We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3-star hotel price but hostel service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxim Folies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maxim Folies
Ranked #932 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
1 review
“3-star hotel price but hostel service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

1. Wi-Fi couldn't be used at nights, or in day time is very unlikely to login, this affect our preparation of our trip
2. Air conditioner was out of work at last night of stay (8 MAY 2014), the staff did not provide any resolution but just ask us to accept instead
3. Carpet did not clean regularly
4. Shampoo and body wash did not refill sometimes

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear SamL,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay and will fulfill all your expectations for your next stay with us.
Regarding the carpet and the amenities, we respect your request not to be disturbed (doorknob left on your room door). Therefore, if you needed anything, you could ask at the Front Desk, they will match your expectations.
The hotel wireless network was and is fully operational. Our Front Desk staff is here to help you in all computer or wireless connections assistance.
Our air conditioning system was out of order for 2 days for technical maintenance, and we really apologize for the inconvenience. It is and will be fully at the hotel guests’ disposal.
We really hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.
Best regards,
Sales & Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    202
    69
    27
    8
See reviews for
37
184
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here last summer for a week.'it is perfectly located; walking distance to Montmarte, tube stations etc, we even walked all the way to the louvre etc (as you do when you're travelling). There are restaurants and bakeries in the same street, as well as a supermarket - which is perfect whe travelling. The room is small, with a compact shower etc, but comfortable enough. We stayed here in the height of summer and there was no air on, which sometimes made it quite uncomfortable at night. The street below became quite loud at night and, while it was not a problem with the windows closed, became an issue when you needed some air due to no air con! However, that was our only complaint. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the room was always spotless. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear CJM101,
Many thanks for your good review.
You have to know that we improved a lot our hotel.
Indeed, we’ve installed the air conditioning in every rooms a few months ago, so for the next summer our hotel will be really comfortable.
We hope you will visit us again for another fantastic trip in Paris.
Kind regards,
Sales & Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

It's one of the best hotels in Paris I've stayed, the location is near the La Fayette or the Opera house, the metro station is around 5 walking minutes away. Rooms are small, but clean and modern and very thoughtfully furnished. Breakfast was delicious, lots od jams, honey, toasts, ham, cheese, brie cheese, fruits, different juices ... Great star of the day! If you visit the city as a tourist, this is the best place to stay! On the same street there's also a few markets if you need anything else! Certainly I'll return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BajaLj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your excellent review.
We are well located in the center of Paris.
Our housekeeping team is really professional and take a really good care of rooms for our customers's satisfaction.
Come back anytime you want. We will be very pleased to welcome you again !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and probably wouldn't again. Only for the fact that we had a small child and the room was tiiiinnnyyy. We had read reviews on here about how small the rooms were. But having stayed in studio apartments before we thought they were over exaggerating. No. We probably should have done a little more research and gotten a bigger room. The hotel itself is nice and clean and close to metro stations, supermarkets etc and the girls on reception were very welcoming and helpful, booking transfers etc. Not for families though.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jayteeanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
Actually, our double standart rooms with queen size bed are for 2 persons. So for 2 adults with a child we recommand to book a suite junior (with a double bed in room and a sofa bed in living room). It's more suitable for families. Also for couples with a baby we can added a baby cot in a double standart room.
Hope to see you again in Gat Folies !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here twice now. As I am a wheelchair user accessibility is paramount and this hotel delivers. Lift big enough for chair (though not luggage at same time). You get free upgrade to a larger room with walk in shower and separate sitting area. Staff are attentive but not to fussy Hotel is vey clean. It is situated 5 minutes walk to grand boulevards with metro and bus links to the centre. Beware of pricing in the bars on the grand boulevards as they can be extremely expensive.

Some noise in the morning if you are street facing from refuse collection

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEllis1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your good review.
Our staff take a really good care of customers in wheelchair and our rooms are adapted for this situation.
We hope to see you again in GatFolies !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

a very quiet hotel near the Folie Bergeres theatre. Clean and modern with a good breakfast choice at 12.50 Euros .Very handy for travel by bus or metro with good connections. A good choice of cheap restaurants nearby to suit every taste. Could do with some better hanging space for clothes as wooden fixed hangers not convenient. Not enough English speaking TV.

Room Tip: Pick the rear although front seems to have little traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapmad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your good review.
As you said our breakfats buffet cost 12.50€ but we also have an express breakfast (with croissant, orange juice and hot drink) for 6€.
Regarding the TV, we have at least one channel in almost every language, in English we have some channels like CNN...
We hope to see you next time in Gat Folies.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite simple and Cool, but doesn't compare to other hotels from GAT Rooms. The employees are very kind and allways available to any question or need. The problem was on the room that didn't had A/C making very warm and almost unbreathable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatrooms, Responsable commercial at Maxim Folies, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
The problem with the A/C will be fixed really soon. In september, every room will be fully equiped with air conditioning so you will be able to enjoy more your stay.
See you soon in Gat Folies hotel !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Maxim Opera
Hotel Maxim Opera
#973 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Axel Opera by HappyCulture
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#406 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bresil Opera
Hotel Bresil Opera
#841 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Magenta 38 by HappyCulture
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#350 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxim Folies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxim Folies

Property: Maxim Folies
Address: 14 rue Geoffroy Marie, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gat Folies)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #932 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maxim Folies 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers will be pleased to discover the cozy and friendly atmosphere of Maxim Folies! This boutique hotel 3 stars with a modern decoration offers a comfortable accommodation and also a delicious breakfast buffet composed of fresh products, and homemade preparations served in a bright room open on the street. Situated in the center of Paris, between the Opera Garnier and the Gare du Nord train station, Maxim Folies is served by 4 metro lines, and all around theaters and restaurants crowd in this district so lively day and night! And for shopaholics, the Galeries Lafayette and Printemps are really close by walking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Maxim Folies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing