1,802 in Paris
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxim Folies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxim Folies

Address: 14 rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gat Folies)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,237 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £79 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maxim Folies 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers will be pleased to discover the cozy and friendly atmosphere of Maxim Folies! This boutique hotel 3 stars with a modern decoration offers a comfortable accommodation and also a delicious breakfast buffet composed of fresh products, and homemade preparations served in a bright room open on the street. Situated in the center of Paris, between the Opera Garnier and the Gare du Nord train station, Maxim Folies is served by 4 metro lines, and all around theaters and restaurants crowd in this district so lively day and night! And for shopaholics, the Galeries Lafayette and Printemps are really close by walking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maxim Folies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing